We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful water views, fantastic food, stellar service, spacious views!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful water views, fantastic food, stellar service, spacious views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at lovers key resort! The deluxe suite was very spacious. Only potential room update could be to upgrade the mattress. But the floor to ceiling water views were wonderful, as pictured online! We ate at the restaurant everyday and enjoyed the chef's creations! The food was great! People were very friendly. Even though there isn't an official swimming beach, the resort is right up on the water and we watched the frequent boaters dock at the restaurant, also watching the tide and looking for dolphins was fun too! We would visit again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    68
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
48
157
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We wanted to be outside of the huge spring break crowds at Fort Myers Beach and Sanibel. The location of this resort, just over the bridge from Ft. Myers Beach, was perfect. We paid a little extra for a premium room on a higher floor. We had a huge balcony with access from the bedroom and living room, with water views in all directions. This room was booked through the resort but appeared to be privately owned or a timeshare. It was full of amenities like a stereo and dvd players. We had a good sized kitchen, with full size refrigerator and dishwasher and plenty of dishes, pots and pans. Everything was clean and the linens and other amenities were high quality.

Right across the street is Lover's Key State Park, which is expansive. The park has plenty of water and paved trails and rents bikes, kayaks and canoes. There is a tram to the beach or it is an easy walk. The beach is beautiful and not crowded, even during spring break. You can rent nice beach chairs and umbrellas and there is food and clean bathrooms. The shelling is fantastic.

The resort is a few miles from a strip mall in Fort Myers that has a CVS, liquor store, and several good restaurants. There is also a restaurant on site, Flippers.

Our stay here was perfect and we will definitely recommend it to others, although I do think rooms vary a little because it is not a hotel. The value was much better than staying in Sanibel accommodations, which was so crowded it was impossible to even drive through.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had read some of the reviews and became a bit nervous about staying. Only a couple of things keeps me from giving it 5 stars. The rooms are dated, but they are clean and that was what is important. The views are fantastic. Pay the extra money for a room higher up.
You do have to travel a bit to the nice beach. We found the best option was to tke the inexpensive trolly ride to lovers Key Park (Coolers Welcome). Chairs available for rent
Would definately return.
Restaurant had great food and wait service.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just finished our family vacation on Ft. Meyers Beach last week at Lovers Key Resort. We had an excellent experience, we got to know the staff at Flippers on the Bay (onsite waterfront restaurant) and called them our extended Flippers Family. The food was great and really unexpected from this smaller facility. The room had an excellent view of the Bay and Mangroves, we saw dolphins playing everyday we were there. I thought the rooms were very nice and clean, they are not the Ritz, but certainly not uncomfortable or distasteful. The resort staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions for local attractions. Can't wait until next year, we will most definitely be back. Thanks to everyone for making our trip special

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have a really great view of waterway. Ask about fishing charters too, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Sunrise was spectacular (our room faced east). The hotel was clean and modern but rather sterile. From the time we arrived and found the "reception" desk on the second floor there was just something that just felt very impersonal. All the rooms have great water views but you feel rather isolated and there is only a small restaurant (limited menu) on the premises that doesn't accept reservations. Unfortunately we visited during college week and the traffic was bad all week if you had to travel towards Ft. Myers which we did. I guess I need to live and learn about beach getaways during college week.

Room Tip: Upper floors 7 and above have better views. East facing for sunrise and west facing for sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this resort from an individual owner and ended up being totally satisfied. He had pictures of his unit, but I don't always find these to be true or updated. His unit (203) was directly over the bay and was completely updated. Newly painted, new flat screen TV's, all new furniture, new rugs, mattress .... everything..... it was fantastic. This unit was so clean that it made me feel bad when I had to leave it after staying in it. The resort was also newly redecorated ... all halls painted and new rugs.... its not on the Gulf side, but to me that did not matter. I was totally satisfied with the people that stayed at the resort (very friendly) and the entire place was super clean.

Room Tip: Get room 203 ... you will be totally happy and satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this resort. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about the accommodations, but we had a wonderful experience. The girl that checked us in (unfortunately I did not get her name) was very courteous and helpful. She even suggested other restaurants in the area in addition to Flippers next to the hotel. Our room on the 12th floor was very clean and updated. Beautiful views from the balcony and side window. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms face east, higher numbered rooms face west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.