We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great romantic get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great romantic get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

One of the most beautiful areas in the state of Florida. Beautiful luxury condo resort with swimming pool, its own restaurant, and across the road from Lover's Key State Park.
We will return year after year for an anniversary weekend. The dinner, bed, and breakfast special is a great deal.

  • Liked — Like home. Condo unit with large bath and spa tub, full kitchen. Clean, modern. Pool, restaurant. Close proximity to Beach state park, Fort Myers, Bonita Beach, Naples
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    89
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
61
192
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

Every year, my husband and I try to get away to Lover's Key Resort. We used to be Fort Myers resident sand got married at the resort in 2006 and it was one of the best non-hassle experiences we could ever imagine! Everything in regards to the wedding was taken care of. From the officiant of the ceremony to the open bar reception, nothing was left out. Since we've moved to New Mexico, we try to incorporate Lover's Key into our vacation plans every year and so far its worked.

Flippers is a nice quiet place to enjoy some drinks. The bartenders are wonderful and engage in conversation with you (which is sometimes hard to find at a resort) and on the weekends someone usually plays live music.

The rooms are wonderful! If you plan on having more than 2 people in your room, my advice would be to get the larger of the two rooms (I forget what they call it) since it has a bigger kitchen and living room. The bathroom in this unit is very large and comfortable. The higher up floors have the most magnificent views you'll even see the occasional dolphins, sting rays and manatees!

This resort is by far one of our favorite places to visit. Perhaps I am being a bit bias, as the resort has special meaning to us, but I believe it is worth checking out!

  • Liked — Customer Service
  • Disliked — Bar hours
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Stayed for 13 nights. Got a really good deal on their September "hot deals" 40% off. Stayed in room 8 on the penthouse floor (13th floor) and had a magnificent view over the Lovers Key State Park, the waterways to the east and the sea to the west. Were able to see dolphins frolicking in the estuary under Big Carlos Bridge. The room had a comfortable living area, kitchenette with dishwasher and large refrigerator, huge bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and large shower cubicle. Bed was a little hard but the views from the bedroom, full height floor to ceiling windows, made up for it. We were able to see both sunrise and sunset from our room. A typical Floridian decor throughout. Pool was lovely with waterfall, busy at weekend but quiet throughout the week. Hot tub was great. Breakfast room was a delight for Florida as it was free, plenty of coffee, juice, self made waffles, fruit and pastries. Thank you to Joyce who looked after us through out. Made use of the laundry on the 1st floor next to the gym which had all the facilities. Reception staff were always helpful and accommodating. Ate at Flippers which is the restaurant next to the pool, got eaten alive by the mosquitoes at sunset. Plenty of good restaurants a short drive away by Matanzas Bridge and on the 41 at Bonita Springs. Loved Mantanzas Inn restaurant for seafood, Parot Key, Outback Steak House and the Lighthouse on the road to Sanibel. All in all had a fabulously restful holiday. Really easy to walk to Lovers Key beach by the side of Big Carlos Bridge or a short drive to the State Park, $5 dollars and you are on a wonderful shell white beach. Hired a pontoon boat from the Fish Tail Marina, well worth while at $200 for 4 hours. Saw manatee, dolphin, ospreys and many more. You will not find a better location if you want a restful vacation with amazing wildlife and scenery.Been to Florida, Disney and beyond many times,will definitely return.

  • Liked — Great views and location, large comfortable room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

After passing the 25year mark at work and three grandkids my wife and I needed some alone time. We could not have found a better place. The hotel and staff were excelent and the view was awsome. We watched dolphins from our room then rented a boat and had the dolphins play around it. The beach was uncrouded and clean with lots of seashells.

  • Liked — Friendly we were able to stay an extra day without changing rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

The Lovers Key Beach Club and Resort is a great place to stay for a Fort Myers Vacation! We stayed for two nights over the 4th of July, and had a great time. Our room was on the 10th floor, and had a great view of the bay and a huge balcony! We had a one bedroom suite, and were surprised that we had a full size fridge, mini stove, and all the cooking essentials in the room, though we didn't utilize it.

The resort itself is very nice. It looks newly remodeled, and the maid service is good. The continental breakfast is adequate, and the Flippers grill next door is great!

The pool is a little small, though we always found chairs. There is an awful wasp and bee problem at the pool, and we found ourselves dodging them almost every minute we were down there. They really need to spray for them!

The Fort Myers Beach pier is a short cab ride away (though no taxi company charges the same amount to get there). There is also a trolley service that runs up and down the beach.

The Lovers Key park is a short drive down the road, but you can walk to one of the beaches on the bay. The hotel itself does not have a beach, though if you are bringing your boat or jetski, it is great!

It is not the Ritz or anything, but it is a great value for the money! We would definitely stay again if we were in the area! It is very quiet on that end of the island, so if you are looking to be in the middle of the action, it probably is not for you. Though, if you don't mind taking a short cab ride to the action, and relaxing at a great quiet resort, you will love it!

