We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hors d'ouvres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Catch Bistro

Fresh Catch Bistro
3040 Estero Beach Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
+1 239-463-2600
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Lee Tran beach trolley stops directly in front of the restaurant
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hors d'ouvres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent view, excellent service...Tom, the waiter and Jerry, the maitre'd were beyond reproach, excellent choices, excellent presentations and quality of the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    161
    54
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Delaware
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Why Is Fresh Catch Bistro Rated #1?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Before you read on, thinking I am about to tear down this restaurant, let me say, quite the contrary. Fresh Catch Bistro is rated #1 for several good reasons. First, it is perfectly located on Ft. Myers Beach, with great indoor and outdoor seating. (We chose outdoors on a pleasant early Winter night.) Second, Jerry, the host, a Bronx native, is a hoot, gracious and attentive, working very hard to make sure your dining experience is a good one, and his trivia quiz is fun. (You might come away with something free...) And, the food, particularly the fish, is fresh, perfectly prepared (several varieties of fish and multiple ways to have it prepared, i.e., broiled, blackened, etc.) and nicely presented. Beautiful desserts, such as an amaretto almond cake, or a molten chocolate cake, will definitely tempt you. There is also an ample wine list. Service is excellent, and diners will not feel rushed. Fresh Catch is a little more expensive than most of the restaurants on the beach, but is worth it. Go and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Creative cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The chef does an excellent job fusing and layering the flavors of every dish. I ordered the pecan and cranberry crusted grouper. A healthy portion with delicious flavor. The cocktails were fresh and well made. All desserts are house-made so even though we were stuffed, we devoured the key lime pie. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was very nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High Quality All the Way Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

An elegant setting with an interesting menu and knowledgeable staff. Garrett strongly recommended the grouper with a pecan and cranberry glaze, and it was superb. Well worth the money ($89 dollars for two, plus tip).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Find in Fort Myers Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We ate here over Thanksgiving weekend with one senior, four 50+ers, and one 17 year old. Everyone left happy! Our server was attentive and knowledgeable without being obtrusive. The manager Jerry came over and helped with our wine selection and did a great job. When one of our party debated ordering the Kobe ribeye, the kitchen sent out a small sample to help him decide. We ordered the gamut, from appetizers to desserts and were pleased with everything. Particularly liked the Maine lobster martini and the ability to pick our favorite seafood and then select the preparation (try the scallops with a pan asian sauce.)
If I had to say a negative (and this is an issue with almost every restaurant I go to), it's that if fresh tomatoes are not perfectly ripe and delicious, don't offer the obligatory tomato and fresh mozzarella salad. A tomato that crunches or is mealy ruins the whole dish.
Fabulous location right on the gulf. Happy that my mother-in-law moved to Fort Myers so now we have an excuse to come back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Catch Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fresh Catch Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Catch Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.