We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GullWing Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added GullWing Beach Resort to your Saves list
GullWing Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free!
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Avella, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Beach Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is the 4th or 5th time we have stayed at the Gullwing, we love the location and waking up to a view of the ocean every morning makes your day! We have a lot of family in the area and Gullwing is always a great place to have everyone come to the beach. The staff is always happy to help with parking passes for any of our family staying overnight. We had a wonderful stay this year as always.

Room Tip: ask for high floor if you are going for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream M, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Robin K,
Thank you so much for always making GullWing Beach Resort you choice when staying on beautiful Fort Myers Beach. Nothing makes me happier than knowing we can give you a fantastic experience stay after stay. Your happiness truly is our top priority. Thank you again and we are looking forward to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    74
    11
    7
    0
See reviews for
187
59
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Eevrything just perfect. The most friendly and nice staff ever, beatiful room(had a 3 bedroom ocean view) Perfect beach, just a few footsteps from the pool. Will for sure go back, and will not even check other options!

Room Tip: Ocean view! Love waking up, looking directly at the beach and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream M, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Erik J,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at GullWing Beach Resort. I'm excited to hear that you had a fantastic time and happy our staff was a big part of that. We truly do try to give each guest a special experience. You're happiness is our number one goal. Thank you again for staying with us and for your kind words, we are already looking forward to seeing you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Highlights: Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Rates are very reasonable. Property is well maintained. Very good location (away from the craziness of downtown Ft. Myers Beach, but close enough to experience the best of Ft. Myers. Free internet service in the rooms.

Concerns: There is a large area that holds water between the hotel an the beach. It is very unpleasant to have to walk through to get to the beach area. The internet was not very fast and could be upgraded. Property does need some capital improvements such as replacing the carpets, updating furniture, improving internet speeds, etc.

Overall, a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Take the lower priced rooms. They still have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream M, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Jmorgan22,
Thank you very much for staying with us at GullWing Beach Resort on beautiful Fort Myers Beach. I'm pleased to hear that our staff was able to take great care of you. We truly do strive to exceed expectations at every opportunity. Your happiness really is our top priority. Yes when it rains certain sections of our wide beach hold a couple inches of water. It's just a lagoon that does disappear after a couple days without rain. We are always in the process of upgrading our property, keeping it fresh and new for our future guests. Some fantastic upgrades are planned for the future and we know you'll really enjoy them. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Deluxe family appartments just at the beach at Ft Myers Beach. Perfect location for beach vacation. Nice appartments in very good conditions. Friendly and helpful staff. Only beach is a little dirty and smells "fishy" and would need some clean up.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream M, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Grizzly1967,
Thank you very much for staying with us at GullWing Beach Resort on beautiful Fort Myers Beach. I'm excited to hear that you enjoyed our large suites and beach front location. We really do strive to make all our guests feel as if they are at their home away from home. We do clean the beach every day so that our guests get the best possible experience. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We held our bi-annual family reunion at Gull Wing, last week, there were 40 of us, and we rented 8 condos, as well as the conference room for a 3 day weekend. I can not say enough about the cleanliness of the entire property, all the rooms, the pool the hallways, the public bathrooms were meticulous. The staff on site was spectacular, from the front desk to the snack bar, to the landscapers, they all greeted with smiles and offers of help, and there were so many of them! We absolutely loved this place and are planning on re-booking, next time for a week, 3 days was not enough. If there was one thing that I had to say as critique, it would be that we wish there had be key card entry to the conference room, instead of only 1 key on a big stick to share for 40 people, we made it work, but if we could have given one key (card) to each condo, it would have been perfect. We love this place and you will too!

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfectly located to an elevator, we were on the 8th floor, maybe lower floors wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream M, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Vicki V,
Thank you so much for choosing GullWing Beach Resort as the location for your family reunion. I'm extremely pleased to hear that your group had a fantastic time and found the property to be perfect for your needs. I'm also happy to hear our staff did a great job of taking care of you, we truly do strive to give each guest a special experience. Thank you again and we do hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first time at Gullwing. We have previously stayed at other Sunstream resorts, but this year we wanted a 3 bedroom oceanfront condo. Beautiful, spacious and clean. Georgous view of the ocean from our balcony. Pool is small and very crowded but the beach is terrific.

Room Tip: Pick oceanfront, but in the higher rooms as to avoid pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream M, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear J P,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at GullWing Beach Resort on beautiful Fort Myers Beach. I'm excited to hear that you had a wonderful first stay with us and happy you enjoyed your three-bedroom suite. Your comfort and happiness are our number one goal. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

During our 3 weeks Florida roundtrip we were looking for a beach hotel at Fort Myers Beach. We found GullWing on TripAdvisor and made a reservation for 3 days based on the good reviews. Check in was quick and the staff was helpfull. We expected a large condo, but when we entered, it exceeded our expectations. The condo is huge and spotless!! The halway is endless, the living room is gigantic with a separate wet bar and dining space. The open kitchen is well equipped and also has a bar. Bedrooms are very good and the master bedroom has a separate large walk-in closet. We had a beach side condo and we loved the balcony. It was large with enough furniture, completely covered with a thin mosquito net. This held the mosquitos out, but we could see right through it and we did. What a view!. The beach of Fort Myers Beach is like 100 meters wide and covered with almost white powder sand, beautiful. We spend a lot of time on the balcony, watching the beach, the sea and the sunset. Master bathroom is huge with a jacuzzi and separate shower. This is the only negative point that I could find: the water pressure is very low. GullWing offers luxurious condo's, so you expect water pressure to be good. The swimming pool is fine, with enough sun beds. From the pool there is a wooden walk path to the beach. Also there is a separate section with a number of outside Weber kitchens/grills for guests to be used. At the front desk they offer complimentary coffee/tea the whole day and they have games and books that you could lend. There is a CVS on walking distance, or you can lend a free bike and a Publix on 5 minutes drive. Thank you very much GullWing for a few unforgettable days. I give a 5 star rating!

Room Tip: The beach front condo's have an awesome beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream M, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Travelleroftheworld,
Thank you so much for staying with us at GullWing Beach Resort. I'm excited to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and found your suite to be large and well equipped. We really want our guests to feel as if they are at their home away from home when staying with us. Fort Myers Beach really is a special paradise and we are located on the widest stretch of sand on the island, all for you to enjoy. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GullWing Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GullWing Beach Resort

Address: 6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GullWing Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet south end of Fort Myers Beach, GullWing features 66, one, two and three bedroom suites with fully appointed kitchens, spacious living & dining areas, private balconies, Jacuzzi tubs & fluffy white robes in every suite. Amenities include: white sandy beach, tennis, outdoor spa, barbecue & gazebo area, fitness center. Golf, watersports, restaurants & shopping are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your GullWing Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullwing Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Gullwing Beach Fort Myers
Gullwing Fort Myers
Gullwing Beach Resort Fort Myers
Gullwing Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GullWing Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.