We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Wonderful Dockside View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matanzas Inn

Matanzas Inn
416 Crescent Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
+1 239-463-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Food and Wonderful Dockside View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

On a beautiful afternoon we stopped at Matanzas for lunch. We sat on the deck overlooking the water. The clam chowder was average, but the lobster stuffed grouper was delicious. My husband's cod sandwich was tasty. It's a very relaxing atmosphere and, even though it was crowded, the efficient staff didn't make us feel like we should eat and leave. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Thank you for the feedback and posting the pictures you took. We look forward to your next visit! Please ask for me. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    177
    51
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great views, but mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I've been here three times in the past year and can't say I've been impressed with anything but the view. If you can sit outside, you'll enjoy the dockside views which is wonderful. The food is mediocre at best and the service is average to lacking, regardless of how busy they are. The prices are definitely above average for what you get.

For a better atmosphere, food and service - check out Parrot Key which also has dockside seating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
I would love the chance to talk to you more in detail about your experience with us, perhaps you could email me at Glen@matanzasinn.com. Thank you for your consideration. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We ate upstairs in the casual bar/restaurant area tonight. Pizzas were good, the service was great (our server gave us some good tips for places to go in Fort Myers Beach), we enjoyed the live music and watching pelicans catching their dinner in the bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words, I will let the staff know about your experience. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was a return trip for me. The seafood is great and the atmosphere of the boats, birds and fish make for a great experience. Great for lunch, drinks or dinner.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for coming to Matanzas on the Bay and taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate it! ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The view was lovely, and the service was prompt, but the food was warm rather than hot, fish was tougher than expected, and entertainment was a poor match for the atmosphere. Solo acoustic covers of drinking-themed songs such as "Beer Run" didn't seem like a good firt for the families with young children I saw around me. Many better restaurants are nearby!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
First of all, thank you dining with us and we hope to see you again. Perhaps you can email me at Glen@matanzasinn.com so that I can better assist in making your next experience with us a great one. I am guessing you heard our musician on our Upper Deck, which is a more casual atmosphere, while you were dining downstairs. I appreciate your feedback and am always looking at better ways to accommodate all of our guests. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas Inn also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matanzas Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.