We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort myers vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
columbus, United States
1 review
“Fort myers vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

air conditioner was noisy, but otherwise a nice place to stay. Pool was clean and we were located very close to everywhere we wanted to go. Hotel staff was very knowledgeable of the surrrounding area and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for the great review! We are glad to know our staff was so friendly and helpful during your visit. They pride themselves on their knowledge of the local area and they love to pass information along to our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    177
    48
    23
    13
See reviews for
151
212
33
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Spent a night here on my recent business travels and I enjoyed this property. I told my work associate it was Hampton Inn meets Residence Inn. I had a big two room suite with a kitchen and the package of popcorn waiting for me.
As others have said the AC is loud but I like it that ways as it helps me sleep...
The hotel itself is about 3 miles from the beach so make sure you plan that ahead. In the summer there are not too many people at the restaurants during the week and parking is free after 6pm.
Overall it was a big room and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent business trip! Great reviews such as yours are posted on our comment wall in the office of the hotel. We hope that you plan to return on your next visit to the Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Island area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coeburn, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Staff extremely nice- front desk very helpful- advised of public trolley to get you to the public beaches, so you would not need to drive personal vehicle. Hotel rooms very comfortable, clean, well supplied with towels, wash cloths. The Hotel was centrally located to various shopping locations and ball parks. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I would stay again if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Patricia,

Wow! Thank you so much for the amazing review! I will pass your wonderful comments to the various departments you mentioned, as they love hearing reviews like yours. It's also great to know you were able to take advantage of the Beach Trolley next door to the hotel. Please visit us again in the near future, as we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

It is a good pretty clean hotel. I thought it was closer to Fort Myers Beach. It was about 2-3 miles from it. The hotel has a very clean pool but small. There is no restaurant. They have a very small 24 hour snack bar next to the reception area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Alicia,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your visit with us. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and we hope you plan to stay with us in the future. I apologize that you thought we were closer to the beach than we actually are. Like you mentioned were are about 2.5 miles from Fort Myers Beach, but there is a Public Beach Trolley next door to the hotel that will take you directly to the beach for only .50 cents a person! The trolley runs 7 days a week from 7:00am-9:00pm.

Thank you again and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Having said that....the physical plant is very poor and not up to Hampton standards. There is no A/C in the hallways, A/C in rooms is loud, Lobby A/C is marginal. Also....it is difficult to get hot water in the mornings and their are no USB ports on the nightstands.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Dad05,

I am sorry your stay was not what you had hoped for. We noticed you have left similar surveys in the past and we have routinely refunded room nights to you. Despite our constant efforts we have been unable to improve the quality of your stay. Please contact me at 239-437-8888 x526 so we can learn what we need to do in order to create positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a newer Hampton. It is larger than most. Nice updated lobby. Good options for breakfast. Good bold roast coffee. Rooms and bathrooms are on the small side. But otherwise very nice. Pool area is pretty good for a Hampton. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Charles,

Thank you! Awesome reviews like this are what we strive for everyday here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Gateway. It's fantastic to know you enjoyed all of the updates we recently made during our renovation. Please come back and visit us again the next time your in the Greater Fort Myers Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here because we could not afford to stay on Sanibel Island. This hotel is close enough to Sanibel that it makes it a great place to stay if you want to hang out on Sanibel for the day but you just can't afford to stay on the island. The hotel had a nice pool area and their breakfast area was one of the larger ones that I have seen in a hotel. The staff was very friendly, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. This is something that we usually encounter while staying at Hampton Inns.

The breakfast was ok, this is an area that Hampton Inn needs to improve. When we first started staying at Hampton Inns, many, many years ago, their breakfast items were much better. Now, they seem to just be food that is microwaved and just placed out. The pancakes this visit were almost inedible. The coffee is always good, and the muffins and bagels were okay. It is just your average hotel breakfast.

I do like the fact that the bathroom had plenty of storage underneath the counter. It is nice to be able to move all that crap that hotels put on the counter underneath the counter, and then I was able to put my thngs on the counter :)

The AC unit in our room was so loud, that we really were not able to sleep. I wish hotels would do something about these types of units. They are so loud for such a small space.

The lacking breakfast and the AC being so loud is why I gave this stay an Average. If you are one of the lucky travelers that can sleep with the AC sounds, then you probably will rate this hotel a little higher than I did.

All in all, we would stay here again because we know what we will be getting for our money. I feel that Hampton Inns do a pretty good job for being a clean place to stay and for being a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Peggy,

Thank you for writing a review of your experience here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to having you here again in the future. I am pleased to know you enjoyed the convenience to Sanibel Island, the size of our Breakfast Area and our Freshly Brewed Coffee. We strive to go above and beyond for all of our guests and I am sorry that we weren't completely able to do this for you. I want to apologize that your HVAC was loud in your room. I have passed your review to our Engineering Team so the may resolve this. Like you mentioned, PTAC-HVAC's are always going to be slightly louder than your home Central A/C but it should not be so loud that you are unable to get a good nights sleep.

Your comments will only help us to improve and we are eager to have you here again so that we can provide you with a fantastic experience! We will resolve the issues you mentioned right away but if you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at 239-437-8888 x526 or by email at Charles.Stallings@hilton.com

Thank you again for writing such a detailed review and we hope you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Address: 11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally lcoated to the area's finest beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel-Captiva Islands. Start your day with our complimentary Hot Hampton Breakfast Buffet before heading out to some of Florida's best golf courses, shopping, and deep sea fishing. Boston Redsox and Minnesota Twins Spring Training venues are a short drive away. Or you may choose to take swim or catch some sun out at our heated tropical style pool. Our deluxe Cloud-Nine bedding will ensure great nights rest so you are ready to explore or kayak our unspoiled coastlines and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hampton Inn Fort Myers
Fort Myers Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.