We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place on the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matanzas Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Matanzas Inn to your Saves list
Matanzas Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   414 Crescent St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place on the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

As a couple, we have greatly enjoyed our stays at Matanzas Inn over the past four years. Great accomodations and location for the price. Beautiful views of the inner bay, wonderful restaurant, and good fun at the Upper Deck! The entire staff is always friendly and helpful. Plan to return soon! ....Ducky

Room Tip: The Villa rooms with balconies provide awesome views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, CT
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This time went with family and stayed in the "motel rooms" facing the road. Everything was terrific. The pool was fantastic, very clean, perfect temperature and ideal steps for my father to walk into the pool.
Close to everything.
The staff especially Patti and Miriam were terrific. Miriam even lent us her personal beach chair! Penny was very pleasant as well.
We ate at the Matanzas Inn every night.....great views!!!!
BED WAS VERY COMFORTABLE. Towels were great.
Reasonable and a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We went off season so it was very quiet.....Saturday was busy but otherwise quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed at Matanzas for 13 nights in May was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from my waterside motel room to a large villa with a patio overlooking the canal and bay. Personally I couldn't fault it, the room was cleaned every day the sheets changed often and all the staff very friendly and helpful all of which helped me have a really enjoyable stay in F.M.B.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We've stayed here several times. In the past, not always first choice, however, in February, it was, two visits within just a few days. The first, in a motel room, then, in what they call a villa, a larger room with a balcony. The staff is always friendly, both in person and on the phone. The motel room has two queen beds, very comfy. There was a mini-fridge, seemingly very old, but, clean. The hardwood floors appeared to have been new. The bathroom is small, old, with peeling paint that could have been easily touched up. The bathtub fixtures need to be replaced. There is a pleasant view of the canal out back.
The villa, a second floor corner room is larger, sofa bed and a queen bed. There is a full, updated kitchen. Again, the bathroom needs work, but better. The balcony is a nice feature, overlooking the water and the adjoining restaurant and upstairs bar, which we were mildly concerned about the noise issue, but, pleasantly non-existent.
The pool is nice, clean, relaxing. I've never seen many children, if any, on the property. More for adults, I believe.
Matanzas Inn is very close to the beach without the beach prices and traffic. I hope renovations will continue. Nothing fancy, just update/replace what is needed!
Two things, hairdryers not in rooms, but just ask at the desk. Second, my photos are tagged as either the motel room or the villa.

Room Tip: The villa is nicer, not too much more expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janesville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate an amazing meal there and the setting outside with the water view was so lovely at night! Our waitress was named Crystal and she recommended the salmon that was wonderful as was my coconut shrimp. We didn't stay at the resort so our experience was solely based on our dinner but we'd definitely would go again. Such a serene setting especially outside!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The location was great, the room appeared to be clean at first glance, but once you took off your shoes the floor was absolutely filthy. The walls had water stains and all the pictures were crooked, now, that might not mean much, but for the price we paid it should have been much better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overall this is not a four star hotel but does have the charm of an old inn one would see back in New England. The view from the second floor balcony was great and the room was a bit outdated but to be honest I didn't leave the cold & snow to hang out in a room all day. The staff was friendly and even let me know they were planning on doing some renovation work on the room. Also, we ate one night at the restaurant and got the cod fish sandwich. It was the biggest piece of fish that I have ever seen on a sandwich. Again, its not a five star resort but it is warm and friendly with good music/food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matanzas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matanzas Inn

Address: 414 Crescent St, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Matanzas Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Matanzas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matanzas Hotel Fort Myers Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matanzas Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.