We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Save Saved
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Switz City, IN
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome resort!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 days at Lovers Key Resort for our 40th anniversary and we absolutely fell in love with this resort! We had a very nice condo, very comfortable with everything we needed, wonderful friendly staff, beautiful pool area and waterfall, and Flippers bar and restaurant was everything and more!! We will definitely stay here again!! The area is quiet and away from all the hustle and bustle, but it is on the water so we had beautiful views all day long. A wonderful anniversary vacation that left us with beautiful memories!!! Thanks, Lovers Key Resort, for making our short vacation a memorable one!!! :)

Room Tip: We stayed in 701, a corner suite, and would choose it again. High enough for the beautiful water v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    63
    17
    11
    2
See reviews for
45
137
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I selected Lovers Key based on location. We wanted to be in Fort Myers beach area without being right off of Bonita Beach Rd, where there is a lot of traffic & congestion and were not looking for the typical hotel amenities for this trip.
The upside was that the area is secluded, quiet, in walking distance to a private beach, access to pool & marina and great for relaxation. The downside is that it is not near any other restaurants excpet for Flippers Restaurant located on hotel & condo property, no shopping or stores at or near the hotel and you need to drive thru Fort Myers beach to get to your destination. The drive itself is very nice and scenic, but not convenient if you want to be near your hotel.
The hotel room was a very cozy, spacious 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen, jacuzzi tub and balcony. We booked floors 9-12 which are more expensive but have beautiful views of dolphins swimming and Estrero Bay. I don't get the reviews about the hotel room being out of date, it is not a full service hotel such as the Hilton or Westin. It has a nice laid back waterfront condo feel to it. If you are looking for a fancy room, or a hotel with entertainment, activites, room service, concierge & spa services, etc. this is not the hotel for you, but is great if you are with adults and are looking for rest & relaxation.

Room Tip: The Lovers Key Website says there is continental breakfast included which is falsely advertised sinc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I made reservations at Lovers Key Resort based on all the good reviews. We simply don't get it. We reserved a "luxury room" (an upgrade from their "resort rooms") on the 9th floor. Yes, the views were great, but that was the only thing that was good. The room was so outdated, I actually called down to the desk to make sure we were in a luxury room. The TVs were old style, the blinds and furniture were worn out, the garbage disposal smelled rotten, the shower was tiny and the bathroom needed updating. But probably worst of all were the fake potted plants and flowers on the front room and dining room tables and in the bedroom--which were dusty and grimy! To top it off we went to have a drink at Flippers and the bartender was extremely rude. I realize Flippers is not owned by the resort, but it was the straw that broke the camel's back. We had originally made our reservation for 3 nights, but stayed for only 1. I will say that the staff was cordial about giving us a refund, so I thank them for that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family was looking for a quiet few days near nature with comfortable, upscale accommodations. We enjoyed the beautiful view of the bay and the large living space in our unit. We had delightful breakfast meals at Flippers, and my husband and I enjoyed our drinks/dessert at Flippers one evening. I thought the furnishings, toiletries and interior of the accommodations were slightly below standard for the price we paid for the room, but they were sufficient. I'm sure we will come back. Staff at Flippers and housekeeping staff was very nice. Would have been great for front desk staff to offer information about the local area when we arrived. There were used sheets on the pull out sofa when we got there and opened it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife and i just spent Christmas here. 5 days 4 nites. Words can not express the views from your room....we saw manatees and dolphins from our balcony every day. Lovers Key State Park beach is so private and pristine.
The food at Flippers was fantastic.The staff was so helpful and polite.
This is definatly a place we will return to.
If you go make sure to book directly with Lovers key Resort so you can enjoy the amenities.
Im at a loss for words, you just have to see it for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spectacular!!!! Wow, everything was perfect from the moment we got here, spectacular views, room and food. Great place for relaxing For 2or 3 days.
The front desk greeting, by Chanlier, the breakfast and dinners at Flippers on the bay, was quite a surprise, most tiki dining experience are usually average,but that was not the case here, dinner was exceptional good, the kind that would usually cost much more, my compliments to the Chef Wan!!!!! I am definitely going to make this an annual Bday event ,,,,

Room Tip: All are corner rooms and great views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This resort is gorgeous ! Location is gorgeous ! Almost perfect !
Unless you get locked out of your room after hours then you are screwed as no one is at the front desk past 9pm .
In our case one of our party was unable to get in their room with the key card and there was no one to assist them at the front desk . No answering service , no guest services , nadda , nothing !
It wasn't until the fire alarm went off and the fire department came, that someone from the resort showed up to help !
Other than that everything was exquisite !

Room Tip: Bay side rooms have the best view , but all the rooms have a nice view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.