We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family vacation with teenagers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edison Beach House
Save Saved
You added Edison Beach House to your Saves list
830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family vacation with teenagers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I, our two teenage daughters and two of their friends stayed at the Edison Beach Hotel in February 2013. I cannot say how perfect this accommodation was for our group. For starters, the hotel is in the perfect location: just north of Times Square, away from the hustle-bustle but close enough to walk to everything. Second, our 2-bedroom suite was IMMACULATE! No scuffs on the walls, stains on the carpet or anything that could be viewed as dated. The kitchen had everything you could need in order to cook, and the desk drawer even had a ruler, scissors, paper clips and Post-It notes! The pool, which is on the smallish side, overlooked the beautiful white-sand beach. I really could not recommend this hotel more highly for a family vacation!

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 301A, and it was absolutely perfect for our group of 6: It had 1 bedroom with a K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    40
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
99
138
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Love this place - first time to ft myers beach- picked edison beach house based on reviews - the rooms have full kitchens, the rooms each have a stackable washer/dryer, the views of the gulf are great, there is a convenience store across the road, the trolley (3 day pass for $3) stops out front of Lynn Hall park located next door, Times Square shops are 2 blocks away as are many restaurants - there is live entertainment in many many spots and of course the beach is absolutely gorgeous! Very nice place to stay and so many things to do we are glad we didn't rent a car (although if you do there is parking on site)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed at The Edison 5 times over the last few years. We always choose it for its great location and cleanliness of the rooms. While this is an older property and some rooms are showing it, it's always been very clean, but that was not the case this last stay. The housekeeping staff needs to be spot checked. Our bathroom was not cleaned (hair in shower, soap scum). I will say that the towels and bed linens had their usual clean smell and look and it is very nice that all bedding is washed for each new guest, including bedspreads. They have installed new auto shut off lights in the bathroom, and while I am all for saving energy, it is very inconvenient to have the lights continually shut off while you are in the shower. You must open the shower door and wave your arm to get the lights back on! An inconvenience. On a final note, we noticed a very loud noise coming from underneath our unit during the night that happened ever 45 minutes or so and lasted 30 seconds. I sleep with ear plugs and this noise was so loud that it woke me up. When I inquired the next morning about the noise I was rather abruptly cut off and told that, yes, it was a compressor and they would tell the maintenance staff to turn it off tonight. Obviously I was not the first to complain about this noise because she immediately knew what I was referring to, so why not shut it off EVERY night and allow your guests a peaceful nights sleep? Really not a good way to treat customers. I had planned to book for April while I was there, but will now, after 5 years, find another place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

On the beach, good views, excellent service, clean rooms, up to date, good beds, pillows. Big screen tv's in bedroom and living area. Nice heated pool. 100 yards from the water. Helpful staff, good toilitries, nice kitchen, daily local and US A today papers, across the street from a 7Eleven store. Easy walking to shops, stores, entertainment, and restaurants. Great week at the beach!!

Room Tip: Our room was 201 , 2 bedrooms 2 baths with nice living-kitchen area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have traveled almost all of Floridas gulf side and this is by far the best place we have stayed. Always exceptionally clean, quiet and a staff that delivers first class customer service. Still amazed to see them rake and clean the beach over the entire area in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Front and north side rooms avoid the noise from the parking lot. Front rooms have best views of sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for a long weekend with my girlfriends. When we booked it, the room we wanted wasn't available for our entire stay so we had to switch rooms while we were there. They made it very easy for us to do this and allowed us to stay in our first room as long as we needed to so we could make the most of our beach/pool time. Our first room was one of the larger 2 bedroom suites facing the pier and then we moved to a 2 bedroom suite facing the opposite side (pool view). The first room was larger but the second had a larger balcony and better view so if we went back, we would have to decide on which we would rather have. The hotel is quiet and although it is close to everything, it is very low key. No bar or restaurant on site but with the full kitchen in your room, you can bring in everything you would need. This hotel is laid back and seemed to cater to an older crowd. We aren't "youngsters" but we were probably the youngest people we met while we were there. It was just what we needed - a few days to take it easy and relax by the pool or beach.

The only negative that we encountered was that when we arrived, it was late (after the front desk was closed) and we noticed the hallway smelled very strongly of paint and our room smelled even worse. We opened our balcony door and turned on the ceiling fans but all of the other windows were screwed shut so we couldn't do anything with those. When we went down to the desk the next morning to say something, we were told they had only painted stairwells and we were mistaken if our room smelled. What? We weren't making it up and had the headaches to prove it. Then the next day, just as it got a little better, the painters had showed up again and when we went upstairs to our room, the nook in the hallway next to our room where the maids kept supplies was roped off with a sign saying wet paint. They couldn't have told us that their painters were scheduled to be there the whole time during our stay? Instead they told us the paint fumes we were smelling weren't that bad and our room didn't smell at all? Which wasn't true. I don't understand why you would argue with the customer and not be up front about the painting that is happening with the property.

Room Tip: Look on their website to view the room layouts to pick a room size that meets your needs. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sevierville Tn.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I Booked this Hotel for the Night of Jan. 21, 2013. I was Visiting My Daughter in Tampa and wanted a quick " Mother/Daughter " Getaway, in Ft. Meyers. I Loved this Hotel. We had a Room on the Fourth Floor, Looking right over the Gulf. We only Stayed for a Night, but there was everything, You would need in the Room, for an Extended stay. Parking was only a few Feet, from the Front Door of the Hotel and it was a Short Walk to the " Time Square " area, with Shops and Restaurants. Sitting on the Balcony, watching the " Sunset " and " Sunrise " and being just Steps from the White Sand. What a Treat. I can see Myself, coming back here Next Winter, for an Extended stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edison Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Beach House

Address: 830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Edison Beach House Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Edison Beach Hotel
Edison Beach Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.