We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location, nice suite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Beach House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Edison Beach House to your Saves list
Edison Beach House
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great beach location, nice suite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked this hotel for a long weekend with my girlfriends. When we booked it, the room we wanted wasn't available for our entire stay so we had to switch rooms while we were there. They made it very easy for us to do this and allowed us to stay in our first room as long as we needed to so we could make the most of our beach/pool time. Our first room was one of the larger 2 bedroom suites facing the pier and then we moved to a 2 bedroom suite facing the opposite side (pool view). The first room was larger but the second had a larger balcony and better view so if we went back, we would have to decide on which we would rather have. The hotel is quiet and although it is close to everything, it is very low key. No bar or restaurant on site but with the full kitchen in your room, you can bring in everything you would need. This hotel is laid back and seemed to cater to an older crowd. We aren't "youngsters" but we were probably the youngest people we met while we were there. It was just what we needed - a few days to take it easy and relax by the pool or beach.

The only negative that we encountered was that when we arrived, it was late (after the front desk was closed) and we noticed the hallway smelled very strongly of paint and our room smelled even worse. We opened our balcony door and turned on the ceiling fans but all of the other windows were screwed shut so we couldn't do anything with those. When we went down to the desk the next morning to say something, we were told they had only painted stairwells and we were mistaken if our room smelled. What? We weren't making it up and had the headaches to prove it. Then the next day, just as it got a little better, the painters had showed up again and when we went upstairs to our room, the nook in the hallway next to our room where the maids kept supplies was roped off with a sign saying wet paint. They couldn't have told us that their painters were scheduled to be there the whole time during our stay? Instead they told us the paint fumes we were smelling weren't that bad and our room didn't smell at all? Which wasn't true. I don't understand why you would argue with the customer and not be up front about the painting that is happening with the property.

Room Tip: Look on their website to view the room layouts to pick a room size that meets your needs. The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    47
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
120
163
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I Booked this Hotel for the Night of Jan. 21, 2013. I was Visiting My Daughter in Tampa and wanted a quick " Mother/Daughter " Getaway, in Ft. Meyers. I Loved this Hotel. We had a Room on the Fourth Floor, Looking right over the Gulf. We only Stayed for a Night, but there was everything, You would need in the Room, for an Extended stay. Parking was only a few Feet, from the Front Door of the Hotel and it was a Short Walk to the " Time Square " area, with Shops and Restaurants. Sitting on the Balcony, watching the " Sunset " and " Sunrise " and being just Steps from the White Sand. What a Treat. I can see Myself, coming back here Next Winter, for an Extended stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My mother comes down to Florida to visit her Sisters often and while laying on the beach one day she saw this building. It is in a perfect location! Close to the pier, shopping and dining. We didn't use our car once while here. We stayed for 7 nights. The staff was incredible, they gave both of my children a stuffed animal upon check in. We stayed in an A suite which comfortably fit four adults and two children under 5. We had others visit and we could all sit and visit in the living/dining/kitchen area. The two bedrooms were off another hallway so even when the children were sleeping they couldn't hear the rest of us having a great time!! We could see the pier from our balcony (however as any traveler knows not all rooms can face the water) but we could see it and once you go down stairs you are on the beach! They had an adorable pool that my children loved (after seeing the snails in the shells one morning they were don with ocean critters) THey have a playhouse as well as sand toys that you can bring out to the sand. They have beach chairs; water toys and kick boards available for you while you stay there. The rooms were cleaned daily and everything refreshed. the kitchen area is stocked with every pot/pan/utincel you could imagine to cook with. We went to the store the night we checked in and stocked the Cabnets and Refigerator for our week there. We could not be more pleased with the accommodations and every year we return we would love to stay here! The weather was perfect the third week of January up until the last day (even that day after attempting to walk the very chilly beach my husband and I stood under thier very large dryer vents off to the side of the building keeping warm as we watched the waves crash in from the storm) Perfection!!! Your place is amazing!! Thank you for sharing your space with us!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and the location of the building to all there is to do while visiting this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Right on the water. And they even manicure the sand on their beach themselves. And does it ever make a difference. I stayed in a one bedroom suite, all of which over look the Gulf. 4th Floor windows open and it was excellent. The rooms have all that is needed for an extended stay of just a really comfortable over night stay. In room washer, dryer, full kitchen. Very nice. The desk staff was very helpful in making recommendations. Room to park, playground for kids, great pool, grills, gift bag at check in with stuffed animals for my kids, I can't say enough nice about this place. And they even sent me a Christmas card. Now that's the attention that makes a difference. For a beautiful, clean, comfortable, family friendly stay, I have found no better on the North end of Ft. Myers Beach than the Edison Beach House. I will stay there again as often as I am able to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent two nights here in October of 2012. We just were trying to find some place to relax and enjoy ourselves. We were not familiar with the area at all and spent time driving up and down the main road. Finally we stopped at the Edison, we had traveled for 4 hours due to getting lost, exhausted and hungry. The clerk at the desk was SO FRIENDLY; she answered every question I asked and treated me with kindness which was much needed. The housekeeping staff; so professional and anything we needed we were given within moments of request. The view is perfect and we never had to drive left our car there and walked around the beach, shopping and even in the evening walked to the main square to listen to music. The security made it very comfortable with two ladies staying by themselves. You could not enter the building without the key in the evening and there was a call phone if needed. When I came home I told my husband I wish all places gave that kind of service and welcome feeling. I am from IL and my friend is from FL (St. Pete) she too was impress with the Edison.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We spent the night in November, 2012. We had no specific plans in mind, but we pulled in to the parking lot of Edison Beach House and we were warmly greeted, and we decided to stay.
Our room overlooked the Gulf, was very clean, spacious and it had nice personal touches. The rooms were quiet, as well. Our party included myself, my mother and my 14 yr old daughter.

We are avid travelers and have experienced a wide realm of properties across the United States, as well as outside of the country. We all agreed that we would definitely stay here again and would recommend the accommodations to others.

Room Tip: Sunset view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What an awesome place to stay. We had suite D on the second floor. Viewing the ocean, day and night from the balcony and having the patio doors open with the breeze and sound of the ocean was very relaxing. The dolphins also entertained us, usually twice a day. The forty plus units allowed a very clean, quiet and friendly stay. We were impressed with the routine cleaing efforts daily with pool, chairs and raking of the beach (white sand) in addition to cleaning our room. The location was great. Walking distance fo eat, shop and trolly if needed. We would love to go back and yes, we would stay at the Edison Beach House.
Sister's from Ilinois

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#5 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#22 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#13 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#9 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour House at the Inn
Harbour House at the Inn
#17 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#4 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edison Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Beach House

Address: 830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edison Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Edison Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edison Beach House Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Edison Beach Hotel
Edison Beach Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.