We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #14 of 46 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A good place to stay for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

It is a good pretty clean hotel. I thought it was closer to Fort Myers Beach. It was about 2-3 miles from it. The hotel has a very clean pool but small. There is no restaurant. They have a very small 24 hour snack bar next to the reception area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Alicia,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your visit with us. We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel and we hope you plan to stay with us in the future. I apologize that you thought we were closer to the beach than we actually are. Like you mentioned were are about 2.5 miles from Fort Myers Beach, but there is a Public Beach Trolley next door to the hotel that will take you directly to the beach for only .50 cents a person! The trolley runs 7 days a week from 7:00am-9:00pm.

Thank you again and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    158
    45
    21
    13
See reviews for
138
182
29
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Having said that....the physical plant is very poor and not up to Hampton standards. There is no A/C in the hallways, A/C in rooms is loud, Lobby A/C is marginal. Also....it is difficult to get hot water in the mornings and their are no USB ports on the nightstands.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Dad05,

I am sorry your stay was not what you had hoped for. We noticed you have left similar surveys in the past and we have routinely refunded room nights to you. Despite our constant efforts we have been unable to improve the quality of your stay. Please contact me at 239-437-8888 x526 so we can learn what we need to do in order to create positive experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a newer Hampton. It is larger than most. Nice updated lobby. Good options for breakfast. Good bold roast coffee. Rooms and bathrooms are on the small side. But otherwise very nice. Pool area is pretty good for a Hampton. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Charles,

Thank you! Awesome reviews like this are what we strive for everyday here at the Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Gateway. It's fantastic to know you enjoyed all of the updates we recently made during our renovation. Please come back and visit us again the next time your in the Greater Fort Myers Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here because we could not afford to stay on Sanibel Island. This hotel is close enough to Sanibel that it makes it a great place to stay if you want to hang out on Sanibel for the day but you just can't afford to stay on the island. The hotel had a nice pool area and their breakfast area was one of the larger ones that I have seen in a hotel. The staff was very friendly, from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. This is something that we usually encounter while staying at Hampton Inns.

The breakfast was ok, this is an area that Hampton Inn needs to improve. When we first started staying at Hampton Inns, many, many years ago, their breakfast items were much better. Now, they seem to just be food that is microwaved and just placed out. The pancakes this visit were almost inedible. The coffee is always good, and the muffins and bagels were okay. It is just your average hotel breakfast.

I do like the fact that the bathroom had plenty of storage underneath the counter. It is nice to be able to move all that crap that hotels put on the counter underneath the counter, and then I was able to put my thngs on the counter :)

The AC unit in our room was so loud, that we really were not able to sleep. I wish hotels would do something about these types of units. They are so loud for such a small space.

The lacking breakfast and the AC being so loud is why I gave this stay an Average. If you are one of the lucky travelers that can sleep with the AC sounds, then you probably will rate this hotel a little higher than I did.

All in all, we would stay here again because we know what we will be getting for our money. I feel that Hampton Inns do a pretty good job for being a clean place to stay and for being a good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Peggy,

Thank you for writing a review of your experience here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to having you here again in the future. I am pleased to know you enjoyed the convenience to Sanibel Island, the size of our Breakfast Area and our Freshly Brewed Coffee. We strive to go above and beyond for all of our guests and I am sorry that we weren't completely able to do this for you. I want to apologize that your HVAC was loud in your room. I have passed your review to our Engineering Team so the may resolve this. Like you mentioned, PTAC-HVAC's are always going to be slightly louder than your home Central A/C but it should not be so loud that you are unable to get a good nights sleep.

Your comments will only help us to improve and we are eager to have you here again so that we can provide you with a fantastic experience! We will resolve the issues you mentioned right away but if you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at 239-437-8888 x526 or by email at Charles.Stallings@hilton.com

Thank you again for writing such a detailed review and we hope you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel for a family trip. Location is convenient to all local attractions, beach, downtown, museums shopping, etc. There is a great variety of restaurants close by and getting to the Edison-Ford property is a breeze. The downtown River front is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Joseph,

Thank you for the tremendous review of your stay! We are so happy to know you enjoyed our convenient location to all of SWFL attractions! It sounds as though you were able to enjoy the local cuisine and the fantastic Downtown Riverfront. Please visit us again the next time you are in the Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Island Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a great facility, close to the beach and Shell Point Retirement Community. There are many places to shop and and eat nearby. If you have a car, Rt 41 is close and has anything and everything you might need.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Dee,

Thank you for the 5 star review! We love to see reviews such as yours and we are pleased to know you had such a great experience with us! Please come back and visit us again the next time you are here to visit Shell Point!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you are looking for a clean, moderately priced hotel with full breakfast, AND only minutes from the beach, then this is the hotel! All of the staff encountered were very friendly and helpful! The breakfast was complete and the quality that you would expect from a Hampton property. We stayed in a room with two queens and a pull out sofa. It also had a full kitchen which made it nice for a family to keep snacks and leftover pizza! Ft. Myers Beach is minutes away as well as restaurants and access to any of the local baseball fields. Great Value!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Hampton_FMB_Team, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

What a fantastic review! Thank you very much for taking the time to provide the Trip Advisor Community with your experience at our hotel. We hope that your team had a great experience with us and throughout Southwest Florida. Please come back next year for the 2015 Perfect Game USA Tournament!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Address: 11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally lcoated to the area's finest beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel-Captiva Islands. Start your day with our complimentary Hot Hampton Breakfast Buffet before heading out to some of Florida's best golf courses, shopping, and deep sea fishing. Boston Redsox and Minnesota Twins Spring Training venues are a short drive away. Or you may choose to take swim or catch some sun out at our heated tropical style pool. Our deluxe Cloud-Nine bedding will ensure great nights rest so you are ready to explore or kayak our unspoiled coastlines and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road
Hampton Inn Fort Myers
Fort Myers Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.