We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff's needs are more important than the guests” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Gulf Resort to your Saves list
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The staff's needs are more important than the guests”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We arrived at 10am to check in knowing they would probably not be ready early and were told nothing is available before 4pm. We convinced them to take our phone number "in-case". We asked if we could at least put food in the fridge - no the staff doesn't like it. At 4pm we were told nothing was ready yet and it would be at least another hour. Explaining we had a dinner meeting to attend and really needed to clean up first, we were told by the staff was working as fast as they could. We commiserated with 4 other guests also waiting to check in. We were allowed into our room just after 5pm (before the others waiting) and reminded that check out was promptly at 11am (your electronic key is turned off). Not sure why promptly at 11am as the staff did not enter the room to clean it for us until after 4:15pm - we were watching! The people we were meeting for dinner had checked in the night before and their room was not cleaned until after 6pm that day. The next morning we were woken just before 8 as the staff was setting up the sales products on the beach with a tractor followed by the power washing of the pool area so don't plan to sleep in here. We called the front desk to check on the best way to print out boarding pass for departure and were told to hurry down as they could help us right now but they were going to get very busy and it wouldn't be convenient later. Loading our car by 11am to depart as instructed was challenging because we had to work around the staff vehicles as they loaded and unloaded work. We had to ask multiple people to find the correct staff person to move their vehicle so that we could depart as instructed.
This is not the way this place used to be operated and we are very sorry to these changes. The location is terrific, the views wonderful, the rooms ok however the kitchenette is lacking. But premium rates with poor staff is not a bargain when there are so many other options available on the same beach for better prices.
We will not be returning after 4 years of being here and watching the service and details go downhill dramatically.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regionalmanager, VP Resort Division at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Dear CWITHP

It is unfortunate that you didn't feel you received the exceptional service that so many before and after your stay reported.

I questioned the front desk staff and GM to see if they remembered a guest that had reported having issues as you mentioned on your Trip Advisor review and they were not familiar with your myriad of issues reported.

I certainly would have preferred if you had reported your issue to Mr. Montoya the GM and we might have been able to resolve your dilemma before we tainted a 4 year relationship with a repeat guest.

I have overseen the Sandpiper as part of my Florida Resort division since Feb of 2005 and although I don't spend a great deal of time at the front desk I would have been more than happy to discuss your issues as would have my GM.

My concern is that many issues you mentioned are services we provide routinely for our guests without being prompted for example early check in (if the room is ready), taking your cell phone number to contact you when the room is ready, use of the facilities while you wait and even the storage of refrigerated items in one of our two common refrigerators.

I see to it that formal ongoing training is done with our various resort staff and by reviewing the other more favorable reviews we receive it seems to be working.

You mentioned about staff vehicles being in the way or cleaning of pool desks at 8am being an annoyance. Unfortunately we have to have the two pools open by 9am each morning and as you were well aware we had upwards of 300 people using our facility during this peak time of year so keeping it clean is a necessary task. We wait until 8am even though the city ordinance allows for this type of work as early as 7am so that our guests are not disturbed. Also the units have hurricane rated doors and windows so the noise should have been minimal had you slept with the sliders closed. Our check in time is as soon as the unit is ready or by 4pm. Sometimes there are issues with a unit, or a volume of cleaning that prevents us from getting everyone in by that time. In those cases we would have offered to compensate you in a reasonable fashion for the delay.

My e-mail is Plandis@tcgr.com if you would like to discuss your issues further or you feel I need to address specific employees that will make the vacation experience better for all.


Perry Landis
VP Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    127
    21
    14
    6
See reviews for
181
183
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
xxxxx
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Excellent value and location. Clean and friendly staff. We loved the pools and the white sandy beach at your toes. Stayed in room 240, big, full kitchen and all updated. Comfortable beds too! Publix and CVS are close by and you are away from the crazy downtown noise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

My sisters and I wanted to book a quick 4 night 5 day trip to our favorite beach. I searched online and found Sandpiper. It fit all of our needs. It was conveniently located on the strip, close to grocery and restaurants. It offered everything we needed, kitchenette, pool and it's right on the beach. We aren't high maintenance and just wanted to get away for a few days. We enjoyed it very much.The staff was very friendly! The rooms were a little outdates (carpet and window treatments, but who stays in the room when they're on vacation?! I will stay here again! Our favorite part was having the resort right on the beach!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Richey FL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Another fun time spent at the Sandpiper Gulf Resort. Always a pleasure to stay at the Sandpiper and be treated with much respect from the front desk personnel (Rodney).

