We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome views and very helpful management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome views and very helpful management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Peaceful, relaxing stay for our anniversary. Resort is a condo hotel, with each unit individually owned and 8 units per floor. Our first night was in a room on the 8th floor with a large balcony overlooking the bay with a beautiful sunrise, saw several dolphins and with low tide, an exposed sandbar attracted many wading birds. A bottle of chilled champagne was waiting for us, along with a card wishing us a wonderful anniversary - nice touch. Unit has a small kitchen, main area with dining table, couch and TV, nice size bedroom with comfortable king size bed and bathroom (combo shower and jetted tub). Very clean, basic unit but looks like all original appliances and TVs, could use a refresh. On the afternoon of the 2nd day, some rowdy guests checked into several rooms on our floor. Instead of waiting to see how loud they might get later, we inquired at the front desk to see if another room was available. (On plus side, we only heard them when they were in hallway going between their rooms, didn't hear them when they were in their units - walls seem solid and soundproof). Staff was great and not only moved us to another room, they upgraded us to the 11th floor. This unit is the same size but facing the other direction, to the Gulf. It was a cloudy evening but my guess is that it has a gorgeous sunset view. This unit is more recently renovated with granite countertops, a modern shower and larger TVs.
Our room rate included breakfast at Flippers, a cute open-air restaurant next to the resort. Breakfast was delicious - I had eggs and breakfast potatoes, husband had pancakes. Our dinner the first night was also good - coconut shrimp (4 large shrimp with mango salsa) and blackened grouper sandwich.
Nice size pool and hot tub added to our relaxing stay.
Beware the lowered speed if you take a right out of the resort and go over the bridge towards Fort Myers Beach. Very small sign for dropping speed limit down to 25 going over the bridge. There was a sheriff checking speeds on the other side of the bridge. Drop in speed limit is marked much more clearly coming from the north, heading south. Speed limits seem to drop a lot on the bridges in area, so be careful!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    65
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
142
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had the best holiday ever. Beautiful condo with amazing views over the bay. The kitchen was fully equipped and the bed comfy. Downstairs there was a room where you could use the WiFi. The outdoor swimming pool was good and so were the barbecues. What I loved the most was that you had direct access to the beach and you could watch the sunsets from your balcony. I can't wait to visit again. We stayed here in 2011 but due to health problems were unable to travel for the last couple of years. We are coming to Fort Myers this year and we are hoping to book here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better view although you can get excellent views from the 3rd floor onwards. The con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great spot for a long weekend as long as you don't want a resort right on the beach. Spectacular views from every window; refreshing pool with waterfall is like a tropical paradise; loved the convenience & again, scenic, dining at Flippers for breakfast & lunch. Saw dolphins swimming in the bay. Staff was friendly & rooms are spacious, comfortable, & clean. Price was reasonable too, we had a Florida residents rate. We were on 6th floor this trip & 9th floor previously. Like I said fabulous views from anywhere!

Room Tip: Every room has a spectacular view. We had a "luxury" room; it was bigger than the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We usually try to stay at bungalow, cottage type places, but once in a while we go for a little more luxury. Lovers Key Resort did not disappoint. The service was great and the room was more than we expected for the price. We had a 2 room suite with a kitchen and hot tub for about the same price as what most of the other hotels were asking for a single room. With the Florida resident discount they offered, it was quite reasonable. We opted for an upper floor room for a few dollars more and the view was spectacular from from our balcony. The hotel is about 20 feet from the inlet water on one side and there is a Gulf view on the other. We were lucky enough to have a view of both. We watched the lightning from the usual summer storms on the horizon and dolphins swimming in the channel in front of our room. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

Flippers, the restaurant that is on the property is excellent also. I will review that under restaurants.
.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4th of July weekend. Have a great time. We had two rooms, both overlooking the water. 12th floor was perfect for watching the fireworks. You really don't have to leave the resort. Everything is there. What really made our stay though we're the staff, both in the Hotel (Kristi was so accommodating and very professional) and the restaurant. The entire staff at the Restaurant (Flippers) were so much fun and just made you feel like you belong. Chris, Ray, Jay and Jono thanks for the awesome service and special thanks for the chef. We ate there every night and the food was spectacular. We will be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Beautiful resort, love the amenities and the food/drink at Flippers were great. Only complaint is the woman who delivered our complimentary breakfast was incredibly rude and unprofessional. The rest of the staff (front desk, etc.) were very friendly and hospitable unfortunately that was not the case with the staff delivering room service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.