We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty room but beautiful property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manatee Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Manatee Bay Inn to your Saves list
Manatee Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   932 Third Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Musty room but beautiful property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My teen daughter and I stayed in room #2 for Spring Break. CONS: When we walked in to the room, it was VERY musty. The room was clean but outdated. The futon style coach was uncomfortable to sleep on. The AC window unit was old and noisy. PROS: The owner, Connie, was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool and deck area were beautiful, clean and nicely landscaped. We spent most of the time outside when at the hotel. The location was absolutely great. Just a block from the restaurants and shops with the beach only another block from that. We would definitely go back provided we were on the upper level.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    29
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, MI, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My best friend recommended Manatee Bay Inn and I couldn't agree more. This is like staying with your favorite relative. Connie, Axel and Valerie were more like friends than innkeepers. While I would love to keep this place all to my self it would be a shame to be so selfish. Intimate, super clean and with so much personality all within 2 blocks of shopping, dining and the beach. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermantown, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We came back but only for one nite. Connie and Axel keep a perfect getaway! Beautifull, Spotless and comfortable. Beauthiful pool and view over the canal. So close to the beach, shopping and restraunts. Loved it again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Paradise found! I heard so many good things about the Manatee Bay Inn, about the service, the friendly and welcoming inkeeper Axel & Connie, the location with the great view.... that I just had to try it out over my Easter vacation. It was so wonderful, everything was perfect as recommended by my friends. The locations is great, walking distance to Time Square (as a New Yorker I have to mention it Time Square Fort Myers Beach!) with entertainment, restaurants, shops and the pier. The view from my room was breathtaking.

Thank you Connie, I will be back very soon to catch up with all my new friends on Fort Myers Beach!
Kristi, NY, NY

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I discovered a real gem in the heart of Ft. Myers Beach! It has a beautiful and peaceful location, but is within a short walk to all the shops, resturants, and the beach. I would recommend this place to anyone and the owners are super hosts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Manatee Bay Inn. Connie and Axel were absolutely wonderful, friendly, and very helpful. And a shout out to Valerie! Connie and Axel take great pride in their ownership and it shows - the property is very well maintained and the rooms are clean and very comfortable. We stayed in room 3 and it is located downstairs next to the pool and common area where breakfast is placed every morning. We thoroughly enjoyed having our coffee and breakfast outside under the hut every morning - watching the fish jump and the birds fly over the water. I cannot say enough good things about this place! We will be back - just not soon enough!

Just one tip - if you stay here and have a room upstairs - please be mindful of the fact that there is a room downstairs.......heavy footsteps very early in the morning can be annoying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
codicote, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

After numerous hours checking out the beach hotels on this website, & getting frustrated with the excessive price matching some average reviews I decided to take a chance with the Manatee Bay Inn. What a great choice. Set a couple of blocks back from the beach, but right in EASY walking distance for all the the main Fort Myers Beach restaurants, bars, shops etc this was the perfect location.

Tucked away down a quiet side street, with an allocated parking space, this small property backed on to a small water inlet with its own boat dock decking area. We booked a one bed apartment & were so fortunate it that we stayed in the owners, Connie & Axel's old apartment - they have now moved 5 minutes away. This apartment had a spacious living/dining kitchen area, with full facilities, a nice bedroom & smallish but suitable bathroom.

It was all clean & well maintained along with the rest of the property which, as well the sunbeds on the rear deck, also had two small swimming pools, one of which was heated. Connie & Axel made you feel very welcome during your stay. They provide a small breakfast to start the day, which is good as there are plenty of good restaurants for lunch/dinner.

We stayed five nights, & based on the price, location & hotel facilities, wished it had been longer. The Fort Myers Beach area, with Sanibel Island a short drive away, is a lovely place to visit. Make the Manatee Bay Inn the location to do it from.

Room Tip: An upstairs room will provide a great view of the water inlet from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manatee Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manatee Bay Inn

Address: 932 Third Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Manatee Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront Bed and breakfast Small Inn Hotel in the heart of Fort Myers Beach. Located on Estero Island right next to colorful "Old San Carlos Boulevard/Times Square" shopping and dining district and just 1.5 blocks to Gulf beaches. Stroll out our front door and around the corner you'll find all the shops, restaurants, outdoor cafes, bars with live music, and Casino-Cruise-Ships. Charter fishing boats, fishing pier and the most beautiful white sandy beach with all the watersport activities are just steps away. In addition you will be just minutes away from the surrounding areas of Lovers Key Statepark, Sanibel, Captiva, Fort Myers, Cape Coral, Pine Island and Bonita Beach. Not to forget the "Key-West-Express" is just a short ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Manatee Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manatee Bay Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manatee Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.