We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charley's Boat House Grill

Charley's Boat House Grill
6241 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
239 765 4800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beach Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Got a recommended to visit this restaurant and glad we did. Four of us went Monday for the early bird and got seated right away. There was a wait when we left so I'm glad we came early. They had an excellent salad bar and a very good menu. I had the New York strip and it was excellent. I'm glad we didn't get an appetizer because the salad bar was more than enough with the fresh baked rolls. Prices were very good. The waiter and cocktail server did an excellent job. We will visit them again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    239
    91
    38
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Busy Restaurant - great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were told our wait would be about 1/2 hour which was a pretty close estimate. We sat in the lounge area and ordered drinks. One girl seemed to be taking care of this area and she did a great job! The salad bar was large - as advertised - and the corn chowder I ordered was very good as was the warm homemade bread. We both enjoyed our dinners. As an extra bonus, this restaurant was within walking distance of our hotel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhead
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We had a group of 10 and we had a nice dinner. They have a huge salad bar!! The service was very good. Great restaurant for a group.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Order the soup and salad bar. It's really good and enough to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Charley's Boat House Grill was just across the street from our room at the Outrigger resort.
We found the salad bar to be the best thing about this restaurant.
Our order of shrimp and scallops were too heavily buttered.
The portions were a little small too.
It was definitely pricy for what you get.
Order the soup and salad bar. It's really good and enough to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Outdated style, only average and you will wait in line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

They do not take reservations for parties of less than 6 so you will have to wait - no bar but you can order drinks. The decor is old. They do have a salad bar but it's pricey with average options if that's all you order. The food was good but nothing was outstanding or special, and they were out of everything the house is known for - mostly meat like prime rib which is weird to be known for beef when your name is Boat House. The table service was pleasant. The view was the bay

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley's Boat House Grill also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Charley's Boat House Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charley's Boat House Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.