We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Charm / Beautiful Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Motel

Gulf Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf Motel
Save
You added Gulf Motel to your Saves list
2700 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Florida Charm / Beautiful Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We stayed here for Memorial Day weekend and needed a place to keep our jet ski on a trailer. The managers were more than accomodating! The efficiency was perfect for us, as we did not want to eat out every meal. The kitchen was well-stocked; room was clean. Our room had a slight view of the gulf and a cute wood deck in front with grills available and poolside seating. The gulf is only steps away with beautiful views. Don't let the previous poor reviews discourage your stay here. The new managers have been here for 4 weeks and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It's also the most affordable place on the beach we could find! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    4
    4
    12
See reviews for
10
9
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

This place is terrible, bugs and the entire place was dirty. The lights don't work and shower dribbled water out. There is no one there to help if you do need something. The Manager of the place is no where to be found. I would rather had a sleeping bag on the beach than to stay here.

Take my advice and don't stay at this place.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the entire place
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2005

My family and a friend stayed at the gulf motel in March of 2002. We had a lot of fun, but the motel was kind of gross. Some of the problems included...lights were dusty, mattresses needed trashed (they had stains that looked like blood in weird spots like the side of the mattress), the bathroom window needed better blinds, and the shower from above our room (room #1)leaked down into ours. Staff was not a problem. The manager at the time, Jeff, brought us extra rolls of toilet paper, blankets and a space heater because it was chilly, and he was extremly nice. Since then he has passed away, so i am not for sure on the staff now. Overall the motel was a little gross but the stay was A LOT of fun. I recommend this place to people that have an open mind and don't get grossed out over every little thing.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2005

Gulf Motel is very run-down and poorly maintained. Don't stay there. For $10 less a night, you can stay at the Beach Shell Inn or others that are much nicer and just a block or so away on Estero Blvd. in Ft. Myers Beach.

The room was in significant disrepair. For example ceiling fan blades flew off the fan and nearly injured us. The dirt was thick, only basic surfaces were ever cleaned. Shower was so small in Room #4 that you can't bend over to wash. There is no room service during your stay, if you want towels, toilet paper, etc. you need to go to the office to exchange each day. You are expected to take out your own garbage. Room not available when tried to check-in, had to wait for it to be readied for occupancy.

Staff make no attempt to go out of their way to satisfy customers. The couple that live on the premises and run the place are not the owners, so they aren't interested in hearng complaints about their service. If you have complaints, contact Karen at ------------.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Motel

Address: 2700 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Number of rooms: 11

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.