We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #15 of 46 hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

You're near the Sanibel causeway, many restaurants, shopping and many retirement areas (our family's focus). We had gotten a package deal through the travel agent for about $150 per night and ended up with a suite. What a deal! The suite had a kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, refrigerator, many closets, stove and the kitchen amenities and utensils to cook. The living room was comfortable with a sofa, armchair, ottoman, flat screen and trunk for storage. The bedroom had a king size bed, desk area, dresser with four drawers, flat screen and nightstands. The bathroom and sink area are what you would expect. Having two tvs was nice for separate viewing. It was a little cold to enjoy the heated pool.

The morning breakfasts were incredible with everything from mini-omelettes, scrambled eggs, waffles, sausage, ham...Options vary from day to day. Every day, there were cereals, yogurts, many types of coffee and tea, fruit, juices.

Internet access was free and there are two computers in the lobby area for use as well as a general viewing LARGE tv for those hanging out in the dining/breakfast area. Their "gym" is very basic with a treadmill, elliptical, bike and two-rack of free-weights. And it is difficult to get on the equipment during high season...so keep checking back. But if you want to run outside, there are many safe places to jog. Friendly and efficient people!

Room Tip: Elevator is a bit slow; consider a room near a stairwell toward the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Janou,

WOW! Thank you for the amazing review! We are so glad you enjoyed our hotel as much as you say. We work very hard everyday to ensure this type of stay is experienced by every guest! Great reviews like this are passed to each and every team member and I can assure you they are going to be excited to hear your review. I hope you visit us again the next time you visit the Fort Myers Beach/ Sanibel Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    136
    39
    19
    14
See reviews for
120
144
25
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normandy Beach, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our room was comfortable, clean and attractive. Our interactions witth the staff were pleasant and professional. Overall, a positive experience. Breakfast was a good value. Location to visit Fort Myers & Sanibel was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Vicki,

Thank you for the great review of your recent stay! Even though you were only here for a short time we loved having you here and hope that you return again soon! We hope to give you exceptional service and value each time you stay with us. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When vacationing, we stay at Hampton Inns when possible. We booked this hotel because of it's location near Sanibel Island. It actually is probably 10 or more miles to the bridge to Sanibel. It is close to Fort Myers Beach, which we loved.
We stayed in a room on the fourth floor of the hotel. The Wi-Fi did not work well there. When we reported it to the front desk, we were told to call an 800 number for assistance! Not my job!
There is a lovely heated pool with this facility, but it seemed to be taken over by the "long-termers". There were no seats available in the sun, although many seats were "saved" by towels.
We would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Marjorie,

Thank you writing a review of your stay. I am glad you were able to visit the beautiful island of Sanibel while you were here. Frommers.com ranked Sanibel Island as the #1 place to visit in the world! We are actually only 5 miles to the Sanibel Bridge and 2.9 miles to Fort Myers Beach. I am sorry that there were so many guests enjoying our beautiful pool and hope the next time you visit you will give us another chance to allow you to use it! If you would like to discuss your stay further please contact me at 239-437-8888.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NPR, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Great room and very comfortable. Air conditioning system worked wonderfully and that is not the norm in a lot of hotels. I thought the price was a bit steep but it is winter in FL so the prices are jacked up. The breakfast was the normal stuff plus bacon and some kind of scrambled eggs that I have never seen before. But they tasted just ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Larry,

Thank you for the great review! We hope that you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Fort Myers Beach. We have installed brand new A/C units in many of our rooms and it look's as though you were able to enjoy them! Please come back and visit us the next time you visit our area, as we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The room was clean and well furnished. The breakfast area was spacious and served a great breakfast every day. The pool was a nice area and well heated. Definitely will stay here again. One thing that my wife and I enjoyed was that this facility had many couples about our age and some that used this hotel as a winter home for 5-8 weeks. Not sure how this happened but we saw no children during our visit. Was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Marathon,

Thank you, thank you, thank you! Great stay's like the one you experienced is the goal we strive for everyday! We are very excited to know that you enjoyed our Pool and that you were able to meet our long term guests! Please come back and visit us again the next time you visit the Fort Myers Beach Area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is an older Hampton Inn. Positives include: adjacent to a Taco Bell and walking distance to Sunflower Cafe, Perkins and Walgreen's. Breakfast is good. Negatives include: lukewarm water and tired furnishings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Dad05,

Thank you for choosing us during your recent trip to Fort Myers Beach. I am glad you were able to enjoy our close proximity to Fort Myers Beach and the neighboring stores and restaurants! We do apologize that our water temperature was not up to your expectations. Since your stay we have raised the temperature of our Hot Water heaters to ensure this does not happen again. I hope you will consider us again the next time you visit the Fort Myers Beach Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

First of all let me start by saying that I am an HHonrs member and that the Hampton Inn is my preferred hotel of choice when I travel for business. They are usually fairly priced and kept clean.

This hotel appeared clean when I got there. The front desk staff was very friendly. The sheets were fresh and the room smelled good, but that was where it ended. After sleeping there for my first night I got up and proceeded to get ready for my business appointments. When I went into the bathroom there were tiny bugs crawling over my toothbrush. They appeared to be originating out of the sink drain. I threw the toothbrush out and after getting headed to the drugstore to buy a replacement so my breath woudn't smell for my meetings.

The breakfast on the next day was good, although not great. However the people handling the breakfast were polite and friendly. But upon returing to my room after breakfast the bugs were back crawling all over the sink and counter. I checked out shortly thereafter.

This hotel is close the Ft. Myers Beach but is surrounded by abaondoned commercial property. The rate was low but I'd prefer to stay somewhere else. This hasn't turned me off to Hampton Inn, but just this particular location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CjStallings, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear KeepGoing,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the initial part of your stay here. However, I am disappointed that the latter end of your stay was not up to your expectations. We work very hard to make sure our guests receive a consistent Hampton Experience each time they visit us. I hope that the next time you visit you will give us another chance to go above and beyond your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway

Address: 11281 Summerlin Square Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally lcoated to the area's finest beaches of Fort Myers and Sanibel-Captiva Islands. Start your day with our complimentary Hot Hampton Breakfast Buffet before heading out to some of Florida's best golf courses, shopping, and deep sea fishing. Boston Redsox and Minnesota Twins Spring Training venues are a short drive away. Or you may choose to take swim or catch some sun out at our heated tropical style pool. Our deluxe Cloud-Nine bedding will ensure great nights rest so you are ready to explore or kayak our unspoiled coastlines and mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Hampton Inn And Suites Fort Myers Beach / Summerlin Road
Hampton Inn Fort Myers
Fort Myers Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.