We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Deck Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sun Deck Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1051 Third Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at Sun Deck Inn in early January. It is a cute and colourful hotel, very close to the restaurants and the beach. We stayed in the New Bedford. It is a very small room, but cosy and clean. Perfect for a short stay, however would feel quite tight for a longer stay. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. You can find lot's of shops and cafes right around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
45
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We enjoyed the enthusiasm of the owners and the funkiness of our room. So close to everything .We were happy to have found it . A block to wonderful Ft Myers beach and restaurants and fun with live music and karaoke.T&M Canada

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have stayed with Rick and Rae on vacation the past two years. You can not find a better place on Ft Myers beach! The place is close to everything and just off the beach. The owners (Rick and Rae) made us feel right at home. The atmosphere is very friendly and enjoyable. We are staying with them again in February 2014. This will be the third annual with many more to come. I recommend the Sundeck Inn to anyone who vacations on Ft Myers Beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We could not have picked a better place for a reunion with my high school friend's family than the Sundeck Inn, both from comfort point of view, and price. We stayed at the large Hyannis Suite in August 2013, and with two bathrooms, and very comfortable beds, it accommodated us nicely. No set time to have to get up, beautiful decks on many sides to chill out in the early morning and evening, and during hot summer days, just 5 minutes to the gorgeous Ft. Myers Beach. Hosts are extremely knowledgeable about Ft. Myers Beach and recommended a wonderful local seafood restaurant within walking distance, and also many local attractions. The kitchen is well equipped and being able to also prepare home cooked meals on vacation was a real money saver. We are definitely going to be staying there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This past weekend was our anniversary and we had the best time! We were looking for something low-key at the beach, not too far away or expensive, but mostly we were looking for fun all the way around. The owners, Rick and Rae, were phenomenal- friendly and laid back, just like we wanted our little celebration-away to be. This place has so much character! I loved all the themed decor- you know it's time for sea, sand, and ☼ sun ☼. They suggested the best places to grab great food and drinks, when the good times to go to the beach were, and generally how to get around town. No one is a stranger here- even the rest of the guests were all hanging out a bit. We stayed in the Bostonian. Has kitchenette and enough space to spread out. The beds are so comfortable and nice flat-screen TV. Also very impressed how well they keep all the sand out of the rooms! I'll agree with Susan's post- definitely a little bit of Key West- just not as far away :) Great place, great hosts, great times!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bostonian. Has kitchenette and enough space to spread out. The beds are so comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I would not take "Never Again's " response to heart. Unless your looking for the Taj Mahal at $50 a nite! Than you would have the same response! There was 3 other parties with Never Again staying in the 3 different rooms who all enjoyed the stay at the Sundeck. Yes, it is an older hotel but the price and rooms are perfect for the rest of us.. The owner's aren't wearing tuxedos but they are the friendliest and right there for whatever your needs are! And yes the owner was wearing a bikini as she was on her way" to the beach" that day!
I have stayed at the Sundeck for 3 years and will be staying there again this fall.
If it took Never Again a year to write that review??? How horrified could it have been??

So if your looking for a reasonable priced place to stay which is comfortable and a block to everything, I suggest the Sundeck. If your looking or the Taj Mahal?? Keep looking, there has to be a few at $300 or more a nite!!

Room Tip: For us older people the lower rooms are very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here September 2011. I was horrified. Our room had a full size oven which was filthy!. Stains on the furniture and mold in the bathroom. Not to mention the shower head was shorter than my husband. There is NOTHING modern up updated about this property. Also, very little privacy! Owner ran around the property in her bikini gathering towels and bathmats from rooms to be washed in the laundry room which was right across from our room. Her husband spent the day also running around shirtless. This was not the image a property owner should portray. There were no other employees on the property

Only hotel in Florida without a pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Deck Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Inn & Suites

Address: 1051 Third Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Deck Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West style property just steps from the ocean, bars and restaurants. Owners live on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sun Deck Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Deck Inn And Suites
Sun Deck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Sun Deck Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Deck Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.