We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Ft Myers Beavh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Shell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Beach Shell Inn to your Saves list
Beach Shell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2610 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Ft Myers Beavh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Found online. Room was clean and reasonably priced. It's a short walk to the beach and nearby shops & restaurants. Beach chairs, umbrellas, etc were available to use on the beach. I would highly recommend the Beach Shell Inn! I know we will return!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    42
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
72
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The Beach Shell Hotel was like a trip back in time. Little hotel situated not far but far enough from the busy Times Square area. The beach is a short walk away and offers beautiful white sand and quiet surf. They have beach chairs and beach toys available to use if you'd like. The pool area is the place where people congregate and overall other guests are friendly. The price is very reasonable- a steal, really with its location. The rooms and grounds are older, but clean and kept up very well. I highly recommend it and would definitely return if I found myself in Ft. Myers Beach again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a one-night getaway with my wife for her birthday....

WHAT WE LIKED:

- Clean rooms, good housekeeping
- They offered beach chairs to take to the beach
- It's one the beach-side of the road, but you do have a couple of minute's walk from their property to the sand
- Affordable
- Free coffee and newspaper in the morning
- Friendly check-in

WHAT WE DID NOT LIKE

- It's not a smoke-free property, so we couldn't enjoy the pool area because of the smokers there. The pool is surrounded by the building on three sides, so the cigarette smoke permeates and spoils the deck area
- The windows are paper-thin, so you here everyone clearly talking on the pool deck while you're sitting in your room. They, of course, can hear you, too. I awoke before 8am when a man outside my room started talking.
- The window treatments either only block all light (front window), or are missing because the windows are frosted (back windows). You either get too much light in the morning, or not enough natural light without exposing your whole room
- There was a place to wash off sand before entering your room, but the spigot had no water running to it
- The beach chairs were heavy, not made of lightweight aluminum, so although they offered chairs to take to the beach, they were very heavy to carry there
- The whole facility was appointed much like a motel from the 1950s or 60s, which isn't bad if that's what you like (think: very small bathroom). Next time I visit this area, I'd just opt for newer, more spacious accommodations maybe not right on the beach, and just drive here instead. Or, try my luck at another beachside resort.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

In looking for an affordable place to stay on the beach I came across this little gem. Although you cannot see the beach you are only steps away. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were nice and clean. Bed very comfortable. A nice pool outside the room. Quiet at night. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I wanted to spend some time away from the kids to celebrate our anniversary. However, we didn't want to spend too much money because we had other places planned to go this summer with the kids. When we first arrived there we were a little apprehensive and we thought it was directly ON the beach, but after getting settled in we were very pleased with our decision to stay. The room was incredibly clean, the people were very friendly and it was conveniently located within walking distance to the beach. It is on the same side as the beach, there is just a couple houses between this place and the actual beach. We were very pleased with their "barrowing beach necessities" available for us to use. I used a beach chair, umbrella, and a raft at the beach. I thought that was nice to not have to go buy those things. The pool was right outside our door, so we didn't have to fight for a chair or ride an elevator to go to the pool. It's a small place and pretty quiet. There is a grocery store directly across the street, which was nice and it was very close to many great restaurants. But at the same time not right in the middle of the madness. You must eat at Heavenly Biscuit, Hoosier's in Paradise and rent bikes to rides! There are not fast food restaurants on this beach or any chain stores or restaurants. It's a very unique beach. It's not over crowded and the shells we found were ridiculous. We had to buy another suitcase just to get all of the big shells we found on the airplane. It is a short distance to Sanibel Island (you will have to pay $6 to go over the bridge each time) but it is a must see. Ultimately, I would recommend staying here if you are looking for something low key, close to the beach, and inexpensive. We were glad we didn't spend more on a fancy condo because we go to spend more on other things to enhance our experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, Oklahoma
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

every one was great and friendly the room was clean and the pool was just out our door. the beach was just a close walk. we are planing on making this the only place we stay at.they even have beach chairs, mats, umbrellas, some water toys, and ice chests to use at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I found this place by reading reviews on Tripadvisor. It really is a vice nice place about a block from the beach. The rooms, pool area and general hotel area are incredibly clean. The room was very comfortable, provided a refrigerator, microwave, iron, large screen tv and a VERY comfortable bed.
The staff are Great and they also provide small ice chests, beach towels, floats and everything else you need for the beach or pool. It is located a cross the street from a market and liquor store as well.
The beach is about a block away. This is a great find and the cleanliness cannot be matched in this area. Thank you all for the great accurate reviews on this great place to stay. I will go back again soon!!

Room Tip: They have a variety of rooms, so pick the best one for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shell Inn

Address: 2610 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Beach Shell Inn, a Superior Small Lodging situated on Estero Island in the lively town of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Only steps away from the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn provides the comfort of home in a small, intimate setting. Choose from a selection of guest rooms with refrigerators and microwaves, efficiencies, and one or two bedroom apartments - by the day, week, or as long as you'd like! All units overlook the heated pool, have cable TV, and reserved parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Beach Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shell Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Beach Shell Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.