We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for music and dining!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place for music and dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Directly on the beach at fort myers is the Lani Kai! I lived here for many years and only last weekend went here to see a band play, and boy what have I been missing!!! The room was across the street, and had very loud window air conditioners. This was the only drawback to my stay, and I could have upgraded to a better room but chose not to. The place is really cool with a diversity of people, the food was excelent, and they were nice people who work there. The bar was very cool, open to the sea breeze, and a classic rock covers band made the night perfect! Priced just right for my little staycation! I will go back, but next time i will stay oceanside!!! Thanks for a great weekend Lani Kai!

Room Tip: Do not recommend the rooms across the street on the bay side unless money is tight. The room was fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    102
    65
    65
    226
See reviews for
106
172
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

this stay was a gift from family, but the entire hotel needs renovation. bathroom needs improved facilities. needs better cleanliness.
the food was cheap & okay (not great)
we liked the fact that we were right on the water, all rooms have a beach view. but we will not be back

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This was not a so bad hotel, it is very old! It needs a remodeling URGENT! I liked the view from the balcony, the rooms were clean, I didn't like the policy that states: "no coolers" it is incredible that you can not take your cooler with you specially when you have kids...the music constantly playing I didn't like either, and it was the same everyday, and also there were too many boats there like in top of everybody, they should have a limit...in conclution I won't recomend it to anybody :(

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

look this hotel is NOT FOR FAMILIES.i stayed here with my husband and daughter.live music keeps you awake all night,there was someone knocking on the door at 3:00 AM.the manager was very friendly.the second night we had to move with our luggage across the street because someone else "booked the room".then the third night we had to move AGAIN to the old room.much more other reasons to not stay in this hotel but if i put all the reasons my computer would get outta charge and my arm would fall off.WARNNG:DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL the only good thing was the 8. 95 buffet.

Room Tip: any hotel but lani kai
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

we live local and decided to visit the beach and have a drink ... the number of "spring breakers' that stay here is insane.. of course it is cheap to stay..if youd dare..ughh... their rumrunner w a floater is 9 dollars out of a frozen machine..sometimes its 8 dollars..once they tried to charge me 10.. the cup is the size of a childs drink at mc donalds.. absurd.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Bar is terrible:
Example: Wife orders "dirty martini" at beach bar. Bartender agrees and says he can make one. She tastes the "dirty" martini and asks for more olive juice. Bartender tells wife "We don't have olive juice" ... WOW ... YOU CAN'T MAKE A DIRTY MARTINI WITHOUT OLIVE JUICE. He responds with "we don't normally get a lot of people that ask for martinis down here." Well then don't tell her that you can't make a dirty martini before asking her to pay for it. The bloody marys and shots were poured sloppily. Beer is only served in cans. Frozen drinks are premade in machines with very little alcohol. Mixed drink cups are small and overpriced. The crowd there is disgusting and creepy
The rooms are terrible:
Dirty, dirty dirty. The bathroom windows are painted over instead of covered properly. The "paint" in the tubs is chipping. The floors are sticky. The "chairs" and "couches" are plastic. The bed is hard. The room smelled like weed.
The infrastructure is terrible:
Riding in or waiting for the elevator will cause you to stand in the air from the AC registers being blown on you at about 110 degrees. The bathrooms that are public usage when you are hanging out downstairs make you gag when you enter. The "murals" on the walls look like cheap graffiti
The people are terrible:
The only nice people in this building work behind the front desk on the 1st floor. Everywhere else in the building people are actually offended when you engage with them. Every single staff member I interacted with acted like serving a drink, checking id, affixing a wristband, etc. was a burden that I had placed on them and I was wasting their time. There was only one exception to this rule, there was a really nice lady at the outside beach bar named Val that remembered our name after 3 hours away from the bar.

Go here if you have no standards whatsoever for
Drink quality, service experience, cleanliness, quality of people and place, or money spent on where you lay your head.

The location is great, a new owner, preferrably a professional hotel chain needs to buy the land when this place goes under, demolish it and rebuild.

Room Tip: Get on tripadvisor, and find a different hotel, TRUST ME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Don't pass go - turn your car around and just stay anywhere but here. The beach chair would have been a better option.

Dirty and had seen better days.

We booked the room for two days - attempted to stay for the first night just could not do it left at 12:00 in the morning.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel

Address: 1400 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lani Kai Island Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lani Kai Island Motel
Lanai Kai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lani Kai Island Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.