We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yikes.... Just used the bed to sleep in and that was all!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Deck Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sun Deck Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Deck Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1051 Third Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yikes.... Just used the bed to sleep in and that was all!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

For the price on a last minute booking i couldn't argue. Not the cleanest nor closest to the beach but it got the job done. Had to call office when we arrived to get to our room. Son of owner apparently was hiding in the back and came to greet us. Opened the door to the room and said here ya go! Never saw any staff or anything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    5
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
45
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The location of the inn is great as it is within walking distance to the beach, bars, and restaurants. The inn itself is filthy. There was dust hanging off the ceiling fan, mold in the bathroom, broken tiles, a coffee maker that still had grounds in it from the previous guest (it was broken anyway, with no filters, no coffee, no cups), and an incredibly loud a/c unit. Although they advertise free wifi, we had to use a nearby inn's signal or walk to McDonalds. They advertise having all the amenities needed for the beach, which are available...but broken. The chairs that aren't broken are few and far between...the owners let us borrow a beach umbrella that didn't open because the wind turned it inside out by the previous user. The balcony is not private...other guests had to walk by our room to get to theirs. Spring breakers made noise until 4am with no repercussions by the owners. Overall, a very poor experience...I would not stay here ever again, even with the proximity to the beach and low cost.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This review is overdue but my friend and I have stayed here two years and a row and really like it! Its close to everything, reasonably priced, clean, owners are friendly and next to SOB's (Smokin Oyster Bar)!! We will be back again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is a bit overdue, but I have to to write it. I stayed here in October 2012, and I have no idea why anyone would stay anywhere else. Seriously. The owners Rick and Rae graciously let me check in early since my flight landed around 11:30. It was a huge relief not to have to kill 3.5 hours before normal check in. I was literally laying on the beach at 12:30! Anyways...I believe I stayed in the smallest room, and it was more than enough for me. A nice comfy bed, a tv, microwave, lots of dresser space, and a spacious bathroom. The hotel itself is definitely quirky, with lots of steps and balconies/decks. I spent many a afternoon lounging on a chaise reading. The location is perfect! I may be in the minority, but I don't particularly like staying ON the beach. The beach, shopping, and restaurants were all within a 5 minute walk. There's even 2 places to eat a half a block a way. It was great to spend the day at the beach and come back to the Sun Deck for some peace and quiet. It literally felt like I was coming " home", because it didn't have the stuffy hotel feel to it. You definitely don't need a car to stay here since the trolley runs the whole length of the island, and each trip is only $0.50. I don't really understand why more people don't utilize it! I took the trolley to the grocery store, Lover's Key (incredible, btw), and my favorite breakfast spot Heavenly Biscuit. If you're looking for some fancy schmancy stay, this is not the place for you. However, if you're like me and just want a low-key, bum-around-the-beach vacation for a week, this is definitely the place to stay. I didn't want to leave, even though I was headed to Key West from there. Thanks Rick and Rae, for being so hospitable and accommodating. I won't even bother looking at other places for my next visit, because everything I need is right at the Sun Deck.

Room Tip: If you're traveling solo, I highly recommend the New Bedford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

As title indicates, we've been here before. I also wrote a review of our prior stay, so I will keep this brief. You definitely get what you pay for...in a good way, for the most part.

Only "major" complaint, the reason for not 5 stars, is the large suite (hyannis-?) we were in really gave more space/opportunity to experience the 'rough edges' of the place. The furniture really could use a deep clean or replacement. Also, it appeared as though water/rain got into the far room of the suite....curtains need to be washed/replaced and the remaining water line/ring scrubbed from the floor.

Just as with the room from our previous stay, there are quite a bit of other "quirky"/ beachy elements of the room we had no problem chalking up as 'charm' at a good value beach accommodation, but I didn't want to sit on the couches (even after having one too many at dinner).

All in all, we will definitely be back. The value and location cannot be beat!!!

Just be forewarned and take heed in terms of what you consider an acceptable level of beachy-ness!

Room Tip: They are all different, but assume a certain level of 'beachy-ness' for all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed it. It's close to everything and the owners are nice. We were upgraded to the suite, which was more than enough room for us. The bed was comfortable, there was a lot of space. The spiral staircase was neat, although it is a little difficult to carry anything upstairs and sometimes you felt you were going to fall off of it. The room wasn't dirty but it could use a good cleaning of the walls and shelves. We loved the roof deck and the close approximity to the beach and dining. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearwater,fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here.This is a great location to the beach and everything. Once you park you never need to drive. Walk to beach,eat and shop. This place is a fun Key West style and is very dog friendly.The rates are great and the rooms are always clean. Rick and Rae, the owners, are always friendly and welcoming. We can't wait for our next trip there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Deck Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Deck Inn & Suites

Address: 1051 Third Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Deck Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West style property just steps from the ocean, bars and restaurants. Owners live on-site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sun Deck Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Deck Inn And Suites
Sun Deck Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Sun Deck Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Deck Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.