We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food on the bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matanzas Inn

Matanzas Inn
416 Crescent St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2620
+1 239-463-3838
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food on the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We found this hidden wonder this fall and have been there several times. The food is always delicious and the staff very friendly. We enjoy Karen as our server whenever we can. Can't wait to go again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for visiting our restaurant (again and again!). I will personally thank Karen as well. Please ask for me on your next visit. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    154
    48
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Very special place to have dinner. We decided to just have a light meal of appetizers. My husband had the bacon wrapped scallops and I had the lump crab stuffed mushrooms both were excellent. For desserts we shared a slice of key lime pie...yummy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Sounds like exactly what I eat! Thank you for the review...the Stuffed Mushrooms have been a staple of Chef Dave's for many years so he especially appreciates the feedback. The Bacon Wrapped Scallops were a new menu addition just a month ago. I am glad you enjoyed both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapid
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

What an excellent and fun place to go. Went 3 times on recent stay at Fort Myers Beach. Debbie served us the first night and she was great, food was outstanding, then she told us to stop upstairs to listen to music at Petey's upper deck. Great choice.
Chelsea waited on us and she was a hoot. Friendly, funny, and outstanding service. Also met Aaron the bartender- super friendly. 2nd visit was just to Petey's upper deck- Music & pizza were great and Chelsea took care of us again. OUTSTANDING AGAIN. 3rd visit was upstairs- Jennifer waited on us and Chelsea was just finishing her shift. Jennifer was great and Chelsea sat and visited with us for a while. Service was truly outstanding and will definitely go back on every visit. Best customer service imaginable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I know you came out of your way to come visit our restaurant and we can not thank you enough. It was a pleasure meeting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great charming restaurant/bar direct by the bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is one of the best locations in FMB to chill out, wine and dine. Upstairs is a bit more casual with a fantastic view of the bay and the BEST PIZZA IN TOWN. Super friendly service(thank you Jenny, Bill and your wife), that makes you feel like part of the family. Don' t miss the happy hour from 4-7 o' clock and the almost daily live music. Downstairs is great for lunch and dinner right by the sea. Awesome seafood and daily specials. We stayed 6 days in the very nice and priced Matanzas Inn Hotel and went to the Restaurant almost daily and enjoyed it absolutely. The hotel is a great place to stay, right by the bay and close to the beach and other attractions. Very clean with a super swimming pool.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you very much for staying and playing with us (and also for the great review)! I have thanked all those mentioned for making your stay a memorable one. I also thanked Patty at the Inn. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Old Florida Charm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here a few weeks ago. Our server was bubbly and pleasant although she didn't know how to open wine much less offer suggestions, which we thought strange since their wine list is decent. The stuffed grouper and steak were both amazing and the old Florida charm interior makes it one of the most romantic places on the beach. We were going to order a second bottle of wine to enjoy the view after dessert, but the restaurant seemed to be closing up by 9:30 on a Wednesday. Although the tourists in the area do seem to eat really early (and fast), so we understood.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas Inn, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for the review and honest feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere on your visit. I do apologize for the lack of knowledge on the wine offerings. We are coming out with a new wine menu very soon and I will take that opportunity to refresh everyone. Please ask for me on your next visit. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matanzas Inn also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matanzas Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.