We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Spectacular Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Key Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Key Resort to your Saves list
Lovers Key Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I booked a two night stay at the resort for her Birthday. Our suite was fantastic with an awsome view of Estero Bay and Lovers Key.The resort staff was very friendly and professional. We dined at the resort restaurant, Flippers and found the food, service and views to be wonderful. This is a great location for both couples and families. We loved it.

Paul & Jackie
Naples, Florida

Room Tip: Our suite was on the 12th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    79
    20
    13
    3
See reviews for
52
173
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We had a little problem checking in as we thought dogs were allowed. We were not allowed to bring the 3 month old puppy in,so we snuck him in. No way we were driving back to Miami.

So, once inside it was clean, it had good amenities, pool was nice & the room was big. Didn't interact with the hotel staff much but the times we did they were helpful. Restaurant was ok, nothing to rave about, just simple good food. Well definitely recommend & stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just returned from another great trip to Lover's Key Resort near Ft Myers Beach. This must be at least our 10th visit over the past 10 years or so and again it did not disappoint. We got what we expected through reservations and the front desk staff quickly got us checked in and up to our room. The view wasn't the best as we were only on the 3rd floor but it was still nice.

The suites are great for families as mom and dad can have the bedroom while the kids sleep in the living room. Our two (9 and 6) share the soft pretty well. There is room for a sleeping bag if need be.

A nice surprise were the improvements made at Flippers, the adjacent waterside restaurant. They have made some ADA (accessibility) upgrades and installed restrooms. And, they have a new chef that not only had some great dishes but also had a great personality. Very likeable. Really enjoyed the fish tacos. Good wings too and a neighboring table raved about the hamburger.

Also of note is that the "included breakfast" that we always got is now served at Flippers instead of in the resort itself. We had choice of pancakes, eggs made to order, cereals and fruit. A much more pleasant experience eating breakfast bayside than in the cramped quarters of the small area they had reserved in the resort. Would it be that hard to add waffles to the offerings?

Kids would like a waterslide at the pool but the waterfall keeps them entertained. There is a playground just down the street in the State Park. Probably walkable in the cooler months.

We added a third night but had to move rooms in order to do so. No problems there either and a slighly better view overlooking the pool. Saw some dolphins and a number of birds. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Over the week of the 4th of July my wife and I were able to sneek a trip to Lovers Key Resort. From the second we checked in, we knew we picked well! The staff was friendly and helpful at all times. When we got to our room, the view was stunning! We were on the 8th floor and overlooked the bay. From our first drinks at Flippers (which we loved both the food and the atmosphere) and the grouper sandwich (a must have), nothing but smiles from us. We had friends with kids join us after lunch and they swam in the pool. The kids lovef the pool and the waterfall. Then we were able to see all the fireworks from Bonita to Ft Myers. Wonderful!

One thing though, our stay was amazing, but to be far in a review, the hallway (at least on our floor) did not have Air Conditioning working...and it was a little toasty. When we talked to management, they said that this was being addressed. Also, the rooms are a little dated, but in certain ways made it feel a little more "beachy." I look forward to visiting there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple, planned a weekend getaway to Ft Myers Beach and were glad we chose Lovers Key Resort, but would make some changes for the next time. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location and the views from the balcony and windows were awesome. Our room, 606, had a balcony where you could see the bay and the gulf. Unfortunately, our bed was terrible and I was so sorry I forgot to bring my pillow from home! There are no upgraded pillows, and Sheila was less than friendly or hospitable upon our check in. I felt we were interrupting her in doing something more important than welcoming paying guests to the hotel. The quicker we were gone, the better. Another desk clerk and hotel worker who we encountered were much more friendly and representative of a quality property. The complimentary breakfast was a choice of either eggs or pancakes at Flipper's Restaurant downstairs and the wait staff and chef did a wonderful job. From the open window where we sat, we saw dolphins frolicking in the bay. The restaurant also has a full bar available.

Room Tip: Be sure your room is NOT 606 for a good night's sleep. Find one with a pillowtop, and bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

From the moment we entered the lobby we were looking forward to a great stay. The staff were helpful and friendly and everything was clean and organized. We had room 1201, the apartment was awesome, very clean, modern, relaxing and had an incredible water views for the floor to ceiling windows. The fully functional kitchen was a pleasant surprise. Dinner at Flippers was excellent and well worth the price. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My family and I went over to this hotel to spend the weekend away in Fort Myers Beach. We've stayed all over Fort Myers Beach and choose a different hotel everytime trying to find the perfect one for us. First off it is a little annoying to drive past the hotel another 10 minutes to the Flamingo Inn to pick up the key.

Once we checked in the room was ok. It definitely needs updating and some upkeep to the room. My daughter who is crawling ended up with dirty knees, feet and hands which tells me the carpet needs to be cleaned better,. I went to cook and reached into a bowl only to find it was greasy and not cleaned at all. Along with a few cups were stained and dirty. The cleaning people need to do a better job.

The bedroom and bathroom were very dark a few more lights would make it so much better. and the beds were awful. Both my husband and I woke up with a back ache after sleeping.

Just for the night it was fine but If we had planned to stay longer like a week I would have been really disappointed. This place could be really nice if they remodeled it and kept it cleaner!

The pool and the location were great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff615, General Manager at Lovers Key Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. Please know that all of our direct resort bookings will in fact check in with us at our front desk here on site. Our guests also enjoy all of the resorts' amenities including a complimentary continental breakfast, in room coffee, pool towels, and daily housekeeping service.

We are not involved in reservations made through an agency or private party. We also do not oversee the accommodations or amenties provided in non resort units.

We look forward to hopefully having you return as one of our guests here at Lovers Key Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Key Resort

Address: 8771 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lovers Key Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the islands of Southwest Florida is a tropical oasis known for its impeccable beauty and amazing wildlife. Escape to an intriguing island getaway where dreams become reality. •Situated on a small almost private island •Centrally located between Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach, Bonita Springs and Naples. •Breathtaking Views of Estero Bay, Lovers Key State Park, Gulf of Mexico •Adjacent to Lovers Key State Park with unspoiled beaches and secluded hideaways •Featured with Lovers Key State Park as number 4 on the Travel Channel's Top Ten Florida Beaches •Of course, we can't forget to mention our sensational SW Florida sunsets and star gazing in the evenings from your private balcony. See for yourself why our guests consider us their personal hideaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lovers Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lovers Key Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lovers Key Beach Hotel
Beach Key Lover
Hotel Lovers Key Beach
Lovers Key Beach Florida
Lover Key Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Key Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.