We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best vacation we have ever had yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Chester, West Virginia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best vacation we have ever had yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

my Husband and I was at this beautiful place October 3 to October 11 , we celebrated our 31 wedding anniversary there , The staff was great , the views fantastic , we stayed in the pint house over looking the bay, the bedroom has a picture window , so every morning when you wake , you see dolphins, sea turtles , so many different kinds of birds , the pool and hot tubs so relaxing , flippers right next door , the best food ; people we would meet in town would ask if we ate at flippers , I think its a house hold name, the price we paid for a week, you cant beat it for everything you get at this resort , you get breakfast every morning at flippers , that is in your package, so if you want a great place at a great price , to spend with the one you love , try lovers key resort , we are making plans for next year, thank you to the staff , for making us feel at home , see you next October for our 32 anniversary.

Room Tip: the pint house number 4 over looking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    64
    19
    11
    2
See reviews for
43
127
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Lover's Key Resort for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. Staff was friendly and efficient. The building is older but well maintained. Swimming pool is large with a beautiful waterfall in the center. The hotel has a restaurant onsite called Flipper's; we only had breakfast but were completely satisfied with our complimentary breakfast. The view was exceptional from our balcony and the accommodations were very nice. The resort is situated right on the bay, however, their "beach" is only accessible when it's low tide. But, Lover's Key State Park is just across the street and has a wonderful 2.5 mile stretch of beach directly on the Gulf of Mexico so we were OK with that. We will definitely recommend to friends and family and will more than likely be back ourselves.

Room Tip: All the rooms have private balconies; I would suggest asking for one that faces west so you can enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Lovers Key Resort a couple of nights, location is perfect, close to Ft Myers Beach and Bonita Beach. Very clean suites with breathtaking views.
Service is impeccable. Our waitress Lora was very sweet and professional... We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to this resort - what a treat and great value. We had asked for a high level floor for the view and were not disappointed with 1105 - spectacular. Big room with lounge, kitchen area, bedroom and shower/bath facilities. Lovely balcony in the shade first thing and in the sun last thing. The guys couldn't have helped anymore and for a quiet 3/4 days or weekend this is a perfect location. State park just by and Fort Myers Beach only 5 mins away in a car. Flippers is great for breakfast, drinks, lunch and dinner. I can't rate the Resort high enough.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Lover's key over the Labor Day week and had a wonderful time ... Nature all around, the water was full of fish, birds everywhere and plenty of space to just walk or beach. We traveled to Sanibel, Fort Myers and Naples. All were close 1/2 hr or less. The beaches where all good and we went to many of them. Standouts were Vanderbilt Beach .. Sand and water was very nice almost as nice as Siesta Key Beach. We had an equipped kitchen but ate out most of the meals. Nervous Nellies had a good menu ... seafood was good and priced right, Smokin' Oyster Brewery. The SOB beer was good and the seafood was fresh and Island Cow had good food and service. The resort itself was nice and clean and staff friendly ... Pool was nice and maintained well. Room clean and equipped with most of what you may need to use. Kitchen could have been updated. We had fun at Flippers the restaurant that is at the resort... Bucket of fun was good and the kitchen made some SPECIAL appetizers that I asked for. Both lunch and dinner food was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Ridge, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our first stay at Lover’s Key Resort and I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Location: Located off the beaten path from the crowded and touristy Fort Myers beach. Location is absolutely perfect if you want a relaxing, quiet, beach, pool vacation. Located right next to Lovers Key State Park – Literally across the street and the park is huge with kayaking rentals, bike rentals, beach, trails, etc. There is one on site waterfront restaurant that was very popular with locals, guests and passing boaters – so the afternoon next to the pool/bar will add some fun to your visit. A great option to have right downstairs as there are no other restaurants nearby! Great pool downstairs which is right next to the restaurant and overlooking the bay – amazing views and you are guaranteed to see dolphin and manatee. We brought our paddle boards and woke up every single morning and launched literally directly in front of the resort. Perfect place to bring your own paddle boards, canoe or kayaks. I was very happy to be away from the crowded, touristy, and traffic of Fort Myers Beach. On one night for dinner, we drove into the town square which was about 20 minutes away. There is zero shopping or stores within walking distance of the hotel. The location is not ideal if you’re looking to shop or try different restaurants and nightlife – but absolutely perfect if you want to relax in peace and enjoy nature and the beach.


Resort/Room: The resort is actually a condo / apartment building. There are some people that live there full time, but I think a lot of the owners rent via the “resort”. Check in was super easy and the staff at the desk extremely nice. We stayed in PH4 (penthouse) one bedroom apartment. Gorgeous views from every room and the balcony. We watched countless number of manatee and dolphin, and you can enjoy both a sunrise and sunset from the balcony. PH4 was very clean, comfortable and had every single thing we needed – kitchen fully stocked with plates, wine glasses, wine opener, silverware, pots pans etc. Our room was located at the end of the hall on a corner and was extremely quiet. The only noise we heard were from boats and jet skis, and since we also overlooked the pool and restaurant we would occasionally hear some noise during the afternoon – however perfectly quiet at night. There is a fitness center (which we didn’t use as we got our workout paddle boarding!!). The pool is great - the lobby will provide you with beach towels, and there seemed to be plenty of chairs. The is a waterfall in the center of the pool, a hot tub on the side, and the pool is directly connected to the patio/outdoor restaurant for you to easily get drinks and lunch. The pool is directly on the water and there are great views.

Beach – During low tide the resort has a small beach. High tide it is very tiny to almost nonexistent. However, a very short walk across the street and you’ll have miles of beach to enjoy any time of day – Lovers Key Park beach is directly across the street and you will find no shortage of white powdery sand to enjoy! The hotel not located directly on the Gulf – instead is located on a bay, overlooking a huge estuary – however, you are directly across the street from the Gulf and the Gulf beaches.

Overall I would stay at Lover’s Key Resort again and I would definitely recommend it to others. However, as mentioned, if you are looking for a party scene and want to go out nightly to the bars, restaurants, etc then this place is probably a little too far from those areas.

Room Tip: PH4 had amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charelston, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just a beautiful place to rest, relax and play. Our room overlooked the gulf (over Lover's Key state park) and the bay waters. I like the west side because the sunsets are fabulous. Lover's Key state park is great with its powder white sand beaches, beautiful shells, kayak excursions and green waters to float in. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a designer tropical pool with a waterfall. The pool and hot tub overlook the waters of the bay and are located next to the small quaint Flipper's restaurant. Flipper's offers a great breakfast, lunch and dinner (many gourmet dishes) overlooking the bay waters where often the dolphins put on a show as you eat. The hotel is one of only 3 buildings on this island (but close to local shopping, eateries, and night life entertainment) and provides daily maid service, fresh towels for enjoying the pool and a friendly helpful staff. On-site washers and dryers make it convenient to keep clean clothes during an extended stay. My husband and I went for a week long get away and enjoyed our 5th floor resort suite with a kitchen, king bed and a queen sofa bed, 2 flat screen TV's , dishwasher, coffee maker and much more to make our stay comfy. Too many local activities to list. Just an all around great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.