We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sweet place and right on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Shell Inn

Save Saved
You added Beach Shell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Shell Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2610 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very sweet place and right on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We had a one night stay here and found the room fairly small but very clean and comfortable. Really lovely location by the beach and just a 20 minute stroll along the beach to the pier and town centre. Very good, friendly, attentive service too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    41
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
69
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We took a night out and decided to get a room at the beach. We booked online through a website that hides the property when you book. And this was the hotel selected for about $85 a night. I was a bit disappointing with the booking but when we arrived, I was impressed. First of all the service desk (Scott) was very professional and gave us valuable information about the area and suggested great placed to eat and visit. The rooms are extremely clean, well stocked with microwave and refrigerator, even have a safe box for valuables. Our room was poolside and the beach is steps away. The bathroom was very also clean. For breakfast, coffee is offered to all guests in their outdoor area. Ice machines are available to provide for the guests. We were pleasantly surprised with this little gem- and their amazing service to guests. We will definitely be staying again at this hotel.

Room Tip: There are second floor rooms with little balconies overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is an older hotel, but overall very nice and clean. The bathroom was VERY clean with super-white grout! Linens and towels very nice. Pool and grounds clean, too. The owner at the front desk was available and helpful for any questions we had. There were some very noisy guests after 10pm, and the owner took care of the problem.
Also, there are items that you can borrow, like sand buckets, beach chairs, foam coolers and floats for the pool. :)
There is good, free coffee in the morning and a large grocery store right across the street- so convenient!
The air conditioner was a little noisy, but other than that I have no complaints. Quite a nice place for a low priced hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beach Shell Inn is an older privately owned Inn/Motel only about 17 units small in size, but big on quality. Hard to find in todays fast paced hundred room chain hotel society. First I have to commend the owner on how clean our room was. Id rate this area 10 out of 10. We stayed this Memorial Day weekend Fort Myers Beach was packed, but what was great is Beach Shell Inn is located on the beach side with beach access. From your room to the beach maybe 300 feet, to the water longer depending on whether or not the tide was in. The Inn is only 1 mile from the Pier and Main downtown area. A nice beach walk if you want to go to the pier and avoid the traffic. Just 2 doors up the beach is a water sports rental station boards jet skies paddle boards etc. Take some change with you as there is an Ice cream cart that roams the beach..
Another nice thing about the Inn is they furnish big thick beach towels, just ask.

Hot coffee is offered in the morning, if you want more, there is a full grocery and liquor store right across from the Inn. And a fridge and micro wave were in our room.

What was also nice is if you wanted a beach chair to take to the beach it was provided along with games floats for the kids and even some mats to lay on. Even a Corn Hole set. Feel a little salty after the beach, they have a nice pool.

All this and it was one of the most affordable stays on the island. Couldn't ask for more

Room Tip: Check on line for room types, you can also book directly on line .P.S. If you go to the grocery sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

SUPER FRIENDLY!

My husband considers me a "hotel snob". I consider myself "selective".
Although this an aged hotel, it's comfortable and most importantly Clean. The bathrooms are new with yellow tile, new commode, new tube and new fixtures. We stayed in #21, it was small, but cozy. I liked it. I liked the location, the people, the size. The pool was very clean and although the hotel was fully occupied, there was never more than 2 people in the pool at the same time. If you wanted to socialize you could, if you didn't you didn't feel rude.

An easy walk to the beach, far enough away from the pier to feel like you had the beach to yourself, but close enough that you felt like you were in the action of the square. Location was perfect.

I would definitely return, very charming, well priced and great atmosphere. A simple place in a simple city for this simple couple.

Room Tip: #21 has a double bed and a single bed in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valann38
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This little hidden gem is rather old but very clean and the location is great - only 100 feet from the beach. They have beach chairs and coolers for the beach at no charge. Their pool is the cleanest nicest pool I've seen anywhere. They are friendly and do everything to make your stay pleasant. And its a good value. Don't overlook this place. We would return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Lots within walking distance, close to beach. Grocery and liquor across the street.about a mile from Times Square. Lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby. Owners can always recommend good eateries.

Room Tip: We have stayed here annually since 2003 with no complaints. Great owners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shell Inn

Address: 2610 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Shell Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Beach Shell Inn, a Superior Small Lodging situated on Estero Island in the lively town of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Only steps away from the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn provides the comfort of home in a small, intimate setting. Choose from a selection of guest rooms with refrigerators and microwaves, efficiencies, and one or two bedroom apartments - by the day, week, or as long as you'd like! All units overlook the heated pool, have cable TV, and reserved parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Beach Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shell Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Beach Shell Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Shell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.