We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel
Save
You added Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   2870 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
mck
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great relaxing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is one nice motel just a hop, skip and jump to the beach. Very clean and the landscaping is beautiful and relaxing. We stayed in room 13 which was a tiny studio size room. Just enough room to relax, but not too big that you spent alot of your time in the room. The owner, Glenn was just a peach! The only thing i must complain about is the bed. it was uncomfortable and noisy. All and all I would stay here again if I happen to visit fort myers beach.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 13 which was right off the main road and it wasnt' bad. i expected noise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you like Jimmy Buffett and the idea of nice beachy decor and a laid back atmosphere, you will love this little hotel located at Sandy Beach!! Each room is slightly different accommodating your every need with refrigerator, microwave, and stove top. The hotel managers and extremely nice and helpful ! The hotel features a very cool tiki bar and lovely beach decor. The beautiful powder white sandy beach is just a few short walk away.If you like adventure bring the bikes and explore the small island and find out why we come back every year!

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I called to inquire about staying here. I asked about an efficiency style room and was quoted very specifically for a room with a kitchen and either a queen bed or two full beds + a sleeper couch. I explained exactly who was going to stay in the room and why I preferred the two full beds.I called back the next day and was quoted the same rate of $80/night. When I called back later that night to reserve the room I gave my credit card number and the rate magically went from $80/night + tax for two nights = a total of $260? I asked how the total got to $260 and was told it was $100/night + $10/night for each of my two children (1 and 3) + tax. It was explained at this time that the rate was $100/night unless booking 3+ nights then it was $70 each night. This same person never mentioned any rate other than $80 and never an extra charge for my children. Had I initially been quoted the rates, it would not have been a problem. I reserved a room down the road for more and was completely fine with doing this business and spending a little more with a honest business owner. Shame.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft.Myers Beach,FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

8 Units, small and large. Grounds and Rooms are kept clean. New Tiki Bar. Very cute. Same Owners acquired another Motel so look for good things there too.
www.hideawayfmb.com

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The service was excellent as the family who look after the motel, could not have been more helpful. The rooms are spacious and clean and with the bonus of a kitchen. The location is ideal, with the beach just 5 minutes walk away, and many shops and restaurants within a few minutes drive. The swimming pool is a reasonable size. What we liked best was the private balcony we only booked for 1 night and stayed 7. The place although kept spotlessly tidy and clean, it could do with some refurbishment, however it is excellent value for money. We will be back to stay again and heartily recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I booked this place through Expedia, never again! This has to rank as one of the worst stays ever, and was not cheap. You open the door and almost trip over the bed, the stove is rusted through, the carpet is funky, the room has an odor, the shower stall is so small I dropped the soap and had to step outside to pick it up. There is a notice posted in the room regarding their rules, you do everything yourself, take out the trash, make your beds, if the room needs vacuuming you go to the office and request it, the list goes on and on. There is an Asian (Indians) family that runs it who do not seem too concerned for anyones comfort or pleasure, the feeling I got was that they were doing you a favor by allowing you to stay there. I unfortunately booked this place in a hurry for the holiday weekend and did not look at the reviews, if I had I would not have been there. There were so many nicer and cheaper places available in that area I found out later. I hate to be so negative but I would not want anyone else going through this.

Room Tip: Read all reviews first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

really quiet place, excellent price, you need to do everything by yourself, no housekeeping but they let you know everything at the time so its no a surprise for nothing, i will back soon this spring again a lovely island in this season.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel

Address: 2870 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hideaway Sandy Beach. Located on the beach side of Estero Blvd., just two miles north of our other buildings. The Sandy Beach offers bohemian decor and also has an on site Tiki Hut. With the beach only steps away, it’s perfect for those who want to be right on the water. All rooms have kitchens. The Sandy Beach is conveniently located close to stores, restaurants and shops. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hideaway Sandy Beach Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.