We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit to this resort - what a treat and great value. We had asked for a high level floor for the view and were not disappointed with 1105 - spectacular. Big room with lounge, kitchen area, bedroom and shower/bath facilities. Lovely balcony in the shade first thing and in the sun last thing. The guys couldn't have helped anymore and for a quiet 3/4 days or weekend this is a perfect location. State park just by and Fort Myers Beach only 5 mins away in a car. Flippers is great for breakfast, drinks, lunch and dinner. I can't rate the Resort high enough.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    67
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
48
157
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed at Lover's key over the Labor Day week and had a wonderful time ... Nature all around, the water was full of fish, birds everywhere and plenty of space to just walk or beach. We traveled to Sanibel, Fort Myers and Naples. All were close 1/2 hr or less. The beaches where all good and we went to many of them. Standouts were Vanderbilt Beach .. Sand and water was very nice almost as nice as Siesta Key Beach. We had an equipped kitchen but ate out most of the meals. Nervous Nellies had a good menu ... seafood was good and priced right, Smokin' Oyster Brewery. The SOB beer was good and the seafood was fresh and Island Cow had good food and service. The resort itself was nice and clean and staff friendly ... Pool was nice and maintained well. Room clean and equipped with most of what you may need to use. Kitchen could have been updated. We had fun at Flippers the restaurant that is at the resort... Bucket of fun was good and the kitchen made some SPECIAL appetizers that I asked for. Both lunch and dinner food was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Ridge, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our first stay at Lover’s Key Resort and I would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Location: Located off the beaten path from the crowded and touristy Fort Myers beach. Location is absolutely perfect if you want a relaxing, quiet, beach, pool vacation. Located right next to Lovers Key State Park – Literally across the street and the park is huge with kayaking rentals, bike rentals, beach, trails, etc. There is one on site waterfront restaurant that was very popular with locals, guests and passing boaters – so the afternoon next to the pool/bar will add some fun to your visit. A great option to have right downstairs as there are no other restaurants nearby! Great pool downstairs which is right next to the restaurant and overlooking the bay – amazing views and you are guaranteed to see dolphin and manatee. We brought our paddle boards and woke up every single morning and launched literally directly in front of the resort. Perfect place to bring your own paddle boards, canoe or kayaks. I was very happy to be away from the crowded, touristy, and traffic of Fort Myers Beach. On one night for dinner, we drove into the town square which was about 20 minutes away. There is zero shopping or stores within walking distance of the hotel. The location is not ideal if you’re looking to shop or try different restaurants and nightlife – but absolutely perfect if you want to relax in peace and enjoy nature and the beach.


Resort/Room: The resort is actually a condo / apartment building. There are some people that live there full time, but I think a lot of the owners rent via the “resort”. Check in was super easy and the staff at the desk extremely nice. We stayed in PH4 (penthouse) one bedroom apartment. Gorgeous views from every room and the balcony. We watched countless number of manatee and dolphin, and you can enjoy both a sunrise and sunset from the balcony. PH4 was very clean, comfortable and had every single thing we needed – kitchen fully stocked with plates, wine glasses, wine opener, silverware, pots pans etc. Our room was located at the end of the hall on a corner and was extremely quiet. The only noise we heard were from boats and jet skis, and since we also overlooked the pool and restaurant we would occasionally hear some noise during the afternoon – however perfectly quiet at night. There is a fitness center (which we didn’t use as we got our workout paddle boarding!!). The pool is great - the lobby will provide you with beach towels, and there seemed to be plenty of chairs. The is a waterfall in the center of the pool, a hot tub on the side, and the pool is directly connected to the patio/outdoor restaurant for you to easily get drinks and lunch. The pool is directly on the water and there are great views.

Beach – During low tide the resort has a small beach. High tide it is very tiny to almost nonexistent. However, a very short walk across the street and you’ll have miles of beach to enjoy any time of day – Lovers Key Park beach is directly across the street and you will find no shortage of white powdery sand to enjoy! The hotel not located directly on the Gulf – instead is located on a bay, overlooking a huge estuary – however, you are directly across the street from the Gulf and the Gulf beaches.

Overall I would stay at Lover’s Key Resort again and I would definitely recommend it to others. However, as mentioned, if you are looking for a party scene and want to go out nightly to the bars, restaurants, etc then this place is probably a little too far from those areas.

Room Tip: PH4 had amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charelston, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just a beautiful place to rest, relax and play. Our room overlooked the gulf (over Lover's Key state park) and the bay waters. I like the west side because the sunsets are fabulous. Lover's Key state park is great with its powder white sand beaches, beautiful shells, kayak excursions and green waters to float in. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a designer tropical pool with a waterfall. The pool and hot tub overlook the waters of the bay and are located next to the small quaint Flipper's restaurant. Flipper's offers a great breakfast, lunch and dinner (many gourmet dishes) overlooking the bay waters where often the dolphins put on a show as you eat. The hotel is one of only 3 buildings on this island (but close to local shopping, eateries, and night life entertainment) and provides daily maid service, fresh towels for enjoying the pool and a friendly helpful staff. On-site washers and dryers make it convenient to keep clean clothes during an extended stay. My husband and I went for a week long get away and enjoyed our 5th floor resort suite with a kitchen, king bed and a queen sofa bed, 2 flat screen TV's , dishwasher, coffee maker and much more to make our stay comfy. Too many local activities to list. Just an all around great place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Myers, Fl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

For those of us who live in the Naples, Ft Myers area, we have a fantastic resort tucked away on Black Island called "Lovers Key Resort" Ever since 2000 we have been going yearly for a great staycation right in our backyard. Alway getting room 1105 or 1205 with the absolute best view of the bay. Floor to ceiling windows looking out on all of the waters wildlife swimming by. Great shows from the dolphins and manatee's swimming by or feeding on the favorite morsels right in front of the resort. Beautiful sunsets every night can be seen from pool deck, restaurant tables or right from your room. Early in the am you can sit on your private balcony with a great cup of coffee watching the local fisherman as they head out to the Gulf of Mexico to get their catch for the day.
The rooms are condo type accommodations fit for a king. kitchen, living room, master bedroom with a bathroom big enough for 8 people. Check out their web site for details and pictures. Pool, hot tub, a beach to pull your boat up to. A great restaurant, Flippers is located right on the property with the best view of the bay found anywhere locally. Fantastic food, drinks and service. The lead chef, Jaun, meanders out into the dinning space to greet and discuss the evenings specials and whatever else pops up. Eric, the manager, keeps thing flowing smoothly and ensures the drinks are never left empty to long. Living in SW Florida for 15 years were lucky to find Lovers Key and Flippers at the very beginning and have been enjoying both ever since.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

New, modern and clean rooms, friendly stuff, great restaurant, easy beach and city access, close to the park. Great place to have a nice vacation there. Nice and clean swimming pool, Jacuzzi. Amazing view from the balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Nice, clean, comfortable room overlooking the water. It was more like a little apartment. We remarked that we felt we were on a cruise ship - lots of boats going by and the water was peaceful. We loved the restaurant on site called Flippers - great food and staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool/water area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.