We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy n clean!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwreck Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shipwreck Motel to your Saves list
Shipwreck Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   237 Old San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Westbrook, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfy n clean!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This being a last minute trip for us, not sure what we would get...we're pleased with the results. We weren't looking for anything fancy so Shipwreck met our needs. It is a bit old (probably a happening place in the past based on its location), but was clean, beds were comfy, on site parking (although we now know a car is not needed due to the trolley being right there), poolside and dockside. Had the best shrimp, soaked in garlic hot sauce, at doc fords (back across the bridge, right on the water)....awesome cupcakes next door to hotel. Got to sit by pool n listen to great tunes all day,due to bar across the street. Beach just a block away, beautiful sands! Dolphins seen every day.....lots of fishing on the pier. Great time n will definitely be back for more!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
Thanks for your nice review. It sounds like you had a grand time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    46
    18
    13
    19
See reviews for
28
52
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walker, Minnesota
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

You check in for the motel at the store on Old San Carlos Blvd. The rooms are located down a cobblestone alley behind the store, opening up to the harbor/canal behind the store. The rooms are in a very cute, quiet area along or near the harbor. Colorfully painted, and furnished "beach-style", it's a very pleasant experience unless you want plenty of space. These rooms are small but it wasn't a big deal for us. Our unit (#32) was located directly on the harbor. The front door accesses from the cobblestone alley and the rear patio door opens to a small deck located on the dock of the harbor. The deck had a lounge chair and a couple patio chairs and was a nice, private area to kick back.

You can't beat the quiet location and it's only a couple blocks to the beach, Ft Myers pier and the Times Square area so we could always find things to do and places to eat.

However, location isn't everything. Our unit was pleasant but in need of a good workover and cleaning. It's very hard to avoid bringing in lots of sand from the cobblestone alley. We at first took our shoes off at the door to avoid dragging the sand in, but finally worked to clean the shoes and put 'em back on as the tile floors were loaded with sand and dirt. Walk in stocking feet inside and the socks are black in no time. Shower had mold and mildew issues and the sofa needed to be tossed and replaced. Cushions on the deck chairs were suffering a bad case of sun rot and needed replacing long ago. Unit 32 has one or two units above it, and we had a couple evenings and early mornings when children must have been engaging in a jump-a-thon. We sat on the sofa and waited for feet to come crashing through the ceiling. Of course, they didn't. Just wanted to point out that noise can potentially be an issue if upstairs neighbors are rowdy.

If management would put some $$ into refreshing the units, replace some furniture and set standards higher for cleanliness, this would be a real gem. For now, it's a gem only if you can look past a number of issues.

Room Tip: Room 32 is one of 2 units that have direct access to a combined deck area on the harbor dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2015
We are glad you wrote this review about us, even if you didn't find us perfect!
We do have an ongoing upgrade and update maintenance project. It is your feedback that helps us improve our accommodations! Since your stay we have replaced the sofa/bed and have done other improvements.
We hope you will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were in Fort Myers (our first time) visiting with family. The beach hotels were pretty packed and. $206 a night at the Shipwreck Motel was the best we could do. Our room smelled dank and was sparsely furnished--only one night table, no headboard for the bed. But it's the beach so we bought a scented candle from the honky tonk gift shop on the corner and decided to ignore the little imperfections. Our room's back door opened to a deck on a canal -- a great place to sit and watch birds and fish. (A crane walked right into our room looking for breakfast). The room has a large refrigerator, sofa, TV, microwave. Very adequate. Best location of the beach hotels because it's right over the bridge to get onto the island - and the traffic getting over the bridge and driving very far on the island is horrendous so pay attention to where your hotel is relative to the bridge. Head down to Ugly's for the hugest Reuben sandwich you've ever had. All in all we really enjoyed the motel and its funkiness turned out to be part of the fun.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Desk M, Front Office Manager at Shipwreck Motel, responded to this review, February 5, 2015
Thanks for your great review! Isn't it nice to sit on the dock and watch the pelicans and egrets, and the manatees and jumping fish. After all, you came here to enjoy the beach and weather, not sit in your room all day, right?
Hope you come again to visit:0
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the Shrimp festival because everything else was already booked or too expensive. We were quite surprised on how clean it was and the rooms did not smell. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. They held our luggage in a room for us after check out and let us use their pool all day. We also had to get a few things out of the luggage during the day and it was no problem. Very nice area in the back by the marina. The pool was very clean. The location was the best. We walked everywhere everyday. I would actually stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice enough. Two doubles beds and full kitchen with heated pool and very nice seating outside. Restaurants very close by with live entertainment. Shopping nearby too. Beach just a couple blocks away! Perfect location for family and a bit quieter than Estero Blvd.
Cons: bed comfort was average. Sheets were thin and stained. Towels were small. Shower filled with water. Toilet did not always flush. Ran hard copy of credit card. NO Internet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We were just looking for a place to sleep for a three night stay as we planned to be outside by a pool or on the beach during the day. The hotel is charming, but the rooms are small and very cramped. This is a nice place to visit for a short stay, but if you need the space, this place may not be the best choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at Shipwreck for one night over Thanksgiving. The hotel staff was pleasant and accommodating (the room only had one towel upon arrival, but restocked quickly upon my request) . The check-in desk is located inside of the great gift shop. I felt even though the room was small and in need of updating it was a good value due to the great location,kitchenette and cleanliness. The location was perfect, only a very short walk (2 minutes) to the beautiful beach and in the heart of dining and shopping area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#28 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#13 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour House at the Inn
Harbour House at the Inn
#17 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#18 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
#29 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holiday Court
The Holiday Court
#20 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwreck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwreck Motel

Address: 237 Old San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shipwreck Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclectic, Key West Style Motel. Situated on a lovely lagoon. Boat dock, BBQ grills, 2 pools. Tiki huts. Efficiency rooms, 1 and 2 bedrooms also available. Located on Famous Old San Carlos Blvd. between Times Square and the Back Bay. Walk to everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Shipwreck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwreck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Shipwreck Motel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwreck Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.