We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Ft. Myers each getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwreck Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shipwreck Motel to your Saves list
Shipwreck Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   237 Old San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quick Ft. Myers each getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The motel is centrally located, within walking distance of many restaurants, bars and the beach. There is a beautiful pier right down the road where we watched an amazing sunset. Location wise you couldn't ask for more. The price was also very good and the hotel was clean. Keep in mind that this is basically a motel and the accommodations are very very basic. Our room was freshly painted and had very cute beach decor. There was a small kitchen and fridge. This is a good spot for a few days, if your not too picky on amenities and if your looking for a place right in the heart of Ft. Myers beach. The best part of the stay is the restaurant/bar next door "Zushi Zushi". This place had a huge craft beer selection (tap & bottle) , its the only place in the beach worth drinking at :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    45
    18
    13
    19
See reviews for
28
51
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The first time we came to ft myers beach I saw this hotel as I was shopping. So I decided to book it for 2weeks. I was in a room for 3 nites and in the cottage for the rest of the time..i loved it! It is close to everything!! Beach, bars, restaraunts and shopping...so convenient!! The rooms were clean...full fridge, stovetop...the bathroom had a great shower! The girls at the front desk were always helpful and the housekeepers were wonderful...I have no complaints...except I wanted to stay longer :)

Room Tip: Try the cottage. It is awesome! On a canal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The service there is awful and the workers are not welcoming and seem like they don't care. Everytime you went to ask the front desk a question it felt like you were bothering them and in their way. You have a coffee pot in a room but no coffee. I felt like I was at a super 8 motel that cost the price of a nice hotel (The Lighthouse hotel).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A really neat place to stay. Rooms are very clean, staff is amazing and service is outstanding.
Really enjoyed our stay at the Shipwreck. Thanks to all of the staff at the Shipwreck for a wonderful stay!!!!!

Becky D

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln Park, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had the best time here.Clean rooms and pool,walking distance to everywhere,Nice and cozy and not over priced,friendly staff,we will be back again.Its fort myers hidden treasures.wish we could of stayed longer.....Ray @ joanne
lincoln park mi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This place is the worst place I haver stayed. Over priced, mildew smelly rooms, no internet and they rent to young drunk kids. I would have given it 0 if I could but had to rate with at least one. I would have been better off sleeping on the park bench.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Salem, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

DO NOT stay here if they put you in the front of the hotel....very noisy! 2 bars right across the street and very loud. Request the back rooms if you must stay. We will never stay here again. The parking is very tight in the daytime.

Room Tip: Request the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#28 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#13 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour House at the Inn
Harbour House at the Inn
#17 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Dolphin Inn
Dolphin Inn
#19 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
#29 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holiday Court
The Holiday Court
#20 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwreck Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwreck Motel

Address: 237 Old San Carlos Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shipwreck Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eclectic, Key West Style Motel. Situated on a lovely lagoon. Boat dock, BBQ grills, 2 pools. Tiki huts. Efficiency rooms, 1 and 2 bedrooms also available. Located on Famous Old San Carlos Blvd. between Times Square and the Back Bay. Walk to everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shipwreck Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwreck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Shipwreck Motel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwreck Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.