We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish taco” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Junkanoo

Junkanoo
3040 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3610
(239) 463-6139
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fish taco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We were walking down the beach and happened upon Junkanoo. Great find, wonderful fish taco and a great place to have lunch and enjoy a beer while enjoying beach life.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    185
    85
    27
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Was really surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were going to go to Pinchers, but beach traffic was awful, so we stopped in here for dinner. The food was amazing! Service was excellent, and prices were very reasonable :) We didn't need reservations and you can dress very casual. You can sit with a beach view, what more could you ask for?

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Loved the location, the view, the service, the food (1 stuffed shrimp platter, 1 grilled grouper platter). Ordered a pizza for take-out a couple nights later--soooo good! Looking forward to returning on our next trip to Fort Myers Beach.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
1 review
“Great fresh Grouper and fantastic service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Great Fresh grouper in both Tacos and snadwiches! Terry was a fantastic server on both our visits! A table on the Deck overlooking the beach is a great spot for a meal!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Grouper rueben, who would have thought?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We just got to our hotel within walking distance of Junkanoo and were in search for drinks and dinner. My husband ordered the fried grouper rueben sandwich with sweet potato fries ($14.99). What a huge piece of fried fish laid on a bed of coleslaw, lettuce, tomato, cheese, and bun, so big he ate it with a knife and fork. I was not as hungry so I order the Tuna Carpaccio on the dinner starter menu (see picture). Overall, it was good and there was plenty but I needed the wasabi and pickled seafood to mask this funky smell and the fact the tuna was a 'luke-warm' temp that felt like they'd sat outside too long. I guess if it was really bad i wouldn't have eaten it and no, I did not get sick later! This is as close to sushi as I will get so maybe it was a texture thing, I just didn't think at was as good as I have had elsewhere. Even early in the evening the place was hopping with a full deck of diners and a bar of drinkers. I would recommend this place if you're looking to be a round a lot of people, a nice view of the water and an afternoon drink.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junkanoo also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Junkanoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junkanoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.