We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't even visit” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Weimar, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't even visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well I was looking another place to stay for my next trip, so I went to visit my friend that was staying here. Yuk...you walk in the elevator and only pray it opens, and even in the darkened walk ways it's filthy. I walked in the room on the 3rd floor and it stunk like old musty creepy smell. The sliding glass door was hard to keep on track and to open. And my friends complained about the band being so loud that they didn't get any sleep. Even if your looking for a place to party stay somewhere else and go to the beach there so at least your not staying in this grimey place. Listen to the reviews from who stayed here. I agree with them but was just visiting my friends place, and will never stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    117
    75
    74
    235
See reviews for
115
190
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed from July 5th-12 th.Had no problems,room 304 was fine,pool was clean,food great,beach clean.we have stayed at Pink Shell very expensive ,Holiday Inn down the road on the beach it was ok but small.There were four adults in the room at the Lani Kai ,excellent view of ocean ,staff was fine,cleaning people always busy cleaning .my wife and I are in our late 50s and son & daughter 28 & 30. They were fine with this place .Walking distance to everything you need to see and do.So if you got an extra $800.00 stay at the Pink Shell that's one week stay,airfare,car rental .we saved that much by booking at Travelocity and used the extra cash for food,parasailing,drinks,and brought home money.Thanks for everything Lani Kai We will be back someday.Gary

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel looked ok online. The Hotel was dirty, the elevator is old and slow as molasses and feels like its gonna snap any minute. The staff was straight-up rude. Twice I had to argue to get my correct change back. People seem to be so desperate to get over on you! The food, expensive and bad. Then, they have too many oppressive rules and regs. First, you cannot take coolers, cups or drinks to the beach. They want to make sure either you buy overpriced drinks from them or you die of thirst. Then, you are not allowed to set your beach spot close to the beach, or they give you an umbrella and charge you for it. The noise in the room from the club downstairs was deafening. The only good thing about the room was the balcony facing the beach, other then that I Would't come to this hell hole if you paid me to again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We picked the Lani Kai Resort because of the value, The atmosphere at the resort is definitely geared toward a younger crowd, Our Room was on the 4th floor under the upstairs restaurant and Bar, the Music played till at Least 11pm shaking our room, and the downstairs bar was open till at least 2 am also with a band, the air conditioning in our room ran continuously and never got below 79 degrees. The Restaurant and beach were both nice and the food was good . We had small children with us and they had a hard time sleeping with all the noise as did we. The rooms are aged and need of updating. Bottom line would we stay here again, NO.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

For the first time ever in my travels, I had to ask for a refund (which was graciously honored) and make other arrangements for my family:( The location was great. The staff was friendly. The rooms were large and the views were oceanfront. But I truly wonder how this place can pass any inspections. The elevators were scary (and ended up not working at all). We took the stairs...the stairs on the north end were absolutely DISGUSTING!! The stench from all the garbage and stagnant water below was nauseating. If you are young and not necessarily well traveled, this place may be okay for you. But if you have stayed in nice resorts, this will completely disappoint you!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was disgusting. It's apparent there is no up keep in this place. 1) Mold in the curtains 2) Mold in the ceiling popcorn 3) Rust in sink 4) Grim on the tiles 5) Peeling paint on the walls 6) Missing water faucet knob in the bathroom 7) Peeling paint on the furniture 8) Peeling paint in the tub 9) Walls in the bathroom are bulging out. 10) Area around the toilet is disgusting 11) Crack in the tub 12) Curtains are so old they are torn from wear 13) Broken smoke detector that was so old it's yellowed. 14) Bed was hard and uncomfortable 15) Cracked tiles in the room 16) Place was too noisy. This has been the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Rooms haven't been updated in 30+ years. The place should be condemned. They should not be allowed to call themselves a Resort.

Room Tip: Stay away choose a different place. The rooms were filthy. This place should not be allowed to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel

Address: 1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Kai Island Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lani Kai Island Motel
Lanai Kai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.