We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just returned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just returned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this resort. After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive about the accommodations, but we had a wonderful experience. The girl that checked us in (unfortunately I did not get her name) was very courteous and helpful. She even suggested other restaurants in the area in addition to Flippers next to the hotel. Our room on the 12th floor was very clean and updated. Beautiful views from the balcony and side window. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: Lower numbered rooms face east, higher numbered rooms face west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    68
    18
    12
    3
See reviews for
48
157
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is year 10 or so for me visiting Lover's Key with various family members so clearly we love being here. I echo the last two comments in that upgrades are sorely needed in some units. We stayed in a resort unit the first few days...jacuzzi tub/shower was in need of some mold remediation. On the plus side, one staff member was very accommodating by letting us switch to a luxury room for the same price as our mother could not easily use the jacuzzi tub/shower. However, the room smelled of cigarette smoke (I thought all rooms were nonsmoking), the dishwasher was very rusted inside, and we couldn't for the life of us figure out how to change the toilet paper roll (when we actually HAD toilet paper)! The snarky comments from the dark haired woman at the front desk about having to go downstairs for one silly roll of TP were actually aimed at me (I wonder what she would have said had I asked her for a second roll). I would think that management would spend money first on updating the rooms instead of installing HE washers and dryers and redecorating the common areas...it's the rooms that people are paying for after all..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

For the money paid here, the experience is certainly mixed. Some units truly need updating while others are lovely. Lovers Key area is beautiful as always but this place could use a few updates and consistency, including with staff. Such a small thing as having toilet paper in our room for goodness sake, was overlooked. When we called down to the front desk upon arriving back from a day out (on Tuesday, 3-19-13 at 8PM, a dark-haired woman snipily told us to come down and get it. When we went down to the front desk, one roll sat on the front desk and we got more attitude. For this money, anyone should be able to expect more service, and certainly not the bad attitude. That said, some of the staff has been wonderful. It's just not consistent which is really too bad, because Lovers Key area is so beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Some of the units in this condo building have been updated and some are still the same dreary original worn out carpet, ancient furniture, unpainted walls and outdated decor condition from years of use. Guess which one we had?
The view is great of the intercoastal waterways. There is no beach on the property but Lovers Key State Park is across the highway.
The front desk people are rude and unhelpful - the most constant face there is a gal named Kim and she rules what she will help with and what she won't with an iron-will that you'd think every courtesy was coming out of her pocket. The manager guy is super - but you don't see him often.
Housekeeping staff is friendly and helpful - obviously trying to make your stay as comfortable as they possibly can.
The pool has limited sunshine (only from 2-5pm), the rest of the time it is shaded by the building itself.

Room Tip: They say you can request a certain room but they won't guarantee you get it. Maybe you CAN requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff615, General Manager at Lovers Key Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. I apologize for anything less than a pleasant experience that you had with one of our staff members. Please know that I have addressed your comments and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We recently stayed here for a short getaway. The rooms are basically small condos. It is right on the bay- maybe 15 feet from the water- so the views are wonderful. The rooms have huge windows where you can watch dolphins and boaters. As others said, the rooms are a little dated but were very clean. This is a resort- there is no room service and luggage help, but that was fine. The attached restaurant, Flippers, has outdoor dining on the water and the food was great. I deducted a star as their website states there is a continental breakfast (there isn't) as others have mentioned. The front desk told me "it is only offered certain seasons- they were supposed to change that on our site". As others have mentioned this, I find it hard to believe that she was surprised. Any other top hotel I have stayed at would have offered something to compensate, not here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switz City, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days at Lovers Key Resort for our 40th anniversary and we absolutely fell in love with this resort! We had a very nice condo, very comfortable with everything we needed, wonderful friendly staff, beautiful pool area and waterfall, and Flippers bar and restaurant was everything and more!! We will definitely stay here again!! The area is quiet and away from all the hustle and bustle, but it is on the water so we had beautiful views all day long. A wonderful anniversary vacation that left us with beautiful memories!!! Thanks, Lovers Key Resort, for making our short vacation a memorable one!!! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in 701, a corner suite, and would choose it again. High enough for the beautiful water v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I selected Lovers Key based on location. We wanted to be in Fort Myers beach area without being right off of Bonita Beach Rd, where there is a lot of traffic & congestion and were not looking for the typical hotel amenities for this trip.
The upside was that the area is secluded, quiet, in walking distance to a private beach, access to pool & marina and great for relaxation. The downside is that it is not near any other restaurants excpet for Flippers Restaurant located on hotel & condo property, no shopping or stores at or near the hotel and you need to drive thru Fort Myers beach to get to your destination. The drive itself is very nice and scenic, but not convenient if you want to be near your hotel.
The hotel room was a very cozy, spacious 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen, jacuzzi tub and balcony. We booked floors 9-12 which are more expensive but have beautiful views of dolphins swimming and Estrero Bay. I don't get the reviews about the hotel room being out of date, it is not a full service hotel such as the Hilton or Westin. It has a nice laid back waterfront condo feel to it. If you are looking for a fancy room, or a hotel with entertainment, activites, room service, concierge & spa services, etc. this is not the hotel for you, but is great if you are with adults and are looking for rest & relaxation.

Room Tip: The Lovers Key Website says there is continental breakfast included which is falsely advertised sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.