We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect nice hotel, directly to the beach. Great location to stay longer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Gulf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Kempten, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect nice hotel, directly to the beach. Great location to stay longer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Was a very nice place to stay, Sad that we have to leave after only one night. Large room with two king-size beds, komplete kitchen with stove, microwave, coffemaker, refrigerator etc.. Free coffee. Own terrace, room very clean. Short way to the beach, clean water, sandy. Good location for trips.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    109
    18
    14
    5
See reviews for
152
158
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Once you get through all the traffic to get there, you will find a pleasant staff and good view from the top beach front rooms. The price for a 2 bed, 1 sofa bed suite was very expensive compared to other places we stayed during our trip. The sofa bed was terrible, you could feel the springs under the mattress. I believe they used our CC to purchase itunes but cannot confirm this, but somebody did on the day we stayed there. There is no fitness room, restaurant or bar at the hotel. The suites do have kitchens.

Room Tip: Go high but you'll have to carry your bags up, no elevators either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are happy to hear your compliments of our pleasant staff, but sorry to hear of your overall disappointment in your recent stay. I am glad that I was able to reach you by phone today to explain that while we do require a credit card at check-in, once authorized, we do not have access to those credit card numbers. As per our conversation, I do recommend that you notify your credit card company of these charges. I hope you will consider returning to our resort during your next Fort Myers Beach vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A beautiful little set up, bright yellow in color, and nestled toward the south end of Ft Myers Beach. Riveting ocean views and TWO pools were just a couple of the great features to this hotel. It is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the ocean breeze. Each night we cracked the door to the balcony and allowed the roar of the sea to lull us to slumber and awaken us in the morn. Lovely view! The kitchenette in the room was spacious and quite modern, the room was cute and clean! We also were able to use all of the amenities down at the Pink Shell since the Sandpiper did not have a gym, which was great, because there is nothing Matt n Morgan love more than a rip roarin' workout in the morning! The greatest drawbacks to this establishment were the lack of consistent WiFi access and the fact that on the first night of our stay we opened the pull-out bed to find cheese and cracker crumbs ALL over the sheets! The horror! Our other complaint is the lack of a spacious bathroom. Other than these little glitches, The Sandpiper will not disappoint! It is a lovely place of paradise! Okay we like it!

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view, it's well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We took our college-aged twin daughters on Spring Break for a graduation present and created awesome memories. Loved the kitchenette - full size refrigerator was a definite plus. Stove, microwave, coffeemaker and all the utensils needed were supplied. We were able to buy groceries and eat breakfast and lunch to save money because we easily spent $100 a meal for 4 adults. The balcony was fabulous - watched the dolphins jumping and the sun set all within one hour - gorgeous! Friendly, knowledgeable and professional staff. Clean, comfortable rooms - price was a bit steep but we bit the bullet for the special occasion. The only downfall was there was a missing frying pan in our suite and we waited two hours for it to be delivered, even after visiting the front desk twice. Another negative thing was having to pay for chairs to sit on the beach. Those were minimal inconveniences in the scheme of things. We visited friends on the other side of the state and when we returned to the area checked into the Neptune Inn just down the street. The experience cannot be compared to the Sandpiper - the sheets were old and the bedspreads were not only old but dirty, too. The sectional couch was stained and dirty ... ugh - just not a good experience. Room was not ready at 3:00 - waited til almost 4:30! Beach chairs were free though! If you are going between the two - choose the Sandpiper!

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for just one night in January on a long vacation to Florida & Caribbean.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful and we knew we had picked a good hotel immediately, it felt more like a family ran hotel but very professional.

We had a quick check in and our room was ready early.

The room was fantastic, it was more of a suite with tons of space and a kitchen and very clean.

Beds were very comfortable and we had a good night sleep.

The Location was great with access straight onto the beautiful beach via a lovely swimming pool. Good facilities all well maintained and the laundry machines came in useful.

Value for money compared to some other hotels on Fort Myers Beach.

Our only regret was we wish we had stayed longer and with certainly be returning in the future.

Many thanks

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so happy you were pleased with your recent stay. We hope to see you return when you can stay a bit longer. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Again, enjoyed our stay at the Sandpiper Resort. I had asked for a 2nd floor courtside but ended up with 1st floor courtside. It was nosier than it has been in the past years, but is easily resolved by turning on a/c heating unit. The prices keep going up there (like everything else). I'm ambivalent about the price versus the accomodations. I feel at home at Sandpiper enjoy the friendly staff. Thanks for the addition of a computer that one can use.

Room Tip: The courtyard/pool rooms are the least expensive. One can see the ocean from these rooms. But thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ft. Myers beach is a great beach, getting thru there is a real hassle, with that being said, the location of the Sandpiper is good, kind of in the middle. Room was plenty big, maybe needs a little updating, especially the bathroom. Shower AND toilet in same area w/ a sliding door, separating from the sink area, the big wall mirror in bathroom is too far away (only women would appreciate this comment), and water pressure in shower, as most hotels was awful. no box of kleenex in room...at all, no paper towels either. Lot of emphasis on kitchen area, full size fridge, stove, micro, table and chairs. Our room was probably the cheapest, minimal view of the ocean, corner of parking lot/and the street. Staff was for the most part "nice". Got mixed feelings for front desk. First was told 1pm check out was fine and no problem, then was told 12 pm. Security was "all business"..guess that's a good thing, maintenance seemed to be more hospitable, nice, accomodating. Overall, a clean hotel, room and outside space, including pool areas. $12.75 til 5 for 2 chairs/umbrella..reasonable if nice day. On a cloudy day around 1 pm, inquired about half price, guy said not til 3 pm. Dont think they have anything to do w/the hotel. I was a little upset, I just paid full price last 2 days. Thought I was a "good customer". Only got 2 days of business from me. There's a Publix near by, plenty of restaurants, just dealing w/the traffic is a pain, unless u go towards Bonita Springs. For the value of our stay, it was very good. Just a couple of minor details as mentioned above, keep me from giving them an excellent rating.

Room Tip: if u can spend more $$, it looked like having a room facing ocean would be great, especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a charming seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, The Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we’re also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds – a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Gulf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.