We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Grouper!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fresh Catch Bistro

Fresh Catch Bistro
3040 Estero Beach Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
+1 239-463-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Lee Tran beach trolley stops directly in front of the restaurant
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Grouper!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My Mom and I dined at Fresh Catch Bistro and we both had the Grouper. I had the spiced pecan cranberry crusted Grouper and my Mom had the Grouper Caprese. Mine was served over Jasmine Rice and my Mom's was served over risotto. Our meal was fabulous!! Very large portions. Service was excellent. A little pricey, but definitely well worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    182
    65
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Top drawer cuisine with the best possible view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Fort Myers Beach has been longing for a place like this. Located directly on the Gulf, Fresh Catch Bistro replaces a tired Italian restaurant (Anthony's) and brings excitement with superior service and stunningly fresh seafood. The beach and sunset views are magnificent, and outdoor seating is available. Top shelf liquor and generous pours make cocktails an attractive option, although our martinis were not thoroughly chilled. A raw bar gives seafood addicts an experience that is oddly quite rare on Fort Myers Beach. Featured are delightful raw oysters from Louisiana, clams and steamed shrimp, hot or cold. An oyster sashimi appetizer was one of the most attractive presentations of oysters that I've ever seen. Diced raw ahi tuna, chives, cucumber and a citrus sauce turned six raw oysters into a drop-dead gorgeous appetizer. The shucker left a fair amount of shell on the oysters, so guard your dentures. New England clam chowder was rich and flavorful. Prime rib was an excellent option to seafood on this menu and when rare was requested, it was delivered. Overall, an excellent value for the quality of food and service. With a few minor reservations, this is probably the best that Fort Myers Beach has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunset/Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sat outside for sunset - absolutely perfect. From the front door staff to the wait staff - everyone here was helpful and knowledgeable. We enjoyed the appetizers and great bread. Our entrees were tasty and the presentation was wonderful. Dessert was also delicious! Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We ate their twice, and those meals were right up there with the best dining I've experienced anywhere. Everything about it was great -- the sunset view, the atmosphere, the waiters, and especially the food. The pecan-encrusted grouper is really fantastic, and their key lime pie is excellent as well. It's an attractive atmosphere but not stuffy, the kind of place where you can be casual but have a fine-dining experience. It was a very good value. Our waiter Larry really made the meal special, one of those rare professionals who's friendly, funny, gives good suggestions, helpful but not intrusive, like an attentive host.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I went here for a family birthday dinner, party of seven adults. We were warmly greeted at the door. Our table indoors was ready early. It was a cool January night, but on another visit eating outside with beach and gulf views would be a great option. Service was very good. We all enjoyed our food including appetizers and dessert. Very highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Catch Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Fresh Catch Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fresh Catch Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.