We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The great suprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heidi's Island Bistro

Heidi's Island Bistro
2943 Estero Blvd, Unit 4 & 5, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
+1 239-765-8844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: After over 30 years of experience in the restaurant business in Europe and Canada, we have made our dream come true and opened July 2012 our restaurant Heidi's Island Bistro in Florida, Fort Myers Beach. We want you to feel comfortable & that you enjoy our great German and local dishes under the Sun in Florida. Heidi's serving Breakfast from 7 am - 11:30 am, Lunch from 11:30 am - 4 pm & Dinner from 4 pm - 9 pm. In our small attached bakery you will find some nice selections of sweets, Bread, German Rolls and Cakes & of course the famous Black Forest Cake. The team of Heidi's Island Bistro will do their best so that you have an unforgettable dining experience.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The great suprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When you arrive to the restaurant, it appears as a hole in the wall. However, inside is very nice but nothing fancy. However, the food is delicious and the value is amazing. I stopped one morning for breakfast and had the eggs benedict. It was probably the best eggs benedict I have ever had. In addition, I got home fries which were also very tasty.

The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and is mainly known for their Germain food. I was told on Sundays they have a all you can eat buffet which all of the German favorite foods are available. We were not in town long enough to try it but heard from others its awesome.

Stop by and try this gem. I think you will agree it is very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    106
    40
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Die Heimat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Excellent food and service made me feel like I was at home in Frankfurt. I highly recommend the Sauerbraten and red cabbage (rot kraut).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Food was great. Service was great. If you are in the mood for German food or just something to make your taste buds really happy. This is the place

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not the best, most efficient service, but the food was delish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The service was not bad, but it was veerryyy slow. It took a long time to get our drinks and food.for a couple's dinner, I wouldnt have minded the slow paced evening. However, we had 3 exhausted and hungry children with us which made minutes waiting seem like hours and even the adults were getting a little antsy waiting so long for our drinks and food. BUT when the food came, it was sooo worth it! The lobster bisque was homemade and exceptional. The garlic shrimp with rice is the best I've ever had-absolutely mouth watering. My husband's steak was cooked well and was tender. The garlic butter for his baked potatoe was very good as well. My son got the boneles wings-which were literally that, wings with the bones taken out- tossed in teriyaki sauce. They were tender and flavorful. Unfortunately, we were not aware that this was a mainly German cuisine restaurant when we visited, so the others at the table had chicken ceasar salads- which were good. They may have had the grilled chicken dinner, but felt it was very over priced at just under 20$. I felt the menu for more American geared food was very slim, however, as I said, we were unaware that we were going to a German restaurant. We went there because it was rated #1 in fort myers. Overall, I would say this is a great restaurant, but would not highly recommend it for a family coming in to eat after a day at the beach. This setting and menu is more for a couple looking for a slow paced, quiet dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, avg. service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Like other reviews the food is great. Waitress/hostess was the only person in the front. She was nice enough but just not very warm. We were there for dinner. Potato pancakes, sausage plate, schnitzel, sauerbraten, red cabbage (nice clove? flavor), German potato salad (unique mustard base for me) all were great. Great break from the seafood heavy restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidi's Island Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Heidi's Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's Island Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.