The resort is nicely landscaped and very clean....anyone looking for a fun place to stay with everything you need - You must then choose the Sandpiper Gulf Resort!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Our first impression when pulling into the hotel was very good. The grounds were well kept, the outside is painted a beautiful inviting yellow and it's just a good feel when you walk in. The first thing my husband said when we walked in the room was "I would DEFINATELY come back here again!" We stopped for groceries before we got to the hotel, and to our surprise the kitchen was totally stocked with plates, bowls, silverware, cups, wine glasses..pots & pans. Pretty much everything you need to cook in a kitchen. The convection oven was also a great added feature. We had a 3rd floor ocean view room with two queen beds, and a fold out couch. The view was breathtaking! We traveled with 3 small children (8), (6) & (3) and it was very nice knowing that the kids could go down and play in the sand while my husband and I watched from the balcony. The beach was very well maintained, and not a long distance from the hotel to the water like some places are. There were also cabanas that you could rent for $15/day and they were really nice to have especially with the kids, or if you like to be by the water but wanted the shade. They gave us fresh beach towels which smelled great! and we used them for a few days, and then traded them in for new ones whenever we wanted to. The atmosphere there was nice, mostly families and older couples. Many of the older couples we met had been coming back for 30 years!! What does that tell you about this place? We absolutely loved every minute of our stay at the Sandpiper...it was VERY hard to leave!! Thank you staff at the Sandpiper!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights: ocean front ground floor unit. It had 2 queens and a kitchenette, table seating 4, couch, and patio overlooking the beach. Fort myers beach is a small beach resort community. there is nothing else except the beach. it is close to Naples. we have family there.
liked the room: clean, great set-up for us. full fridge, very useful. it is not a fancy place. we stayed in the high rise, Point Estero resort a few years back, and that was a full condo and much fancier. would be happy to stay at either place again.
the pool was small, clean, and heated to a fabulous 90 degrees.
Overall I would rec this place. lots of older people, but looks great for kids.
Wi-fi included, easy to use.
we never had to interact with staff, as we came in late, and left early. no problems with either.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

The room was just ok, with a very strong smell. Opened the balcony door first thing.
I am not sure if the day shift desk clerk realized that I was a guest, for he certainly did not treat me like one. I approached the front desk to request that the shower be fixed, as it was not turning on. I got no "good morning", or, "can I help you". Just a look, as if to say,"what do you want?" The evening before we called the front desk to check on availability of internet service, and to report a burned out light bulb. Had to leave a message on a machine. The message was never answered. Was informed next day that there is no clerk after 8PM. Surprise! That is not written down anywhere. No apology offered.
Asked for a late check out. Mistake. "We have people checking in. I only have 3 housekeepers for 9 rooms." Blah ,blah, blah. Was that my problem? The dude was rude beyond words. Incidentally, check out time was 11. Check -in time was 3. I was only asking for a 12 noon check out, for goodness sake.You sure will not find any hospitality at this place. Stay away!! Nicest part about the place was the maintenence man who came to fix the shower. He made it go on, but then it wouldn't shut off!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regionalmanager, VP Regional Resorts at Sandpiper Gulf Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
Hello Junezeln

I am sorry to hear that you didn't receive the stellar service and experience that The Sandpiper is well known to provide.

I am providing you my e-mail as I would like to know who treated you in a than a service oriented approach.

I am Thankful that you brought this to my attention and would have liked to have handled your issue at the time it occurred.

In regard to office hours they are posted on the lobby, in your welcome folder material and also in the Guest room guide.

We have a Guest service agent that is on the property from 8pm until 4am to keep an eye on the Resort and provide for urgent requests.

Please e-mail me so I can follow up with you.

Thank you

Perry L.




You can e-mail me at Plandis@thecontinentalgroupinc.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandpiper Gulf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Gulf Resort

Address: 5550 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Gulf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a truly charming and intimate Gulf front oasis on the white sands of beautiful Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Sandpiper Gulf Resort is a seaside escape set on the softest 315 feet of sand in Fort Myers Beach, Florida. With just 63 suites, newly remodeled in classic British West Indies style, the Sandpiper sits on a breathtaking stretch of beach in the heart of Estero Island. Stroll the perfect white sands. Grab a wave runner and fly across the calm Gulf waters. Take a refreshing dip in our Gulf front pool. Wake up each morning and sip your coffee on a private balcony or lanai overlooking the turquoise waters. The Sandpiper is your tranquil paradise. Yet, we're also just minutes from all sorts of activities including championship golf, fishing and boating charters, tennis clubs, shopping centers and movie theaters. You enjoy the best of both worlds - a Florida vacation that truly feels like an escape with all the conveniences you desire right around the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandpiper Gulf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Gulf Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Sandpiper Gulf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandpiper Gulf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.