We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now Beacon Beachfront Bed & Breakfast - nice Old Florida motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beacon Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beacon Motel to your Saves list
Beacon Motel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1240 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Now Beacon Beachfront Bed & Breakfast - nice Old Florida motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice "Old Florida" motel. Clearly updating has been done. Room was nice, clean; bathroom could use some attention (same in about every hotel we've ever stayed at). Very friendly and helpful staff. Right on the beach, though there is a restaurant between the motel and the water. Nice sugary sand. Easy walk to several restaurants and beachy shops. Swimming pool is in progress - will have an unobstructed view of the Gulf. One downside was the loud music from the place next door until the wee hours. Fortunately the A/C fan drowned most of that out. Another was the hard, squeaky mattress! We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    17
    10
    13
    14
See reviews for
13
44
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highland Mills, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

On February 18, 2013, my husband and I made reservations at the Beacon Beachfront Bed & Breakfast for June 03 - June 05, 2013 for a cottage suite (see description below) and paid a $128.87 deposit which was non-refundable within 30 days of check-in. We were going to be visiting my parents in the Fort Myers area and decided to splurge for a two-day stay on Fort Myers Beach. We made non-refundable plane reservations for us and our two children ages 3 and 4 to fly to Fort Myers.

On Monday, May 20, Bonnie (the manager) called to tell me that she was canceling our reservation because they had decided to put in a new swimming pool and our room was no longer available because they needed that space. I requested that she find alternative accommodations for us on the beach that would be comparable to the cottage suite including the separate living room and continental breakfast. After frequent phone calls and some pressure, she offered us a plain motel room in their motel not located directly on the gulf. We refused and again requested comparable accommodations. On Saturday, May 25, she informed us that she was canceling our reservation and returning our deposit. One week before check-in and we had no place to stay for those two days.

We feel that when they chose to install a pool on their property at the last minute, that part of the cost of installing that pool should have been to find comparable alterative accommodations for guests with reservations guaranteed with a deposit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were only at this hotel for one night. We booked because we were taking the Key West Express Ferry the next morning. We arrived at 5:30 pm and left the next morning at 7 am so not much time to really get to know the property. The room was nice - queen size bed and a sitting area and a small kitchen. Our room overlooked part of the beach and the hotel is RIGHT on the beach. For the rate - $69 - it was a good deal. Warning to others who may be staying longer - there are no hair dryers or shampoo provided like other hotels. Since we were taking the ferry - I just pulled my hair back and put on a baseball cap so not problem - but if we were staying longer I would not have been happy about that. (But in defense of the hotel - I took when it said they had "dryers" as a hair dryer and I think it meant clothes dryer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I LOVE THIS PLACE!! Bonnie and the staff are so friendly. I’ve stayed there twice already. Planning to go back this summer. The rooms are soooo clean. It is on the beach. If you’re staying in the main Cottage your view is the ocean. If you stay in the other rooms you just walk out your door and a few feet to the ocean. So close. The breakfast in the morning was very nice. Yogurt, cereals, bagels, muffins, fruit, juice, milk and coffee. A few other items too. It does get a noisy from the nearby bars but really I didn’t mind joining the party and it didn’t keep me up. It’s a perfect romantic spot or with family. I day dream about going back all the time. Clean spacious rooms, awesome staff, on the beach, great priced, full kitchen so you can cook, sunset views, a little grill outside that you can cook on. The beds are so comfortable! The AC works great. If you want exclusive then go to Sandals. This isn’t exclusive but it’s perfect. Must check this place out!!! And you don’t have to pay for the whole stay upfront, just one night… no biggie. I’d rather have my vacay paid before I go anyway.

Room Tip: Beach Cottage #11, it's your very own place! Hardwood floors, on the beach. You're not att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room was adequate for an overnight stay, but overpriced. Found an open can of energy drink in the fridge. It was very noisy all night from the band and bar goers next door to a truck's backup beeper making a delivery next door. The breakfast was in a tiny little room with ceilings so low that some men couldn't Stand up straight. The breakfast consisted of awful coffee, yogurt, juice, cellophane wrapped bagels and muffins. We would not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

When I booked our trip, we felt as though the Beacon was a quaint B&B and we would have the "vacation of our dreams" as the website boasts. (We were also required to pay for our stay upfront which was wierd). However, we were greeted with thousands of noisy, college Spring Breakers, a tiny room, & an uncomfortable bed with headboard that slammed against the wall every time I rolled over. There were no curtains on the windows, therefore the porch lights made the room look like daylight at night. The noise leval was sooo loud, we checked out at midnight. When I spoke with the manager, she offered us a free night stay at another time. However, I will NEVER stay at this hotel again! We were not offered any other compensation for our stay. I warn any traveler against this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at beginning of Feb' 13. Found the location to be really good, did not experience any of the noise issues from the nearby bar. The room was really nice and very clean. Breakfast was lovely. Bonny was very helpful letting us use her phone to report that our hire car had been bumped into at a supermarket. All in all a very pleasant stay. We will definitely stay there again next time we visit Fort Myers Beach. Recommended!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Beacon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Motel

Address: 1240 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beacon Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Beacon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Motel Fort Myers Beach
Beacon Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beacon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.