  • Liked — Quiet location, large suites
  • Disliked — small pool, wasps
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

My wife and I needed a break from the kids and the cold recently and were looking for a gulf coast Florida beach resort to pamper us for a few days. We were originally looking at Sanibel Island despite the rather pricy nightly rates there. Then I was up late one night watching the Travel Channel's "Top Ten Florida Beaches" and saw Lover's Key state park listed in the #2 spot. Having never heard of Lover's Key, I did some online investigating and discovered Lover's Key Resort. It looked like just what we needed and was much less expensive that the Sanibel destinations - by almost half! We had no luck booking through the online travel services like Expedia, etc. They all indicated one or more dates unavailable. The resort's website has an online reservation page and I was amazed to find that not only were the dates available, the rates were considerably lower when booking directly from the resort. We decided to book a penthouse-level suite.
The resort is easy to find since it is the only hotel on Lover's Key. You can get there via Estero Blvd. from either Ft. Myers beach or Bonita Springs. Surrounded by a beautiful state park and nature preserve to the south and west, and Estero bay and Big Carlos pass on the east and north, respectively, this 14-story resort is stunningly beautiful. The grounds were manicured and the parking lot had spaces available close to the entrance every time I pulled in. After a quick elevator trip to the penthouse, we found our room to be absolutely spotless and beautiful. The view from the large private balcony was nothing less than breathtaking! Our room faced east, overlooking Estero bay - but was also provided views of Estero Island (Ft. Myers beach) to the north and Lover's Key to the south. We watched manatees, stingrays, pelicans & egrets below and osprey glided past our windows frequently. Sliding glass doors in both the bedroom and living room opened to the balcony and provided so much air that we never turned on the air conditioner once. The kitchen was small but efficient and included everything you could need, even a blender. The bathroom was spacious and included a spa-tub and glass enclosed shower. Towels were thick and plentiful, too. Just about every amenity was there - in room safe, full size ironing board & iron, 2 TV's with cable and pay movies, clock radio, etc. etc. I can't think of anything in the room worthy of complaint. Housekeeping was superb and nearly invisible. Our room was impeccably made up everyday and we never even saw the maid once. Fantastic. Front desk staff was very pleasant, too. The daily continental breakfast was of good quality and plentiful, but like most, not really inspiring. We didn't dine at the onsite restaurant, but did have a few drinks there one evening and found the staff friendly and attentive. We had a rental car and tried different restaurants each night. There are lots of good restaurants on Ft. Meyer's beach and San Carlos Island. Be sure to head to the fisherman's wharf area and check out some of the seafood restaurants there. Bonita Springs is close, too.
As for location, I've read at least one review here complaining that this is not a beach hotel. Well, maybe not compared to the high-priced places on Sanibel where you walk out the rear of the rear of the hotel onto a wide gulf beach. The narrow strip of beach behind the hotel is actually on the bay, but is quite pretty and if you want to sun there, there are lounges readily available. The pool is also very clean and comfortable and was never crowded during our stay. A small hot tub is also available. If you are really a serious beach devotee, like my wife, there are lots of options nearby. Just over the bridge to the north is gorgeous Ft. Myers beach with amazingly wide sugary sand and readily available public access. A few hundred yards to the southwest is Lover's Key State Park beach, which is a more natural beach, littered with shells, but more than a mile long. A free tram will take you to one of several access points and save you some walking. We rented a boat from nearby Snookbight Marina and found some other small beaches accessible only by boat. The dolphins circled and played along our boat at several spots in the gulf passes. What a thrill! By the way, the folks at Snookbight were very nice and made our rental easy and enjoyable.
Seriously, don't hesitate for one minute if your looking for a luxurious, relaxing, romantic getaway. Lover's Key Resort is perfect in every way.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2008

We stayed at the Lovers Key resort for a weekend getaway with our two kids. We've stayed in Ft. Myers Beach and Naples before, and this location was right between the two. It is a much quieter area than Ft. Myers beach, more of a retirement area than a party zone, which makes it nice for families.

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal on the website, which gave us coupons for dinners, and the breakfast is free for all guests anyway.

When we arrived late Friday night, we were upgraded for free to a deluxe suite on the 3rd floor. We awoke to an amazing wraparound view of the bay. Sitting on the couch and looking out the windows, it seemed like we were in the middle of the ocean, since all we could see was water. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony and watching the boats and the birds outside.

The free breakfast was nice, with lots of choices including make your own waffles. The kids enjoyed the pool all day long, and it is just a short walk across the street to the beach where we watched the sunset. It was a great experience and we'll definitely be back.

  • Liked — Location and views
  • Disliked — No restaurant choices nearby except the hotel restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers Beach
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#22 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#5 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,219 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#13 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#4 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,350 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#11 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.