We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location but needs refreshing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwreck Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shipwreck Motel to your Saves list
Shipwreck Motel
237 Old San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Walker, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“nice location but needs refreshing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

You check in for the motel at the store on Old San Carlos Blvd. The rooms are located down a cobblestone alley behind the store, opening up to the harbor/canal behind the store. The rooms are in a very cute, quiet area along or near the harbor. Colorfully painted, and furnished "beach-style", it's a very pleasant experience unless you want plenty of space. These rooms are small but it wasn't a big deal for us. Our unit (#32) was located directly on the harbor. The front door accesses from the cobblestone alley and the rear patio door opens to a small deck located on the dock of the harbor. The deck had a lounge chair and a couple patio chairs and was a nice, private area to kick back.

You can't beat the quiet location and it's only a couple blocks to the beach, Ft Myers pier and the Times Square area so we could always find things to do and places to eat.

However, location isn't everything. Our unit was pleasant but in need of a good workover and cleaning. It's very hard to avoid bringing in lots of sand from the cobblestone alley. We at first took our shoes off at the door to avoid dragging the sand in, but finally worked to clean the shoes and put 'em back on as the tile floors were loaded with sand and dirt. Walk in stocking feet inside and the socks are black in no time. Shower had mold and mildew issues and the sofa needed to be tossed and replaced. Cushions on the deck chairs were suffering a bad case of sun rot and needed replacing long ago. Unit 32 has one or two units above it, and we had a couple evenings and early mornings when children must have been engaging in a jump-a-thon. We sat on the sofa and waited for feet to come crashing through the ceiling. Of course, they didn't. Just wanted to point out that noise can potentially be an issue if upstairs neighbors are rowdy.

If management would put some $$ into refreshing the units, replace some furniture and set standards higher for cleanliness, this would be a real gem. For now, it's a gem only if you can look past a number of issues.

Room Tip: Room 32 is one of 2 units that have direct access to a combined deck area on the harbor dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    17
    11
    19
See reviews for
17
42
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We were in Fort Myers (our first time) visiting with family. The beach hotels were pretty packed and. $206 a night at the Shipwreck Motel was the best we could do. Our room smelled dank and was sparsely furnished--only one night table, no headboard for the bed. But it's the beach so we bought a scented candle from the honky tonk gift shop on the corner and decided to ignore the little imperfections. Our room's back door opened to a deck on a canal -- a great place to sit and watch birds and fish. (A crane walked right into our room looking for breakfast). The room has a large refrigerator, sofa, TV, microwave. Very adequate. Best location of the beach hotels because it's right over the bridge to get onto the island - and the traffic getting over the bridge and driving very far on the island is horrendous so pay attention to where your hotel is relative to the bridge. Head down to Ugly's for the hugest Reuben sandwich you've ever had. All in all we really enjoyed the motel and its funkiness turned out to be part of the fun.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel during the Shrimp festival because everything else was already booked or too expensive. We were quite surprised on how clean it was and the rooms did not smell. The staff was very nice and very accommodating. They held our luggage in a room for us after check out and let us use their pool all day. We also had to get a few things out of the luggage during the day and it was no problem. Very nice area in the back by the marina. The pool was very clean. The location was the best. We walked everywhere everyday. I would actually stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Room was nice enough. Two doubles beds and full kitchen with heated pool and very nice seating outside. Restaurants very close by with live entertainment. Shopping nearby too. Beach just a couple blocks away! Perfect location for family and a bit quieter than Estero Blvd.
Cons: bed comfort was average. Sheets were thin and stained. Towels were small. Shower filled with water. Toilet did not always flush. Ran hard copy of credit card. NO Internet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rantoul, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We were just looking for a place to sleep for a three night stay as we planned to be outside by a pool or on the beach during the day. The hotel is charming, but the rooms are small and very cramped. This is a nice place to visit for a short stay, but if you need the space, this place may not be the best choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at Shipwreck for one night over Thanksgiving. The hotel staff was pleasant and accommodating (the room only had one towel upon arrival, but restocked quickly upon my request) . The check-in desk is located inside of the great gift shop. I felt even though the room was small and in need of updating it was a good value due to the great location,kitchenette and cleanliness. The location was perfect, only a very short walk (2 minutes) to the beautiful beach and in the heart of dining and shopping area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the Shipwreck Motel during the Fort Myers Beach Pirate Festival. The rooms were clean, the staff accommodating, and the pricing fair. We had a fabulous time, and will be making our reservations for the 2014 Pirate Festival at the Shipwreck Motel!

Room Tip: If you would like to spend time in one of the pools at the Shipwreck Motel, ask for a poolside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shipwreck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwreck Motel

Address: 237 Old San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shipwreck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwreck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Shipwreck Motel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwreck Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.