We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Dunedin, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a great vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We live in the Tampa Bay area and were looking for a weekend getaway that felt like we were far away. What a surprise we found in Lover's Key Resort. Though technically part of "Ft. Myers Beach", it is like an island oasis. Kristi, Bryan and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to make sure our room met our expectations. The 11th floor condo we stayed in had the most amazing panoramic views! The pool is great, the restaurant has fabulous food (we went four times during our stay), and the facility was clean and well maintained. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    67
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
48
154
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spent two nights at Lovers Key Resort, a small condominium hotel. The rate was extremely reasonable, and while not really beachfront, access to Lovers Key State Park Beach is just across the road. Our room was a very well equipped one bedroom apartment, with a completely furnished kitchen. That said, spring for the extra cost and get a room above the 4th floor. Our only disappointment is that we did not do that and had a lovely second floor view of the parking lot (we could see a little bit of bayside water). I could not quite rate it a 5 because other than Flipper's Restaurant, everything else (including the main park entrance) was about a 2 mile drive.

Room Tip: Stay above the 4th floor. It is worth the extra cost to go higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a beautiful, peaceful place to stay! It's in a key spot where you can view beautiful nature or for a short drive visit the surrounding towns. The views are awesome from the 11th floor. We enjoyed our 1st stay there so much that we just booked our next stay. Kristi is a doll and made the reservation process flawless. She was friendly and bubbly, even though I asked her a ton of questions. The room was so much nicer than what we expected. You definitely won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 1101 has an amazing view of the sunrise and overlooks the nature park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Made my reservations on line got here and was greeted by Kristi and from the get go we knew we were going to be happy with this place.. Kristi is super friendly and helpful ... As soon as we got to our room kids loved it its perfect for a family of 4 ... Loved it so much and its such a great deal we extended our stay and extra day... Best deal in town great pool great room great views ... My daughter even saw dolphins looking out on the bay... Added bonus... Will be coming back a must definitely... A new Reyes FAM tradition ....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Resort was absolutely wonderful. The view was fabulous from our room. The condo was spotless and had a great decor along with the gorgeous view. The bathroom was amazing! Flippers restaurant was excellent! We had a relaxing time. I can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Peaceful, relaxing stay for our anniversary. Resort is a condo hotel, with each unit individually owned and 8 units per floor. Our first night was in a room on the 8th floor with a large balcony overlooking the bay with a beautiful sunrise, saw several dolphins and with low tide, an exposed sandbar attracted many wading birds. A bottle of chilled champagne was waiting for us, along with a card wishing us a wonderful anniversary - nice touch. Unit has a small kitchen, main area with dining table, couch and TV, nice size bedroom with comfortable king size bed and bathroom (combo shower and jetted tub). Very clean, basic unit but looks like all original appliances and TVs, could use a refresh. On the afternoon of the 2nd day, some rowdy guests checked into several rooms on our floor. Instead of waiting to see how loud they might get later, we inquired at the front desk to see if another room was available. (On plus side, we only heard them when they were in hallway going between their rooms, didn't hear them when they were in their units - walls seem solid and soundproof). Staff was great and not only moved us to another room, they upgraded us to the 11th floor. This unit is the same size but facing the other direction, to the Gulf. It was a cloudy evening but my guess is that it has a gorgeous sunset view. This unit is more recently renovated with granite countertops, a modern shower and larger TVs.
Our room rate included breakfast at Flippers, a cute open-air restaurant next to the resort. Breakfast was delicious - I had eggs and breakfast potatoes, husband had pancakes. Our dinner the first night was also good - coconut shrimp (4 large shrimp with mango salsa) and blackened grouper sandwich.
Nice size pool and hot tub added to our relaxing stay.
Beware the lowered speed if you take a right out of the resort and go over the bridge towards Fort Myers Beach. Very small sign for dropping speed limit down to 25 going over the bridge. There was a sheriff checking speeds on the other side of the bridge. Drop in speed limit is marked much more clearly coming from the north, heading south. Speed limits seem to drop a lot on the bridges in area, so be careful!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had the best holiday ever. Beautiful condo with amazing views over the bay. The kitchen was fully equipped and the bed comfy. Downstairs there was a room where you could use the WiFi. The outdoor swimming pool was good and so were the barbecues. What I loved the most was that you had direct access to the beach and you could watch the sunsets from your balcony. I can't wait to visit again. We stayed here in 2011 but due to health problems were unable to travel for the last couple of years. We are coming to Fort Myers this year and we are hoping to book here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better view although you can get excellent views from the 3rd floor onwards. The con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.