We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Year in a Row” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandpiper Gulf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Lebanon, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Third Year in a Row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Again, enjoyed our stay at the Sandpiper Resort. I had asked for a 2nd floor courtside but ended up with 1st floor courtside. It was nosier than it has been in the past years, but is easily resolved by turning on a/c heating unit. The prices keep going up there (like everything else). I'm ambivalent about the price versus the accomodations. I feel at home at Sandpiper enjoy the friendly staff. Thanks for the addition of a computer that one can use.

Room Tip: The courtyard/pool rooms are the least expensive. One can see the ocean from these rooms. But thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    114
    19
    14
    6
See reviews for
168
161
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ft. Myers beach is a great beach, getting thru there is a real hassle, with that being said, the location of the Sandpiper is good, kind of in the middle. Room was plenty big, maybe needs a little updating, especially the bathroom. Shower AND toilet in same area w/ a sliding door, separating from the sink area, the big wall mirror in bathroom is too far away (only women would appreciate this comment), and water pressure in shower, as most hotels was awful. no box of kleenex in room...at all, no paper towels either. Lot of emphasis on kitchen area, full size fridge, stove, micro, table and chairs. Our room was probably the cheapest, minimal view of the ocean, corner of parking lot/and the street. Staff was for the most part "nice". Got mixed feelings for front desk. First was told 1pm check out was fine and no problem, then was told 12 pm. Security was "all business"..guess that's a good thing, maintenance seemed to be more hospitable, nice, accomodating. Overall, a clean hotel, room and outside space, including pool areas. $12.75 til 5 for 2 chairs/umbrella..reasonable if nice day. On a cloudy day around 1 pm, inquired about half price, guy said not til 3 pm. Dont think they have anything to do w/the hotel. I was a little upset, I just paid full price last 2 days. Thought I was a "good customer". Only got 2 days of business from me. There's a Publix near by, plenty of restaurants, just dealing w/the traffic is a pain, unless u go towards Bonita Springs. For the value of our stay, it was very good. Just a couple of minor details as mentioned above, keep me from giving them an excellent rating.

Room Tip: if u can spend more $$, it looked like having a room facing ocean would be great, especially if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Update this place...please! If it weren't for the view (from our overpriced oeanfront room) would have been a real bad experience. Thin walls..one flatscreen TV that is right in front of one bed only (roommate had a sore neck from trying to watch from the other bed), tiny, tiny bathroom. Cabinets were in awful shape. Staff was very nice, clean grounds.
I'm not a snob, but people staying there were one step up from being in a trailer park. Could be nice...wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments and concerns. The Sandpiper has been operating with a new management company since last December. Changes have already been made with operating procedures and policies. Thank you for taking notice of the friendliness of our associates and cleanliness of the hotel grounds. There are plans for future updating projects that will be sure to satisfy our clientele. We hope that you will consider returning to the Sandpiper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Sandpiper unexpectedly because they very nicely could accommodate us when our booked hotel lost our reservation... (yea, it happens). Sandpiper was PERFECT and there was a beautiful sunset that night, so all ended well. Best part: we were in room 404, in the side building, facing the Gulf, with large balcony. If you are counting on seeing the Ft. Myers sunsets on a trip, I feel it would be worth it to make sure you reserve (and pay for!) one of the beach facing rooms or suites. Only odd feature in our room was the window to the hallway, very close to the bed, and the louvered shades do not keep out the hall light.

Room Tip: 404 - 4th floor on the side building, facing ocean with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Due to a weather delay in Minneapolis (shocking for winter, I know!) we did not arrive at the Sandpiper until a bit after 2a. However, we were happily greeted by their security who helped find us a parking spot, and asked if we wanted to know anything about the hotel. We were wide awake and willing to check things out so he gave us a run down of the place and our room - wonderful!

The hotel has everything you need for a short or long stay. Full size fridge, microwave, stove top and all the cooking tools you could need. There is a grocery store within .5-1mi away. The beds were comfy and we had plenty of room for our things and for moving around. We had a courtyard room overlooking the pool, but the balcony is huge and you can easily see the ocean/watch the sunset from there.

The beachfront area is fabulous with opportunity to rent lounge chairs, umbrellas, and mini tables for a low cost. The gentlemen running this were great and helped us out with dining suggestions as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This time, though, we got a sea-view room with a huge balcony.. The room is large, clean, with well equiped kitchenette. The "private" beach is not crowded. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Good wifi reception.

There is no dining facility and the pool is a bit small.

Room Tip: To get a good price and a seaview room, you must book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked this property from the reviews on tripadvisor.com and they were correct! The views from the beachfront rooms are amazing. Great sunsets, the property is clean and well taken care of. Love, love the wristbands you wear to enter/exit the property and your rooms. No keycards to mess with!

The rooms were well equipped with coffee maker, toaster, dishes and utensils. We chose to take a quick ride down the street to a Publix and buy our breakfast and a few snacks. It was lovely to just wake up and enjoy coffee on the deck! This is not a 5 star property and the decor a little dated, yet the cleanliness and efficiency of the property make up for the age. The beachfront rooms only have two double beds, so for a couple the sleeping is not the best (if you are used to a bigger bed). The beds were very comfortable though!

The front desk was able to accommodate a later check out on Sunday, which was really appreciated.

We would definitely stay here again and really enjoyed our weekend filled with great memories ... we got engaged right on the beach on Saturday morning! Thanks Sandpiper. Keep up the great resort!

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra per night and stay beachfront. The beachview was very nice too but on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Congratulations on your engagement! We are so honored that you chose to stay at our resort for your special weekend. Enjoy the planning of your wedding and we will see you again at the Sandpiper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Gulf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;