We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome could make our first stop not the last.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's Last Stop: An American Grill - CLOSED

Chuck's Last Stop: An American Grill
2301 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
239.233.8400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Chuck's Last Stop: An American Grill is a fine dining restaurant a block off the Fort Myers Beach. We offer excellent food along with a relaxing atmosphere. Our motto is: We take food seriously, but not much else! Enjoy the beach and then come in and enjoy a meal.
The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A warm welcome could make our first stop not the last.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Simple but fairly cosy bar/restaurant with live music (on a Thursday). Waitress came across as hurried and could have shown more interest in het guests.
Food is tasty and different compared to other American diner type restaurants.
Not bad but with more attention to customer service could be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    66
    19
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury-on-Thames, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food in a friendly and individual setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a fairly new place and was quiet when we visited - a Sunday evening a little out of season. We came here last year and our experience both times was consistent. There is a definite sense that this is run by someone who genuinely cares about his food and his customers. The steak I had was excellent and my wife's snapper was very well prepared. The mistake we made was having 2 starters which were great but didn't leave us the appetite to do full justice to the main courses. The volcano rolls are absolutely delicious and I have not had anything similar elsewhere. I think on a busier night this place would really buzz but we enjoyed our meals and the chance to chat to locals. Try it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Volcano wraps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Small kitchen, bar atmosphere, excellent food. One of those places you hear about where the chef just wants to do great food and doesn't need an ego boosting 300 plate dinning area to ruin his life.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Odd little place, with good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Chuck's Last Stop was right across the street from our hotel and the easiest choice for us after arriving in Ft. Myers at 7:30 on our first night. The atmostphere is a little odd with a bar, live music, an open kitchen window and a couple of poker tables in the room next to the dining room. The food options were odd as well, but in a good way. I ordered the Five Pepper Chicken Pasta. A fried chicken breast was served over a huge portion of angel hair pasta tossed in a spicy butter sauce and a variety of peppers, including pepperocini peppers. The flavor of the pasta and peppers was great but the chicken had rubbery spots indicating it may have been microwaved. My friends enjoyed their dishes as well.

The service was extremely friendly and effecient. Chuck stopped by personally and we chatted about for a few minutes. Prices were fair given the portion sizes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Open arms to late arrival!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived fairly late on a Friday night but the server was very receptive and informed us that they would stay open as long as we needed. Usually late service means poor service but on the contrary we received excellent service and an excellent meal. There was live entertainment who also specialized in a comedy act, with us specifically it seemed. For appetizers we order the smoked fish dip, ribs and sushi rolls (Pictured) and although spicy very flavorful. For the main course we ordered the catch of the day, snapper, which was broiled to perfection and several burgers. All in all we were very pleased and will recommend and return again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Last Stop: An American Grill also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's Last Stop: An American Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.