We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased, will be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edison Beach House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edison Beach House
Save Saved
You added Edison Beach House to your Saves list
830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Franklin, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very pleased, will be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Entire staff was very courteous and helpful with information, and also very responsive to requests and needs. Facility was clean,quiet, and well maintained. Location is perfect, a short walk to the Pier and Time Square. Free parking. Most rooms have great views of ocean and beach, with private balconies.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views. However, balconies/rooms on the south side of complex are shielded from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    40
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
99
138
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I traveled recently with my husband, daughter and one of her good friends. We stayed for one week. We enjoyed our stay very much. We were warmly greeted and given a reusable bag, a small stuffed dolphin and soap. The elevator was consistently slow and even though we were on the 5th and top floor we took the stairs often. The rooms were freshly cleaned and the kitchen was well supplied. A maid came by every day to make beds and "freshen" up the room.

One morning at 3:30 AM the fire alarm went off. Everyone evacuated the building and stood outside in the cold, early morning air while 3 fire trucks and an ambulance showed up. Turns out there was no fire just some mechanical issue in the elevator operating room. However, the wait was caused because the owner of the house had not put the correct new keys in a box for the firefighters. Had the keys been there the firefighters would have been able to detect the problem earlier and we would have been able to go back to bed much sooner.

The pool was small but well heated and maintained. There was a closet that was supposedly filled with beach chairs and other beach items but we never were able to find any. There are some beach chairs by the pool and some on concrete just before the beach. However these cannot be moved. The house is right on the beach. The beach was calmer were the house was located, on the other side of the pier. The house is in perfect walking distance from almost everything needed. The 7-11 right across the street was handy and not that far down was a Publix. The next time we go to Fort Myers Beach we will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This is SMOKING hotel, period.
We arrived to a room that just stank of stale cigarette smoke.
Almost everytime we exited the elevator, we were greeted by the same.
There is no staff here 12 hours a day.
Guests smoke on the balcony while leaving door to unit open so smoke pours into the hotel.
The hotel PROVIDES ashtrays on every balcony and around the pool.
You figure it out.

I would never stay here again.

If you are a smoker, you are surely welcomed here and the location is good.

If you are a non-smoker who doesn't want a hotel room that smells like your clothes did in 1990 the day following the 5 hours you spent at a smoke filled bar, go someplace else.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great view of the beach and everything that we wanted in a two room/two bath suite. Our maid service was excellent. Little problems were quickly handled by the staff. Prices were in line with the rest of the area. We'll be coming back again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We've stayed here at least five times now with and without the kids. This time we stayed in one of the newer rooms ending in '01. These look out over the public parking lot and beach. Much nicer than the other two bedroom rooms that seemed to be getting a little dated. However, the new rooms were stocked with wicker furniture like the other rooms. Not very comfortable.

The location is good but not great. Of course, you are steps from the beach but it is near the public beach and very crowded. The beach is bigger this year which helps, but now after several stays here we are tired of being so close to the crowds. It is nice that that you are a few minutes walk to restaurants and shopping but walk in the opposite direction (towards the Best Western) and it is much less crowded and more relaxing. You won't have people setting up camp ten feet from you on the beach.

Beware, over spring break and probably other times, it takes about 45-60 minutes to get on the island during the day. Crazy traffic. There is a 7/11 store right across the street which is convenient.

Overall, you'll like the Edison and I would recommend it but next time we are getting away from the crowds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

A great view of the parkinglot next to Times Square; you did also get to see the beach. Fairly small suite; not a lot of places to set your luggage. Very outdated decor; bed was fairly small.

Room Tip: felt it was quite outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Edison Beach House is a beautiful, clean hotel right on the beach at the north end of Fort Myers Beach. They've thought of everything here, from beach towels, to chairs, to parasols, washer-dryer in your unit, to beach toys for kids. A great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: Several room configurations to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edison Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edison Beach House

Address: 830 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Edison Beach House Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Edison Beach Hotel
Edison Beach Fort Myers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edison Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.