We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow. Such great quality in an unassuming place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heidi's Island Bistro

Heidi's Island Bistro
2943 Estero Blvd, Unit 4 & 5, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3552
+1 239-765-8844
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: After over 30 years of experience in the restaurant business in Europe and Canada, we have made our dream come true and opened July 2012 our restaurant Heidi's Island Bistro in Florida, Fort Myers Beach. We want you to feel comfortable & that you enjoy our great German and local dishes under the Sun in Florida. Heidi's serving Breakfast from 7 am - 11:30 am, Lunch from 11:30 am - 4 pm & Dinner from 4 pm - 9 pm. In our small attached bakery you will find some nice selections of sweets, Bread, German Rolls and Cakes & of course the famous Black Forest Cake. The team of Heidi's Island Bistro will do their best so that you have an unforgettable dining experience.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow. Such great quality in an unassuming place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A true German restaurant . Delicious food , great service, friendly people. Can't wait to go back! Jaegerschnizel , red cabbage, and noodles were fantastic

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    80
    32
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We went for the first time during the week of July 4th. Food was very good, service was good, and the dinning room was nicely decorated and clean. We visit the area every year and we will go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome Authentic German Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Jagerschnitzel and spaezel was absolutely decisious just like mom made. The nambeber bratwurst and spaetzel was awesome.. high recommend
Dusty and Mony

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labadie, Missouri
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best German food this side of the Atlantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Heidi's, located in an unassuming strip mall, has fabulous German food. (A German friend agreed it was wonderful.)
The potato pancakes were crepe thin- crispy on the outside & tender inside. The Sauerbraten was fork tender & expertly flavored. (My husband said it was better than any he'd ever had in Germany.). My Schnitzel stuffed with cheese was very good. (Only disappointment of the evening was that the cheese was very salty.). The Schnitzel itself was wonderful, as were the side dishes (especially the potato dumpling- not the heavy "softball" often served in German restaurants). I wished I'd not pigged out & finished my dinner- the apple strudel looked fabulous. Maybe I'll stop by & pick up a piece to go tomorrow.
Service was exemplary. Donna was friendly & efficient. She was willing to explain any unfamiliar items on the menu & went out of her way to make our evening as pleasant & fun as possible.
The chef came out to make sure we were satisfied with our food (&, thankfully, turn the air conditioning down a little). He was also friendly & very concerned to know if we'd enjoyed his cooking.
I will definitely return to Heidi's- maybe even in the next day or two so I can try the strudel!!
(They also serve breakfast & lunch, as well as a buffet once a month- the first Saturday each month I think, but call to be certain.).
Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a hidden gem!! They have Potato Pancakes that are to die for! They had a few vegetarian dishes. A great menu. The waitress wasn't very out going. Otherwise, it was a great meal experience. We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heidi's Island Bistro also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Heidi's Island Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidi's Island Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.