We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will definitely be back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edison Beach House
Save
You added Edison Beach House to your Saves list
830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We will definitely be back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at the Edison Beach House for 4 days and 4 nights...but were wishing it were more like 40 and 40. This was the perfect location, with the perfect views, the perfect clean and comfy atmosphere. It was just perfect. Very romantic...a wonderful couples get away.
There are several great restaurants and shops in walking distance including the farmers market on Friday mornings. The rooms kitchen allowed us to cook up a couple of our own tasty seafood meals too!
We would both return in a heartbeat...thank you Edison Beach House!

Room Tip: 4th floor suite D...it's the place to be ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    43
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
108
155
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Quick two day stay in fort myers beach . Booked this hotel from chamber web site was extremely pleased with everything about this efficiency unit. Well worth the price. Would definitely return. Units were clean complete with full kitchen and washer dryer in room was nice addition.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Edison Beach House last May and just booked our trip for this year. The location is perfect....we walked everywhere. It's about a block from the town square which has shopping, drinks and restaurants. The hotel is across the street from Seven 11 which is convenient for coffee, etc. The rooms are clean and the beach is wonderful. We stayed in 207D and had perfect ocean view. We only used our car for mall shopping and visiting restaurants (like Coconut Jacks) in other towns.

There is no onsite restaurant which we prefer but having a kitchen in our room helped for drinks and snacks while sunning at the pool or beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just back from our 2nd visit to the Edison Beach House. It is on the Ocean and close to the Pier.
The location is perfect for walking everywhere (shops, restaurants and of course the beach)
We parked our car and did not move it until we left Estero Island.
The units were very clean and updated and included a full kitchen and washer/dryer.
The staff was very friendly, especially the office manager.
We have stayed at other spots along Ft. Myers Beach but this is by far a favorite
for our family.
Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We actually had 2 different rooms while we're at this hotel. RM 305 was ok. View from balcony was nice but the rooms was rather small and the bathroom needed to be updated. RM 301 was a 2 bedroom unit that we shared with my in-laws. This unit was beautiful with updated bathrooms and great shared space and bedrooms. The location of the Beach house is awesome - right on the beach and close to many restaurants. The staff was helpful in meeting our needs - moving rooms mid-stay. We were very happy with our choice and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband, one year old daughter and I just returned from a four night stay at the Edison Beach House (first family vacation). Everything about it was great. Location - especially with having a one year old it was great to just stroll down the street to restaurants, shops, etc. Loved the area of the beach we were on. Had we stayed on the other side of the pier it could have played out to be a different trip altogether since that seemed to be where the spring breakers were staying. We stayed in 207D which had the most perfect view on the beach over the ocean. Every morning while our daughter napped we'd sit out on the balcony and every single morning the dolphins would come swimming by. We were provided a high chair and crib which was key not to have to lug a travel crib. The room was equipped with everything we could need. We were able to pack super light knowing we had a washer and dryer in unit. We were a two minute walk from a couple of great restaurants - Yucatan and SOB. Beds were really comfortable, pool was heated and super clean, beach in front of the Edison was cleaned every morning, free parking, etc. I could go on and on but we obviously chose this place based on the existing Trip Advisor recommendations and I'm so glad we did. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: 207D has two queen beds and a view directly on the beach/ocean. Could not hear anyone above us or in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

It may not be the Ritz, but it was unsurpassed for friendly service. In particular, the lovely lady at the reception desk.
We arrived hours before the 3pm check-in time, but couldn't wait because we had 1pm tickets to a Spring Training game. I had no problem leaving suitcases in the trunk of our rental car, but did not want to leave electronics and other valuables, including fresh flowers, in a very hot car. Instead, we left them with the front desk, stored safely in their closet. It was a very nice gesture which was greatly appreciated.
The room was a fully equipped studio with extra pots, pans, glasses, dishes ... more thoroughly equipped than any VRBO we have ever stayed in. No complaints there.
There was a flat screen tv in the room, with a couple of tilting lounge chairs. Actually, the chairs, while very comfortable, were a bit too large for the room and took up valuable floor space.
The room had been meticulously cleaned, and a slight stuffy smell was eliminated within minutes from the breeze that wafted in from the balcony.
We did find it curious that while they stress it is a non-smoking hotel (Thank You For That!), they do allow smoking on the balconies, just one step outside the room. We did smell the smoke of another guest on an adjacent balcony while we were out there enjoying the view.
There were two queen beds, and a decent bathroom, though the exhaust fan was a trifle loud. We did not use the washer/dryer, but they would have been handy had we stayed more than one night.
The elevator is painfully slow, but we were usually the only ones using it. No problems getting luggage in and out.
Location is perfect for Ft. Myers Beach, as you can walk a short block to the "entertainment district", where there are a number of bars and restaurants, and more than a few t-shirt and souvenir shops. (We did NOT eat there. Please see a separate review for Fresh Catch Bistro, a short drive away.)
There is also a 7-11 store directly across the street, convenient, but costly, for last minute items like fruit, yogurt, etc.
They manicure the beach every morning, and there is a small pool, with lounge chairs, all private and separated from the sand.
One word of advice.. if you approach along Estero Blvd from the south, as we did, prepare to join a conga line. The traffic in season is pretty heavy on the 2-lane road.
Altogether, it's a good value, well located, and friendly little hotel. There are others further down the beach, but this is the closest to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edison Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Beach House

Address: 830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Edison Beach House Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Edison Beach Hotel
Edison Beach Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.