We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What It Says It Is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carousel Inn on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Carousel Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carousel Inn on the Beach
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6230 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Just What It Says It Is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The facility is old, as you've already noticed--the shower curtain rod was just barely hanging on and there were cracks along the ceiling, etc. If you want spiffy, you'll need to open up your wallet further. The property sits right on the very wide beach. The rooms are staggered so most everyone will have a bay view. The room itself is large, but the kitchen is tiny; there's only about 14" of counter space which would be a problem for cooking much of a dinner but was fine for breakfast and lunch. Bathroom, towels and linens were adequate. The plastic mattress cover would rustle as you moved around in the bed, and the mattress had a few springs that could be felt, which may pose problems for finicky sleepers. There is no central air, and the a/c unit is loud and right next to the bed, which could also present a problem. From my experience though, the Carousel Inn is a good value.

Room Tip: Better view of course from the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    66
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been staying at the Carousel for many many years. The whole place was redone several years ago. Each room is a studio type....spacious bedroom with a small full kitchen, fridge, stove, micro and a nice dressing room with bathroom. This hotel is pet friendly. The pet rooms are located near the pool but each room gives you a view of the Gulf and beach. Since we stay for at least a month several times a year, we like to cook in and we must take our dog with us! This hotel is perfect for our needs and the most important part is that it is pet friendly.

Room Tip: Pet rooms are nearer the pool, but all rooms have a view of the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights in room 142. It was facing the beach, amazing view. The hotel itself is very old but was clean and comfortable. We had a full kitchen and king size bed. The bed was comfortable, the pillows not so great. There was a table, 4 chairs and a sofa and still lots of room to move around. The bathroom had been updated. The location is what sells this place and the room rate as well. We didn't use the pool but was told it was very nice and warm. There were 2 very comfortable chairs outside of the room on the patio area and you could take them down onto the sand. The sand was so white and power like, it almost looked like snow from a distance. We enjoyed the sunsets and the beautiful quiet beach. There is assigned parking and that was great - no looking for a parking spot. Great location, great value - would come back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms on the main floor and 2 rooms on the second floor that face right onto the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The white sand beach is literally steps from the Carousel Inn. The pool is heated and did not feel too crowded. We travelled with my 4 year old son who loved the heated pool and playing on the beach. The kitchenette was appreciated so we could prepare our own meals. The kitchenette included a fridge, small stove and oven, microwave, coffee machine, plates, utensils, pots and pans. You just need to bring your food. There are 2 BBQ's available for use (1 at each end of the complex). The rooms are not modern but we liked the casual feel as we were in and out of the room with sand, wet towels, pool noodles, and felt relaxed about coming in and out of the room.
Pool and beach towels are available from the front desk. As first I was disappointed we were at the far end (away from the beach end), but after the amount of time my son was in the pool, I really appreciated being close to the pool end (other end of the hotel).

Room Tip: Room closest to pool is 211. Excellent if you have a younger pool swimmer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Obviously you can't rate a motel like this with 5 stars. It's not a 5 star place. BUT it 's the next best option. Beach front rooms and all !!!!. This was a return visit for that very reason and there were no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Not fancy, not pretentious. Just a little old time Fla. We enjoyed the friendly management and the wonderful views. Proximity to the beach is the best! Walk out your front door and feel that sugar sand between your toes.....there's even a tiny kitchen, when you just want to stay in your pj's and soak up the beach vibes.

Room Tip: Beachfront (there are four)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you're traveling with a family and would like to spend a relaxing time at the beach - this place is for you.
Pros:
- location: right on the beach. If you're staying in rooms 141-145 (or maybe 142-146) then you door literally opens on the beach. Other rooms are further away and require a short walk along the property through hotel parking but it's not a problem. You can see the ocean from all balconies of the property. The hotel is also very close restaurants and shops: there is a nice restaurant right across the street from the property: has a nice salad and fruit bar for a very low price. There are sidewalks along the main road or you can walk along the beach. There is also a tram, which you can ride for 50 cents.
There is also a beach tiki bar nearby (I think it belongs to another hotel but it was open for everyone and had live music in the evening). It wasn't too loud to disturb us in our room, in fact we didn't hear it at all.
- beach: humongous! probably the largest in the area! Very clean! white sand, soft and fine like icing sugar!
- rooms: very spacious. We were impressed how big they were, even those that had a king size bed and a sofa. They also have suits, which are pretty large as well.
- kitchens: they have full size kitchens that include a large fridge and a real stove with an oven and they have everything you need for cooking. Plus a microwave, toaster, and a coffee maker. Save a great deal of money. There's a Publix within about one mile from the property.

Cons: rooms need a fresh layer of paint. We stayed in two rooms and both had old paint.
Also, beds and pillows have cases on them made of something plasticky. They squeak and crack every time you move and make you sweat quite a bit even though it could be fresh in the room. Finally, air-conditioners are old and loud. We visited in December so opening a window was sufficient (great plus - windows that open :) unlike in major hotels).

Room Tip: Rooms 141-145 (or 142-146) are right on the beach. Rooms 135-136 are over the main office in a build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carousel Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Inn on the Beach

Address: 6230 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carousel Inn on the Beach 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Carousel Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Inn On The Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Carousel Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Carousel Motel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carousel Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.