We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a little creepy....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gulfview Manor Resort

Save Saved
You added Gulfview Manor Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gulfview Manor Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6530 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Detriot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice but a little creepy....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Nice and clean rooms and property. Big beautiful beach too. We stayed with another couple from Ohio. I won't into too much detail but it's pretty obvious that the manager Ken has a video screen in his room that shows every security camera. And he watches it ALOT! Kind of creepy but wouldn't keep us from returning. Nice hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    28
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
46
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I can't believe some of the August reviews that gave poor ratings. My wife and are are staying at Gulfview manor right now. We have been here 3 days and have had a top notch experience so far. The management and staff go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. Everything you need is right here in the apartment. There are great restaurants within walking distance and a nice movie theatre across the street. we saw Skyfall there last night.

I will say this place is probably not suited as much for a young group looking to party. There seems to be a little older crowd but school is in session and very few kids are anywhere on the beach.

It is several hundred yards to the water. But we have a beautiful room with a large lanai overlooking the beach and gulf. It is very quiet as well. The pool is nice and the entire place is very well kept. parking is free. Beach Towels are available. The beach itself is immaculate.

There is no smoking above the ground floor. We are non smokers and that was one reason we picked this place. I'm not sure if everyone is following that rule. In the evenings on the lanai there seems to be a lot of smoke coming from below us or next to us. I know that sounds picky and did not deter from this review. But no smokers know how irritating that can be. I don't blame the management and staff since it is almost impossible to enforce.

I'm not a pet lover so I was a little nervous about the possibility of barking dogs. That has not been an issue whatsoever.

Again, any negative reviews about management that I have seen just don't seem fair. More likely the negative reviews were probably from those who weren't following rules and were making the experience bad for other tenants.

We are looking forward to the rest of our stay.












We absolutely would come back here.

Room Tip: We have a one bedroom, oceanfront, corner unit. Great view. Large room. Quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke PInes, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The apartment was big and clean and pet friendly. The beach was filled with all kinds of wildlife. It was uncrowded so the dog could run and play without being on a leash. Nice shallow waters with several sand bars. Water was clean and clear. The front desk was efficient and friendly and even supplied us with beach towels. Excellent restaurant across the street withing walking distance.

Room Tip: One and two bedroom oceanfront apartments. Any Floor above one is pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was traveling with 3 gf's. We checked in to Room 31 on 9/21. Upon arrival, Julie at the front desk gave us beach towels, The room was 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, each bed was a King size. There was also a Queen size sofa sleeper in the living room. The beds were super comfortable, the apartment itself was nice, could use a little updating but still nice. We appreciated the kitchen where we ate breakfast and lunch everyday. The location was on the beach, but it was a bit of a walk to the water, none of us minded the extra walk in the soft sand, though. I found Julie and the other lady (sorry, didn't get her name)at the front desk to be very pleasant and helpful, as we stopped by the office frequently for advice on places to go. As for the negative comments I've seen about the manager, well, we must have behaved, because I never even met him.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The manager has a bad attitude, very rude, and is always watching what everyone is doing either in person or by video/audio surveillance. At 10:00 PM lights OFF in the pool area, very dangerous when you have kids or even without kids, it is a hazard anyone trip and fall. After 11:00 PM you can't make noise, people just TALKING is too much. Things to be aware of:

The office must be informed of all overnight visitors.

All visitors (no more than 4 total visitors and 1 vehicle per apartment) must register at the office.

This property is under 24 hour audio/video surveillance.

No glass containers, pets or food are allowed in the pool area. No glass on the beach.

Maid service $25/DAY.

Kitchen utensils must be cleaned if used and all trash removed or a $100 cleaning fee will be assessed.

No glass permitted anywhere on the grounds, pool or beach!!!!

Unregistered vehicles will be towed at owners expense.

Noise curfew from 11pm – 8am. Loud parties or noise will not be tolerated.

No smoking above the ground floor. A $100 service fee will be charged to your credit card if you are found smoking above ground floor.

Lost or missing beach towel $15 fee. Lost key $25 fee.

