We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Enjoyed our Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hampton Inn when we visited Fort Myers. It was a central location and we could get around very easy. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. We had a suite with a living area and kitchen, with a seperated bedroom and bath. We were very happy with the upkeep of the room. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Blondee,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay! It's great to hear you enjoyed our location and the cleanliness of our rooms! We are just steps from the Beach Trolley and positioned for quick access to Sanibel Island, Fort Myers Beach and Fort Myers! Thank you again for the great review and please come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    134
    39
    20
    13
See reviews for
125
150
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Rooms were extremely musty smelling. Did not feel clean. No kitchen in room although we were told there would be one at time of booking. Air conditioning came on every couple of minutes and ran for 30-45 seconds. Can get a much nicer room for a better price. We opted to leave even though we could not get a refund on our second night. I generally like Hampton Inns but I will now be hesitant to book this chain after seeing that they allow this hotel to be part of their chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Bobulover,

Thank you for providing us with details of your most recent stay. We do apologize your room did not smell fresh when you arrived. I am also sorry that the majority of your frustration stems from your Group Leader not providing you with the correct stay information before your arrival. As you noted in your previous reviews on other booking channels, you were held to the terms of the contract signed by your team leader. The Front Desk staff does their very best to give each guest proper information in regards to group bookings and in turn hope that the Group Leader does the same. We hope the next time you visit for a Soccer Tournament you consider us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel was clean and well maintained. The room was nice, nothing fancy. Coffee maker was in the bathroom on the counter, it worked but was not ideal. The staff did a great job of taking care of the room the entire week of my stay. The free hot breakfast was great. There is no real business center, just two computers connected to printers in the common eating area but it was sufficient to check-in for my flight and print my boarding pass. Front desk staff for most part was very friendly and accommodating with the exception of one young man but he was more patronizing than out right rude when a problem came up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Valerie,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your most recent stay! We are very excited to hear that you had such a great stay. We pride ourselves on having the best service, staff and amenities in the industry, all while being at an affordable price. I will pass on your wonderful remarks to the staff and will also discuss your comments with the gentlemen who came across as patronizing. Thank you again and we are looking forward to having you back very very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We were able to use points for an overnight here before checking into the Sanibel condo. Staff is friendly & accommodating and everything is very clean. The site is only a few miles from the causeway to Sanibel/Captiva. Enjoyed the last free meal (breakfast) we will have for awhile, and it was not very crowded on a Saturday. One minor quibble: The wi-fi is "nostalgic," making one long for the reliability of 56k dial-up modem service. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Csupp,

Thank you for the great review! Sanibel Island is such a beautiful place and I am glad we were able to accommodate you before you moved over to the Island. It's great to hear you enjoyed our Free Hot Breakfast Buffet, it is always a hit with our guests! Thank you for making us aware of your internet troubles; We are identifying the problem right now and will make sure our guests don't have to worry about having a quality internet connection. Thank you again for writing a great review and please come and stay with us again the next time you visit the Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location is perfect close to the beaches. We were riding bicycle so the fact that we were right near the bridge makes it easy to ride along the beach. Staff very friendly and efficient, beds comfortable. I have come to appreciate the consistency of Hamptons especially when traveling to a new area. Very few surprises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear DJack,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! You just can't beat riding a bike during a beautiful March day down here in Fort Myers Beach. There are so many great things to do and taking a stroll is definitely one of them! It is always great to hear about our guests experience and we really appreciate you making the TripAdvisor community aware of your experience with us! We hope to host you again the next time you visit the Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The bed and pillows were very comfortable, toiletries good quality and well-stocked, nice towels and soap. Wi-fi worked great. The only slight issue I had was that the sink was slow to drain. Breakfast was really good, enjoyed a cheese omelet even. A USA Today newspaper brought to my door. Best of all was the yummy cookie at check-in! Location was a block or two off the busy street so nice and quiet, away from traffic noise. There were some kids having fun in the pool, but they did not stay late and it was spring break. I had a room on the top floor so no noise from people in rooms above. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Straightscoop,

Thank you for the tremendous review! Hampton Inn prides itself on providing the most clean and comfortable linens in the industry and I am glad you were able to enjoy them. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

So, In short a typical Hampton Inn although the pool was quite nice and to have a suite was handy. The sad part is that due to a family emergency, a manager would not allow me to modify my reservation and was prepared to charge me the full monty (even though I called at 7 pm the night before we were due to arrive).
Whats worse is that I wrote the Hilton hotel chain out of concern to the treatment I had received and never heard a thing.

My first and last stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Bluefevah,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn and Suites - Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway. We are very glad that you chose to stay with us during your time in Fort Myers Beach. I am very sorry you had a family emergency and hope that everything is OK with you and your family. We did our best to contact the 3rd Party Site that you reserved through but unfortunately, you booked through a Non-Refundable rate. I always recommend reserving a room directly through the Hotel or through Central Reservations, so that if their is a problem you are able to modify or cancel your reservation at no extra charge. Often times we find the 3rd parties such as Expedia and Priceline are unwilling to refund a room regardless of circumstance. Please send our best wishes to you and your family and I hope you consider us again the next time you visit the Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Island Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Address: 11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#15 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally lcoated to the area's finest beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel-Captiva Islands. Start your day with our complimentary Hot Hampton Breakfast Buffet before heading out to some of Florida's best golf courses, shopping, and deep sea fishing. Boston Redsox and Minnesota Twins Spring Training venues are a short drive away. Or you may choose to take swim or catch some sun out at our heated tropical style pool. Our deluxe Cloud-Nine bedding will ensure great nights rest so you are ready to explore or kayak our unspoiled coastlines and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hampton Inn Fort Myers
Fort Myers Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.