We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Naples, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasent Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a great water front location with views the entertain you all day. We were going to stay in a North Naples Brand name hotel off the main artery US41. But decided to venture only 14 minutes off of the main road to find this extremely friendly Hotel with 1 bed room suites with full kitchen living room, and a balcony that stares at Estero Bay or the Gulf of Mexico. We really enjoyed the water front restaurant again a surprise as to how good the food was and the attention the staff gave us even though we were only there 2 nights. For the very short drive up the coast line it is a fantastic find, great value, friendly atmosphere property. I will be bringing back friends and family here to really enjoy the water, sun, and fun.

Room Tip: Ocean view one direction is peaceful and bay view is beautiful and active with boats and pool activ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    68
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
48
157
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have spent 3 to 4 nights in a deluxe unit during the first week in December for about the past 5 years. It's our favorite place to stay in Florida--beautiful views of the bay and the Gulf from the private balcony or the floor to ceiling windows. In addition, all units have have a beautiful bathroom and full kitchen and large living room and private bedroom with king size bed. You can't beat the rates during the first half of December. There's a really good restaurant on site, so you don't have to go out for lunch or dinner. Breakfast is also included in the room rate.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending in "04" have the best views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, IL, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed one night before heading over to the Ritz for the LPGA tournament. I booked the penthouse since it wasn't that much more than the lower rooms. While not fancy, it afforded us a great view of the island from the huge balcony. We were surprised to find a chilled bottle of Champagne on the table which I was ready for after the early AM long flight.
We had a late lunch and drinks in the Flippers restaurant on the premises. Very nice and peaceful. Reminded me of Punta Cana.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse PH6 Faces west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I
I have to say I am terribly disappointed. We have been coming here for eight years. The place has gone down hill in the past three years. This most recent visit was unforgivable. Dirty dishes in the cabinet, smelly used disgusting sponge, no pool towels, had to check in at a different location, room poorly kept up, generally felt unclean. I'm sad to say, we went here for our first vacation together and loved it so much we got married here. My family was thinking about holding a reunion here for 40+ people but sadly I cannot recommend this to anyone. Incredibly unhappy overall. Sad to see such a beautiful property neglected and in such a sorry state. We will never return nor recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I had a great time at the resort. The Staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Knowing it was our Anniversary they booked us into a room with water views and a beautiful sunset view. The restaurant at the resort "Flippers" was impressive. It's casual on the beach with all water views and yet all meals there were delicious. Dinners had such ambiance along with entertainment. We ended up having all our meals at Flippers.We will certainly go again when we have a chance to R&R. We have already passed the word on to a few friends and will continue to do so for any heading to that area. Thanks again to Lovers Key Resort.

Room Tip: I think all have balconies and I think you can see water of some kind from all the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We stayed here in early November 2014. We have stayed at other Fort Myers Beach resorts; this was our first time here. Room was OK; bedroom and living room/kitchen with a view of the bay. Fun to watch the manatee in the bay, and the boat traffic, etc. There really is no beach here. We were directed across Estero Blvd to the beach there; it is a part of Lovers' Key State Park, with a $2 walk-in admission fee. That wasn't really a beach we were interested in frequenting. There is a mile path through the park to the main beach area at the state park; we drove instead. Lovers' Key is great park, with chair rentals, a concession with food, and a mile of beach. While we were there, the beach was being "nourished" to create a much wider beach. (there was only about six feet of sand available) That project was to be completed by Thanksgiving they told us. So the beach there would be all the better.

What we liked: The view, and the proximity of the on-site restaurant and bar. What we missed: having a beach at the door, as many other FMB resorts have. We also noted that the pool was kind of cool. Air temp was 75-80, and the pool was largely uninhabited, probably because it was so cold. We were disappointed in the inability to use the pool.

We also like that this place is "out of the mainstream," and out of the Estero Blvd traffic. We pretty much missed the traffic by coming from the south, off of Bonita Beach Road, instead of from the north.

Room Tip: One needs to specify whether one wants a Gulf view or a Bay view. Bay was good for manatee and dolp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We visit here often.. found this place about 9 years ago and loved it even since. It has beautiful views of the bay where you see dolphins and manatees non stop. We always opt for the larger room with the full kitchen since we travel with children and try to get a full bay view window. Flippers on the Bay has awesome food and service! The pool i nothing out of this world, but it is a nice little pool with a waterfall over looking the beautiful Estero Bay area. Last time we went we actually brought our boat which we loved, but the hubby says he won't do it again. There are no docks to tie up on and it can become a big PIA to have to keep worrying about the boat being beached in the sand every time the tide changes. We still love this place and its an awesome relaxing get away for a long weekend. Go to Nervous Nellies to eat the place is AWESOME.

Room Tip: Ask for Full bay view room on level 6 or higher...room with full kitchen is nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.