I will never be returning to this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVM_Operations, General Manager at Gulfview Manor Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Unfortunately, there is always those who only care about themselves and their own needs over everyone else. I leaving the same response on all negative reviews left by this group. The rules that were quoted by one of the reviews are well posted on our website, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, just to name a few. All the rules and responsibilities are covered with the guests at check-in. All registered vehicles are issued parking passes.
The group rented several of our apartments, not rooms, for their Family Party. Their issues of having extra persons in the apartments (up to 12), violating our 11pm noise curfew, and no loud parties caused multiple complaint by other guests. Several unauthorized vehicles tires were Booted immobilizing the vehicle. The group allowed their unauthorized friends or family to stay in their apartments. The group monopolized both the gas grills and swimming pool from noon till 8PM both nights they stayed. We had to ask those of their group cooking on the grills to consolidate their cooking to one grill so other customers could cook their items. They were repeatedly told not to have glass anywhere on the ground level including the pool and picnic area and beach. Twice, we remove cigarette butts and beer bottles from the pool itself. Management had to remove several bottles and glasses from the edge of the pool after directly asking them to remove them. They were very rude using language not suitable for children that were in the pool.
In regards to turning out the lights on them, the pool lights are on a timer. The pool hours and "Rules" are posted in multiple languages in the pool area. Failure to comply with the rules and rudeness to other guest was a result of their actions, not ours.
Gulfview Manor Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

the manager of this resort is a jerk . I felt like I was in a prison with cameras all over the place nd the manager checking everything we do treating us like children I recommend u that if u want to have a great stance at fort mayers go for another place .the resort is comfortable and clean but is not the rigth place to spend a vacations with the family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVM_Operations, General Manager at Gulfview Manor Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Unfortunately, there is always those who only care about themselves and their own needs over everyone else. I leaving the same response on all negative reviews left by this group. The rules that were quoted by one of the reviews are well posted on our website, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, just to name a few. All the rules and responsibilities are covered with the guests at check-in. All registered vehicles are issued parking passes.
The group rented several of our apartments, not rooms, for their Family Party. Their issues of having extra persons in the apartments (up to 12), violating our 11pm noise curfew, and no loud parties caused multiple complaint by other guests. Several unauthorized vehicles tires were Booted immobilizing the vehicle. The group allowed their unauthorized friends or family to stay in their apartments. The group monopolized both the gas grills and swimming pool from noon till 8PM both nights they stayed. We had to ask those of their group cooking on the grills to consolidate their cooking to one grill so other customers could cook their items. They were repeatedly told not to have glass anywhere on the ground level including the pool and picnic area and beach. Twice, we remove cigarette butts and beer bottles from the pool itself. Management had to remove several bottles and glasses from the edge of the pool after directly asking them to remove them. They were very rude using language not suitable for children that were in the pool.

In regards to turning out the lights on them, the pool lights are on a timer. The pool hours and "Rules" are posted in multiple languages in the pool area. Failure to comply with the rules and rudeness to other guest was a result of their actions, not ours.

Gulfview Manor Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Since we arrived at the hotel the manager has been on to us. When we were going to check in he said that you can only got 4 people in a 2 bedroom and was going to charge us 50 bucks for 2 extra people. He watches you like a hawk. One time he even threw away my friends drink because it was "too close to the pool". He turned off all the lights leading to or in the pool which was very dangerous for the children inside and stopped us from having a good time. He has cameras all over the building to watch what you are doing. The rooms are very clean and spacious and everything is neat. The manager also discriminates and treats you like children. You can't make notice after 11 pm or he'll come knocking on your door telling you to be quiet. I do not recommend this place to people with big families and who want to bring friends with them. Not too many amenities either.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GVM_Operations, General Manager at Gulfview Manor Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Unfortunately, there is always those who only care about themselves and their own needs over everyone else. I leaving the same response on all negative reviews left by this group. The rules that were quoted by one of the reviews are well posted on our website, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, just to name a few. All the rules and responsibilities are covered with the guests at check-in. All registered vehicles are issued parking passes.

The group rented several of our apartments, not rooms, for their Family Party. Their issues of having extra persons in the apartments (up to 12), violating our 11pm noise curfew, and no loud parties caused multiple complaint by other guests. Several unauthorized vehicles tires were Booted immobilizing the vehicle. The group allowed their unauthorized friends or family to stay in their apartments. The group monopolized both the gas grills and swimming pool from noon till 8PM both nights they stayed. We had to ask those of their group cooking on the grills to consolidate their cooking to one grill so other customers could cook their items. They were repeatedly told not to have glass anywhere on the ground level including the pool and picnic area and beach. Twice, we remove cigarette butts and beer bottles from the pool itself. Management had to remove several bottles and glasses from the edge of the pool after directly asking them to remove them. They were very rude using language not suitable for children that were in the pool.

In regards to turning out the lights on them, the pool lights are on a timer. The pool hours and "Rules" are posted in multiple languages in the pool area. Failure to comply with the rules and rudeness to other guest was a result of their actions, not ours.

Gulfview Manor Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gulfview Manor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulfview Manor Resort

Address: 6530 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulfview Manor Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Family Owned Resort A Gulf Front family Resort with magificent Gulf Views and Sunsets from our 1 & 2 bedroom apartments. Beautiful Beach Pristine white sandy beach that beckons the young at heart. Enjoy walking in the sand as the waves roll over your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Gulfview Manor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulfview Manor Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Gulfview Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulfview Manor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.