We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GullWing Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added GullWing Beach Resort to your Saves list
GullWing Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is simply the best place I ever stayed. It was quite a drive from home but it was worth it because we felt right at home. The view from the balcony was great and we enjoyed all the amenities. The staff was also nice and very helpful.
Lovely place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStream-Management, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Mamadou D,
Thank you very much for staying with us at GullWing Beach Resort. I'm excited to hear we are the best place you have ever stayed! Nothing makes us happier than giving you the best Fort Myers Beach experience possible. Our entire team makes it a goal to give each guest a memorable stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    77
    11
    7
    0
See reviews for
191
62
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

we loved staying at the Gullwing. this was our 1st time their. big rooms and very clean. great views of the beach. everyone their was very nice and helpfull. we are hoping to go back next year.we are telling our family and friends about the Gullwing. we love Ft.Myers Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamRV, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Robyn753,
Thank you very much for staying with us at GullWing Beach Resort. I'm excited to hear you had a great first experience at our property, nothing makes us happier than giving each guest a memorable Fort Myers Beach vacation. Thank you for telling others about your stay and we are already looking forward to seeing you back next year!

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonner Springs, Kansas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed at the Gullwing many times now with the last trip being in July 2013. We love it here. The rooms are spacious and clean. They have great views and a nice huge beach that never seems to crowded. The pool is not large, however its rarely very busy. You also have access to the resort next doors pool area. The staff is always friendly and helpful. The only thing we aren't crazy about is that it is not very close to town square (which has its perks, ex-Beach not overly crowded). They do offer a trolley that runs back and forth to times square which is very convenient. It is within walking distance of a few restaurants, bars, gas stations, and pharmacies which is nice. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Would recommend the ocean view, but all of them have been great that we have had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Samantha T,
Thank you very much for staying with us over the years. Nothing makes us happier than being able to give our guests a fantastic experience time after time. I'm pleased to hear that you had another great stay this past July. Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ppraisegod
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Once again we traveled to Ft. Myers Beach for the holiday.

We were very impressed with the staff at the hotel. We have stayed here before and have never been so warmly greeted. The units are individually owned . The DVD player didn't work but with one visit to the desk , the night person was sent to our room. After it was decided the DVD was a 1990 model he installed an updated model that worked.

Our unit opened into a large open room with a good size kitchen off to the right. We were able to cook without problems for the large dinner. There was a table that sat 6 and a bar with more seats. The TV in the main room was huge!

The views were of the island and were beautiful with two balconies.

We really feel like with the excellent staff and the beautiful units this is a must stay in Ft. Myers Beach.

The only thing we didn't like was that all the beds were doubles in the two extra rooms. We would have preferred two singles in each room for the kids.

Our check out on 12/1/2013 was just as amazing as the check in. We have traveled all over the world and a caring staff at check in and out makes such a difference.

Room Tip: 1201 was a nice room but doesn't have twin beds in the extra bedrooms and is next to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear ppraisegod,
Thank you very much for staying with us at GullWing Beach Resort. I'm excited to hear that you had a great stay with us and that our staff was able to give you a great check-in and check-out experience. Our entire team strives to exceed guest expectations and give each person a special and memorable Fort Myers Beach vacation. Thank you again and we are looking forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We just returned from another fantastic stay at the Gull Wing in South Ft. Myers Beach. If you love a relaxed vacation with spectacular sunsets, this is the place.

If you fly in to Ft. Myers, head south on I-75, and exit on 116, turn west on Bonita Beach Rd. Just stay on that road and it will turn north at the beach and take you to the Gull Wing. The traffic is way lighter this direction, and you will get to the condo faster. If you drive through Ft. Myers Beach, you can sit in traffic for quite a while.

The Gull Wing can be a different place for many different age groups and tastes. If you have little kids, the pool and beach are awesome. There is a new snack bar at the pool to make your stay more convenient. Teens and young adults will not only love the pool and beach, but will want to take a short cab ride or drive north to the town of Ft. Myers Beach and enjoy the night life. There is a movie theater almost across the street, where you can eat dinner while you watch a movie, and many restaurants within walking distance.

Gather your fishing buddies and spend the morning or afternoon in the back bays with a guide and small boat. The fishing is really exciting, and you don't have to worry about rough water. If you want to get a bigger boat and fish offshore, you can do that too.

The beach is just magical. The sand is extremely white and fine, and even on the hottest days it really doesn't get that hot. This is one of the widest beaches that I have been on. It is very well maintained, and there are umbrellas, chairs and lounges available. You can almost always count on seeing two things, dolphins and amazing sunsets. After the sun sets, especially if there is a full moon, the beach is surreal. It's almost like that scene in the movie Contact, with Jodie Foster, when she meets her Dad on the beach.

If you want to get to the condo and just cook your own food, this is a great place to do it. Once you go to the local Publix grocery store just a mile or two to the north, you really don't have to leave the resort.

Even though this is a condo, it operates like a hotel. The reception area is very well equipped and friendly. There are some really nice touches like free coffee and a mini convenience store.

If you look at the whole package that the Gull Wing offers, it adds up to a 10. We have been there many times, and will continue to go back.

Room Tip: The beach view is always the best, but all of the units are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Brad B,
Thank you very much for staying with us again at GullWing Beach Resort! It sounds like you had a great vacation and I'm happy we could be a part of it. I'm pleased to hear you loved our large suites and friendly staff. We truly do strive to make each guest feel like they are at their home away from home. Fort Myers Beach is definitely known for its magical sunsets and soft white sand, I'm glad you and your family enjoyed them. Thank you again and we hope to see back soon!

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Love this resort, have been there 2 it is right in the beautiful beach, close enough to walk to some restaurants and the movies. Every time we go I find lots of shells and sand dollars! The staff is friendly, you can rent beach chairs and umbrellas right at the beach. The unit has everything you could need, for a relaxing and fun vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Lori B,
Thank you very much for staying with us again! I'm pleased to hear you had another great Fort Myers Beach getaway and were able to find lots of shells and sand dollars. We love to exceed the expectations of our guests and make everyone feel right at home at GullWing Beach Resort. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just returned from a relaxing week at the Gullwing Resort. We booked through Sunwing and got the car, flight and suite for a great price. We we're suppose to be getting a one bedroom, but when we checked in they gave us a 1400 square foot two bedroom suite. It was fabulous and has totally spoiled us for future holidays. We went to the Edison Ford winter homes and enjoyed that. We also went for an airboat ride in the Everglades.

The shells on the beach are endless. If you go out for a walk on the beach when the tide is out you will see lots of live starfish, conchs, sand dollars.

The best restaurant we ate at was recommended by the hotel and it was called the fresh catch bistro

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunStreamResorts, General Manager at GullWing Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Donna783,
Thank you very much for staying with us at GullWing Beach Resort. I'm happy to hear you had a great vacation and I'm glad we could be a part of it. It sounds like you did some amazing things during your time here. Yes, our beaches are a sea shell hunters paradise and the wildlife in and around the sea is simply beautiful. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Curt Brenner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GullWing Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GullWing Beach Resort

Address: 6620 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GullWing Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the quiet south end of Fort Myers Beach, GullWing features 66, one, two and three bedroom suites with fully appointed kitchens, spacious living & dining areas, private balconies, Jacuzzi tubs & fluffy white robes in every suite. Amenities include: white sandy beach, tennis, outdoor spa, barbecue & gazebo area, fitness center. Golf, watersports, restaurants & shopping are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GullWing Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gullwing Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Gullwing Beach Fort Myers
Gullwing Fort Myers
Gullwing Beach Resort Fort Myers
Gullwing Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GullWing Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.