We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matanzas Inn

Matanzas Inn
416 Crescent St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2620
+1 239-463-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Have had dinner & lunch at the Matanzas. Food is great. Have the local seafood plate and ask for Jessica as your server...the best.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the nice review, Jessica a new member of our team and we are excited to have her. I will pass on the praise. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    155
    48
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THIS is genuine Local and warmly welcomes tourists- upper deck, great view, cold beer, good apps, and usually evening local ente”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Warm breeze, cold beer, friendly bartenders, sports on tv's. Come and relax, enjoy the view and local flavor. THIS is why folks move to SW FL !

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
WOW! What a great review, thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you soon. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Have the gator tail app- no kidding! Two visits, service outside great on one and service inside poor on the other. Food is good, view is good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Julie, thank you for coming to our restaurant twice, we appreciate your patronage! While it seems you enjoyed yourself I always hope we can do better next time. Please ask for me. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Main Restaurant was excellent!: We sat on the deck overlooking the bay, I would recommend the outdoor seating. Watch the boats come and go, looks like many of the full time boaters hang out here. Live Jazz was playing, which I really enjoyed even though I am not normally a jazz band. The food was wonderful! We did not have a reservation, so we had a wait of about 30 minutes on a Thursday night, not a problem since we had the Tobacco boats to watch that were docked on the public pier next to the hotel, very cool! I would certainly go here again.

Upstairs Bar/Deck: Was really bad, looks like a lot of people were having a great time, but when we went back on Saturday to try out the pizza and a beer, the place was chaos! We had to fight for a table, no hostess! We found a table that was open but full of the previous customers waste. We were greeted at the door by one of the waitstaff running by with suggestions "find a place, anywhere you can". Once we did find the table, we waited 20 minutes and know one came to clear the table or to acknowledge we were there. The table next to us, who seated 10 minutes after us, went a found someone, When I tried to get the waitstaff's attention, eye contact was made, but the staff didn't come over (actually ran away!). We walked out. I only saw two staff member's working the tables and one bartender; looked like about 40 customers, and they couldn't handle it. Maybe it was a bad night, but I would stick to the restaurant and skip the upper deck bar/pizza area. I wish I could split my vote for this place, but I'll stick with the good experience at the main restaurant, just be allow lots of time and be bossy at the deck top,.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you Janet for visiting our restaurant and taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during one of Jazz on the Bay nights which we host every Friday. I apologize about your experience on the Upper Deck and wish I could talk to you more specifically. I did share your comments with the entire staff and hope we can do better on your next visit. Please contact me at Glen@matanzasinn.com. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate @ Mantanzas during our spectacular vacation in Bonita Springs. Our boat tour guide recommended it and we sure are glad he did!!! Food was spectacular! The grouper and the Key Lime Colada was my favorite. The location was beautiful and service was great. Can't wait to go back next year. A true Florida delight.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such nice words. We can't wait to see you next year! ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas Inn also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matanzas Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.