We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to Stay for Class Reunion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites to your Saves list
Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1051 5th Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2699   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Location to Stay for Class Reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Wow, I don't understand why there are negative reviews for this property - my wife and I were treated quite well. From the reservation process to the check-out, the staff were very kind, professional and helpful. They were great in facilatating our late arrival. Our room (cottage) location was great (poolside, with waterfall; and the parking availability)!! Speaking about the room, it was quite qaint and met our needs (though it needs a "little" carpet help). Oh, and the bed/mattress; it was one of the best compared to other hotels, motels, and resorts we've stayed at. And the location of the property being across the street from the beach and it's shops and restaurants plus close proximity to other attractions and stores in "nearby" neighborhoods and cities make this ideal!! I definitely will recommend this to family and friends - go to the "Lighthouse Resort Inn and Suites" and "Let Your Light So Shine."" Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms/cottages on the east side of the property (on 4th street) are next to the pool with the waterf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim-TheWick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Lighthouse Inn and Resort was the perfect place to stay. It's within walking distance of all the Beach hot spots and has a great Tiki bar, right at poolside for when you don't want to leave the property. Our room was clean and updated and the staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieKavanaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The only good thing about this place is that it's close to the beach & the Tiki bar. The rooms are gross...smells like mold, mattresses are old, things are rigged. This place needs a total revamp!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roxy4Us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Myers Beach hotels

Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

....and in much better ones as well. My husband and I enjoy outdoorsy stuff, so we weren't so impressed by the hotel's proximity to local kitschy tourist shops and overpriced restaurants. The room was small and not terribly clean. I was frankly a bit worried about touching the bedspread. The tiki bar attracted some interesting folks..... Again, it was not the worst place ever, but I probably would never stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Checked out IMMEDIATELY due to the smell of mold, crud all over the kitchen area, bugs in the filthy bathroom and old broken down furniture. I've seen better rooms in SRO hotels.

Can't comment on the facilities because I did not stay long enough to sit down.

Buyer beware.

Room Tip: I'm told that the "newer" section is nicer, not that I stayed long enough to see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gators99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We booked this after having good luck following Hotels.com reviews in the past. This room was terrible. For starters, it was filthy dirty. The carpet was so gross, words cannot explain. The bed was broken, cricked, and caved in the middle. But that part of the room was a palace compared to the bathroom. The toilet was about 12-14 inches tall (not even a small standard size) and had less than 6 inches on each side. For two taller people (5'9" and 6'1") it made the stay impossible. I cannot even imagine how a smaller person finds comfort here, let along anyone larger than us! The shower was no better, barely any water pressure, luke warm water, and I could not even wash my hair without my elbows hitting the edge.

The website said updated - LIES. The roof was leaking, everything was old (and gross), and the room seemed damp. Dead bugs in the lamp fixtures, a half-working WINDOW air conditioner (the thermostat on the wall was old and must have been for decoration).

The worst part though - I woke up with a few bug bites I couldn't identify, a feeling of grime, and checked out early after one night, calling our vacation short. Even my Veteran husband who loves camping was mortified by this place.

The only good parts - the Tiki bar was awesome and Hotels.com refunded our money for tonight, so we only had to pay for the one night we stayed.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise -ask to be far from the Tiki Bar. (We didn't mind that part.) and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided late one Friday night to head up to FMB the following night just to get out of Naples for a bit. We booked our room online, sometime after 10pm, then went to bed. When we got up in the morning, my boyfriend had a voicemail from the hotel on the previous night saying that they had no rooms. We thought that was odd because the website let us book a room! So, we called the hotel, and, what do you know, they suddenly had a room! It was confusing and we didn't feel super confident that there would actually be a room when we started making our way up to FMB.

When we got to check-in at 3pm, there was a long line and only one person working the desk. I have a feeling another check-in agent didn't show up that day - a fully-booked hotel just doesn't leave one person to do all the check-ins alone. However, the agent who was working was very quick. When it was our turn, though, we were told our room wouldn't be ready in another 20-30 minutes. Sort of a bummer - BUT - and I say this because I see other people have complained about this very thing - SWEATING THE SMALL STUFF IS JUST NOT WORTH IT...especially on FMB. Checking in 20-30 minutes late is really small stuff, too, especially when there's a bar and pool right there next to check-in. So, we headed over to the bar, where we had 3 beers for $6. For real. The turn-around of our rocky start began!

When we headed back to check-in, the agent explained the debacle from the night before - while we were completing our reservation, the hotel filled up, leaving no rooms. However, when we called back, there had been a cancellation...of a room far larger than the one we originally booked. So, we got that new room at the price of the other one. Yay, upgrade! We stayed in room 622 in a suite with 2 queens, a kitchen, living/dining room area, and spacious bathroom. The room looked newly remodeled and was - no joke - bigger than my apartment. I've put people up in this hotel before and was expecting a tiny room, which would have been fine for our 22-hour vacation! This was a very pleasant surprise.

The hotel has an ideal central location and we were able to head in many directions for the evening. We only went to the pool by the tiki bar, and there were quite a few people there, but it was by no means uncomfortable. What I liked was that the pool had shade from the surrounding buildings. At so many other hotels, guests fight over umbrellas at the pool - here there was no need for them!

There's a fair amount of street/FMB noise at night, but that is to be expected, especially for a hotel at the foot of the Matanzas Pass bridge. We didn't have any problem sleeping through the night. If you're looking for quiet vacation, you might want to consider a different part of the island or Sanibel.

Here's where the Lighthouse won me over: we checked out at 9:30am and slowly headed back to Naples. At home 12 hours later I realized I left my treasured swimsuit in the hotel room bathroom. If you're a lady, you'll appreciate how valuable a cute, flattering swimsuit is - especially when it was one you splurged on. I called the hotel and they said they'd check with housekeeping in the morning. I was really bummed because it had already been half a day and I just figured it was tossed out - how many people ever want their swimsuits back this badly?

To my great surprise, the first thing Monday morning, I got a call from the hotel saying they found it! Housekeeping didn't toss it! They had a whole FedEx procedure set-up for me to retrieve it, but since I only live an hour away and I needed to go to Ft. Myers anyway, I just stopped by the hotel to pick it up. I cannot express how happy this made me (especially when I saw that the store that carries my ridiculous swimsuit doesn't have my size anymore).

Room Tip: Get a 6th floor suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#29 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#23 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#13 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,689 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#12 of 46 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites

Address: 1051 5th Street, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2699
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Lighthouse Resort Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Resort Inn And Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lighthouse Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Lighthouse Fort Myers Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing